We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Cusco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had a fantastic experience at Casa Cartegena. We spent several nights there before and after our trek on the Inca Trail. I loved the decor, and can't say enough about the service. Truly outstanding!!! The staff at the front desk helped us make reservations in Aguas Calientes, called our treking company to help answer some of our questions, gave us a late check out when our son was ill, and were extremely attentive and helpful. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

I had a great time while staying at Casa Cartagena. The service was great they all made me feel very welcome. One of the things I enjoyed while staying at the hotel was the architecture, modern but still conserving the old traditional feel of the area, also the breakfast was very tasty and the servers were great as well. I would definetely come back, Cuzco is a beautiful almost magical place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel was an excellent choice for our stay in Cusco. The hotel staff was great, going out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. Breakfast was excellent, great coffee! The beds were nice and comfortable and the hotel, for the most part, was quiet. We definitely will be coming back to Casa Cartagena next time we are in Cusco.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed only a couple of nights at the hotel but wished it could be more, or even stay there for life! Everything was so beautiful, as soon as you step into the hotel you get transported to a luxury world. It was very close to the main plaza with a perfect view of the "White Christ" AKA "Cristo Blanco". Let me tell you the rooms were divine, the bar especially had outstanding service and the attention of the best bartender in town, Edison made this days memorable. You will not be disappointed. If you visit Cusco, you have to spend at least one night here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Our journey to Cusco began when we were greeted by our friendly driver Esteban who whisked us away to Casa Cartagena and ended up being our driver for our entire stay in Cusco. We had read all the reviews and had high expectations. We were not disappointed in fact we experienced perfection. It started the minute we walked in the entrance; the front desk staff was warm, courteous and very helpful. Our suite was chic meets old world. The grounds were gorgeous with a central courtyard that was calming and relaxing. (Make sure to stand in the courtyard at night and view Cristo Blanco on the hill). The breakfast well, it was fabulous and the servers (especially Manigat) was excellent. The bartender Edison was great make sure to take his Pusco Sour class. Thank you Casa Cartagena for making my 50th birthday adventure a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I love staying at boutique hotels and were so happy with our choice to stay at the Casa Cartagena. Perfect location in the city, just a couple blocks from the main Plaza, but far enough away from the noise. The grounds, public spaces, and rooms were absolutely beautiful a well-designed mix of the old and new. We appreciated the welcoming drinks, and free pisco sour lesson with Edison, who is a gem. We were especially impressed with the level of service at the hotel- everyone was very friendly, warm, and accommodating with our requests (help with airport transfers and to the Sacred Valley). Breakfast in the morning was the best we've ever had at a hotel, with many choices of bread, pastries, a made-to-order egg breakfast, espresso, and even tamales! We were sad to leave! Thank you again for a wonderful stay, we highly recommend the Casa Cartagena to anyone who is looking for a restful, intimate, and enjoyable stay in Cusco.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed in many different hotels/cities during our Peru vacation... but Casa Cartagena in Cusco was our favorite. Not just because it's beautiful, but the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our ONLY complaint was our last couple of days there, there was nearby construction going on that seemed to be directly attached to our room. The hammering started first thing in the morning and pretty much lasted all day. I'm still giving the hotel a 5 star rating though because this wasn't their fault.
Edison, the bartender, is awesome. We had a great time visiting with him and taking the Pisco Sour lessons from him our first night there. He's the sweetest and made us want to spend more time in our own hotel bar than we normally would have.
The rooms are nice and spacious. We actually had 2 different rooms (we left town for a couple of days to see Machu Picchu, then returned to Cusco for 3 more nights). Both rooms were on the 2nd floor with french style doors that opened to a private balcony overlooking their beautiful courtyard with a fountain and flowers everywhere (end of May is a great time to visit -- perfect weather!)
All in all I won't just leave it at "You won't be disappointed" in this place, but will confidently say that you'll be more than happy.
(By the way, it was our travel agent, Rudy, that booked this hotel for us. He did GREAT in all aspects of helping us plan our trip. If you're looking for assistance in that area, contact InkaTraces --- you'll be glad you did.)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CminiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Business Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £195 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cartagena CuscoHigh in the Peruvian Andes lies the historic city of Cuzco, famous for its unique blend of Spanish and Incan cultures. Located just off a tranquil square behind the main plaza of Cuzco, Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa Cusco emerges after years of restoration, which respected the original design of the historic house, to become one of the most exclusive boutique hotels in the city. Its walls of carved stone, which combines warmth, elegance and perfection, invite you to experience the fascinating magic and traditional mysticism that will transport you through time in this historic Spanish house declared a cultural heritage site of Peru.Its lovely atmosphere was built on an ancient Incan site, occupied by the ruling nobility of that time and from which it takes its name: Casa Cartagena, former property of the local Spanish ruler of Cuzco, Don Fernando Cartagena and Santa Cruz.This luxury hotel in Cuzco is an intimate refuge that has only sixteen spacious and comfortable suites, which perfectly blend the modern with the ancestral and luxury with the historical. The rooms are distributed symmetrically along a spacious patio of your dreams where time is suspended. It is located in the historic center of Cuzco, which was declared by UNESCO as a world heritage site.Recovery from an exhausting trip to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley of the Incas with our Qoya Spa will be something truly unequalled. It can be perfectly complemented with a delicious dinner in our restaurant which offers the best of local cuisine, "La bodega de la Chola", where poet Pablo Neruda was inspired and Che Guevara shared bohemian nights; it is considered one of the best restaurants in Cuzco.All of these unique features of Casa Cartagena and our warm and personalized service will make your stay in Cuzco an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Cartagena Cusco
Hotel Casa Cartagena And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing