We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed only a couple of nights at the hotel but wished it could be more, or even stay there for life! Everything was so beautiful, as soon as you step into the hotel you get transported to a luxury world. It was very close to the main plaza with a perfect view of the "White Christ" AKA "Cristo Blanco". Let me tell you the rooms were divine, the bar especially had outstanding service and the attention of the best bartender in town, Edison made this days memorable. You will not be disappointed. If you visit Cusco, you have to spend at least one night here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    52
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
130
323
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Our journey to Cusco began when we were greeted by our friendly driver Esteban who whisked us away to Casa Cartagena and ended up being our driver for our entire stay in Cusco. We had read all the reviews and had high expectations. We were not disappointed in fact we experienced perfection. It started the minute we walked in the entrance; the front desk staff was warm, courteous and very helpful. Our suite was chic meets old world. The grounds were gorgeous with a central courtyard that was calming and relaxing. (Make sure to stand in the courtyard at night and view Cristo Blanco on the hill). The breakfast well, it was fabulous and the servers (especially Manigat) was excellent. The bartender Edison was great make sure to take his Pusco Sour class. Thank you Casa Cartagena for making my 50th birthday adventure a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I love staying at boutique hotels and were so happy with our choice to stay at the Casa Cartagena. Perfect location in the city, just a couple blocks from the main Plaza, but far enough away from the noise. The grounds, public spaces, and rooms were absolutely beautiful a well-designed mix of the old and new. We appreciated the welcoming drinks, and free pisco sour lesson with Edison, who is a gem. We were especially impressed with the level of service at the hotel- everyone was very friendly, warm, and accommodating with our requests (help with airport transfers and to the Sacred Valley). Breakfast in the morning was the best we've ever had at a hotel, with many choices of bread, pastries, a made-to-order egg breakfast, espresso, and even tamales! We were sad to leave! Thank you again for a wonderful stay, we highly recommend the Casa Cartagena to anyone who is looking for a restful, intimate, and enjoyable stay in Cusco.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed in many different hotels/cities during our Peru vacation... but Casa Cartagena in Cusco was our favorite. Not just because it's beautiful, but the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our ONLY complaint was our last couple of days there, there was nearby construction going on that seemed to be directly attached to our room. The hammering started first thing in the morning and pretty much lasted all day. I'm still giving the hotel a 5 star rating though because this wasn't their fault.
Edison, the bartender, is awesome. We had a great time visiting with him and taking the Pisco Sour lessons from him our first night there. He's the sweetest and made us want to spend more time in our own hotel bar than we normally would have.
The rooms are nice and spacious. We actually had 2 different rooms (we left town for a couple of days to see Machu Picchu, then returned to Cusco for 3 more nights). Both rooms were on the 2nd floor with french style doors that opened to a private balcony overlooking their beautiful courtyard with a fountain and flowers everywhere (end of May is a great time to visit -- perfect weather!)
All in all I won't just leave it at "You won't be disappointed" in this place, but will confidently say that you'll be more than happy.
(By the way, it was our travel agent, Rudy, that booked this hotel for us. He did GREAT in all aspects of helping us plan our trip. If you're looking for assistance in that area, contact InkaTraces --- you'll be glad you did.)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CminiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

When I planned our vacation for 4 of us (friends), i gave my friends a choice between Hotel Monasterio and this hotel, as they are both well rated and only a block away. One of my friends Su, thought Monasterio looked a lil eerie ad requested that we stay in Casa Cartagena instead. So we did and that was such a good choice!

We arrived in Cuzco on the Andean Explorer and so arrived after it got dark. The check-in was brisk and efficient and we were showed to our rooms (above the shop). Our 2 rooms were next to each other and 1 of the rooms had a little balcony that overlooked the courtyard. It was beautiful. The bathroom was amazingly huge with bath, shower and a separate toilet that had motion sensor lights. There were many candles and we lit them all up. So nice and relaxing.

The hotel is a short walk to the Plaza and there were so many nice restaurants nearby.

We stayed 1 night and left for Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu the next morning with our guide. We spent 2 nights in Sacred Valley (Tambo del Inka) and 1 night in Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge before returning to this hotel for a further 2 nights. As we were planning to cycle sacred valley and trek the 1 day Inca Trail, we wanted to leave most of our luggage in Cusco. The hotel was very kind to keep our bags for us until we return.

When we returned to the hotel, the staff was very kind to make restaurant reservations for us ahead of time. We tried MAP Cafe, LIMO and Ciciolina which were all very near the hotel.

Breakfast in the hotel was nice and there was fresh juice and great coffee. Most attractive point about this hotel is its size. Small boutique hotel and intimate. Peaceful quiet and well run.

We did visit Monasterio one evening to visit the shops in the hotel and we heard chanting music being played. I did feel a lil eerie when i was within the hotel with that chant music being played. Maybe it was just me but we got out of there quite fast.

All in all, after visiting both hotels, I will still pick Casa Cartagena for my stay in Cusco. Love this hotel :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lckemelcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We thought this hotel would be a good alternative to Monasterio, where we heard that the rooms were of uneven size and quality. It proved to be a good choice. We reserved a "balcony suite," although it was not really a suite. The rooms open to a beautiful courtyard with a fountain, and outside seating is available there for the restaurant. The buffet breakfast was one of the best we had in South America. There were many appetizing fresh pastries and fruit was abundant. The hot chocolate was perhaps better than Angelina's in Paris! The hotel employees are extremely friendly and eager to please. There are a few glitches to be worked out--the lighting in the room was dim and inadequate, the refrigerator/minibar was not operating, and the pillows were foam (with no feather alternative available). The hotel is located about 2 blocks higher than Monasterio on a steep hill and it can be a difficult climb if the altitude is affecting you. However, the ascent is worth it for the intimate experience you will enjoy at this property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano B, Owner at Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your excellent comment about our service and breakfast and for your recommendation about the light in our suites, we will work on this issue.

About our pillows we have in the bed hypoallergenic ones because many people is allergic to feather but for our guests that prefer feather pillows we replace them immediately at the request of our guests.

About the distance you had to walk, we are totally agree with you about the altitude effects and we are very concern why your travel agency decided to leave you in Nazarenas Square half block from the hotel and not in the door of the hotel like other agencies. We will check this with them.

He hope you can return soon to visit us and enjoy again the Casa Cartagena Experience.

Best Regards,

Stefano Boetto
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Cusco is a tourist mecca like Venice and its central streets are lined with trinket shops, restaurants and bars - - sidewalks are clogged with locals selling souvenirs, tours and massages. It can all be a bit overwhelming - or exhilarating, depending on your mood.

Fortunately, the entire area around Casa Cartagena is quiet and free of the hustle and bustle. Inside, the hotel compound is even more pleasant due to a smart re-design of the colonial structure that includes sitting areas, a bar, a garden and plenty of space for resting. Rooms are large and comfortable (exception: bathrooms are a little over-designed, with not-great lighting and showers that look good but splash the floor) and the common areas are inviting.

The hotel itself is very good, but the BEST part is its wonderful staff. From the minute we arrived to the multiple times they helped with reservations, directions, room service, dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant - and a very early departure, everything was handled cheerfully, efficiently and quickly. It was, without a doubt, some of the best service I have ever had at a hotel. A+

Room Tip: We were woken early because the people in the room above us shuffled around, packed and departed ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 244mahnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#2 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cartagena CuscoHigh in the Peruvian Andes lies the historic city of Cuzco, famous for its unique blend of Spanish and Incan cultures. Located just off a tranquil square behind the main plaza of Cuzco, Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa Cusco emerges after years of restoration, which respected the original design of the historic house, to become one of the most exclusive boutique hotels in the city. Its walls of carved stone, which combines warmth, elegance and perfection, invite you to experience the fascinating magic and traditional mysticism that will transport you through time in this historic Spanish house declared a cultural heritage site of Peru.Its lovely atmosphere was built on an ancient Incan site, occupied by the ruling nobility of that time and from which it takes its name: Casa Cartagena, former property of the local Spanish ruler of Cuzco, Don Fernando Cartagena and Santa Cruz.This luxury hotel in Cuzco is an intimate refuge that has only sixteen spacious and comfortable suites, which perfectly blend the modern with the ancestral and luxury with the historical. The rooms are distributed symmetrically along a spacious patio of your dreams where time is suspended. It is located in the historic center of Cuzco, which was declared by UNESCO as a world heritage site.Recovery from an exhausting trip to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley of the Incas with our Qoya Spa will be something truly unequalled. It can be perfectly complemented with a delicious dinner in our restaurant which offers the best of local cuisine, "La bodega de la Chola", where poet Pablo Neruda was inspired and Che Guevara shared bohemian nights; it is considered one of the best restaurants in Cuzco.All of these unique features of Casa Cartagena and our warm and personalized service will make your stay in Cuzco an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Cartagena And Spa
Hotel Casa Cartagena Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing