We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We spent a couple of days at this hotel. It is beautiful ! The rooms surround a very large courtyard. The rooms are all of good size, comfortable and clean. The restaurant/breakfast area was great. The staff were friendly and the service very good. The gym/spa was good. (We enjoyed the pisco sour demonstration.) We were in Cusco at the time of the celebrations and had the parades and fireworks displays. An excellent hotel !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    50
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
126
307
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Just writing a review to Casa Cartagena makes me want to go back today!
We were two couples traveling do Peru to do the 4-day Inca Trail - which was amazing.
Cusco was our destination to acclimatize for 4 days and after the trail, we stayed at CC for one more night. From the first exchange of emails and requests, the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We loved every minute of it.
Everyone, I mean everyone, at the hotel always greeted us. We loved the hors d’oeuvres in the evening. If we were not in the mood to go to the lounge area - because our terraces were so great -, they brought the canapés and pisco sours to our rooms. Always with a smile.
The suites we stayed in (#6 and # 7) had high ceilings, dark wood floor, flat-screen TV, air conditioning and heating, cordless telephones, L'Occitane products and a view to the entire property. The breakfast was amazing and I had a cappuccino every morning.
After the Inca Trail, we stayed at CC for one last night and we were upgraded to even nicer rooms. Was that even possible? Nicer rooms? Yes!
We are very glad we stayed at Casa Cartagena and I recommend it to everyone who is considering a boutique hotel in Cusco with excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We visited Casa Cartagena before and after a trip to Machu Pichu. Right from the outset, the service was outstanding - everyone seemed genuinely committed to making sure our stay was a enjoyable.
The rooms and grounds are a wonderful mixture of old Cusco and art nouveau (we were told 'Italian'). Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable.
We loved the restaurant - a cosy couple of rooms to the side of a beautiful courtyard garden, The breakfast had an 'everything home-made' air about it and the staff went out of their way to please.
On our return trip, we were put into the 'Presidential Suite' - a magnificent suite of rooms with a foyer overlooking the garden. We could hardly do justice to the amount of room we had - the room we chose to use had a king sized and a similar sized spa bath!
When it was time for us to (reluctantly) leave and continue our journey, the receptionist, bellboy and another member of staff all came to the front door to wave us goodbye.
Thank you to all the smiling faces at Casa Cartagena - you made us feel very welcome and we had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allblack-screen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Very nice hotel, the room was spacious. The staff attentive, great welcome drink and complimentary Hors d’oeuvres. Easy walk to main plaza. Thing didn’t like: can’t put toilet paper in toilet, kept “tripping over” mini steps in lobby/bar area, the frosted glass door on the bathroom. The beds not so comfortable. Recommend Marcelo Batata Restaurant for Guinea Pig or “Coy” and also the Map Café. Both in a 2 minute walk from hotel. You need to place an advance order for “Coy” I think Marcel Batata need 3-4 hours notice. The location is great, its only four minute walk to the main square (St. Peters Cathedral). Nice place to relax, surrounded by restaurant and shops. Most roads are small alley ways and everything is cobble stone. So, bring good walking shoes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diving-Doc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We spent 5 nights here in May 2013, before and after a trip to Machu Pichu. The staff is exceptional, from the ease of checking in at the front desk to the housekeepers, bellboys and waiting staff. The hotel breakfasts were wonderful, it was like having access to the lovely big kitchen of your favourite aunt, including a selection of patisseries like in a shop. We were upgraded to the presidential suite for 2 nights, and this space was wonderful, with two huge bedrooms, living/ dining area and a massive square spa. On our return we were in a normal rom for 3 nights, and even this room was large, quiet, with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. We used the hot spa/sauna, and were well looked after there (iced tea served, etc). The hotel is just up from Plaza Nazarenas, with the MAP museum, and also the two big exclusive hotels, one run by Orient Express and the other the Monastario. They looked nice, but bigger. The location is great, its a short walk from the square, but minus all the hubbub. Casa Cartagena's strength lies in its smallness and the staff's individual attentions to each guest which never came across as obsequious. I would love to stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cristinahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We started our travel in Peru by Cuzco city and for the two first nights we stayed at this beautiful and charming hotel. The hotel has a great location, an excellent service, you will feel like at your place. You have free internet and gym, tea is available 24 hours, oxygen in case you don't feel ok due the altitude. Breakfast was excellent and all the best restaurants in Cuzco are around 4 minutes from the Hotel as well museums and the main tourist points to visit. If you pretend to visit El Valle Sagrado and Cuzco city I highly recommend Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticha34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel is beautiful. The comfort of all the rooms is of the highest quality. The rooms are very big, even the bathroom. The facilities, bed, everything is the best.
Personally, not a big fan of the decoration work they have done there, you can see everything is very good and expensive, but it could has better taste. Also, since the hotel has only few rooms it kind of feels lonely, even if you go to the spa (which is very good), you will feel alone and all the service focus on you, which might be nice but some times a bit overwhelming.

Room Tip: They have small activities for their guest. Make sure you don't miss the pisco sour class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#3 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Business Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cartagena CuscoHigh in the Peruvian Andes lies the historic city of Cuzco, famous for its unique blend of Spanish and Incan cultures. Located just off a tranquil square behind the main plaza of Cuzco, Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa Cusco emerges after years of restoration, which respected the original design of the historic house, to become one of the most exclusive boutique hotels in the city. Its walls of carved stone, which combines warmth, elegance and perfection, invite you to experience the fascinating magic and traditional mysticism that will transport you through time in this historic Spanish house declared a cultural heritage site of Peru.Its lovely atmosphere was built on an ancient Incan site, occupied by the ruling nobility of that time and from which it takes its name: Casa Cartagena, former property of the local Spanish ruler of Cuzco, Don Fernando Cartagena and Santa Cruz.This luxury hotel in Cuzco is an intimate refuge that has only sixteen spacious and comfortable suites, which perfectly blend the modern with the ancestral and luxury with the historical. The rooms are distributed symmetrically along a spacious patio of your dreams where time is suspended. It is located in the historic center of Cuzco, which was declared by UNESCO as a world heritage site.Recovery from an exhausting trip to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley of the Incas with our Qoya Spa will be something truly unequalled. It can be perfectly complemented with a delicious dinner in our restaurant which offers the best of local cuisine, "La bodega de la Chola", where poet Pablo Neruda was inspired and Che Guevara shared bohemian nights; it is considered one of the best restaurants in Cuzco.All of these unique features of Casa Cartagena and our warm and personalized service will make your stay in Cuzco an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Cartagena And Spa
Hotel Casa Cartagena Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing