We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
K-sona(Cusco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Retablo(Cusco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
615
57
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
57
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary pisco sourspisco sour lessonroyal suitemachu picchubeautiful hotelmodern furniturerooms are hugesteam roomevery eveningcristo blancooverlooking the courtyardcoca teathe main squarecolonial architecturestone wallsrooms faceturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We felt, last year, that we didn't spend enough time at the hotel, so we returned this year.
It was as beautiful as we remembered it, but this time we got to enjoy its amenities more. I took a pisco sour making class, a cerviche making class, got a full facial (on the massage table), which includes head, neck and shoulder massage, and my husband and I spent an afternoon at the spa using the hot pool, the steambath (in a cave with native plants) and relaxing on the chaises.
The staff was amazingly friendly and attentive (my husband had been ill for some of the time and everyone was so helpful with providing him appropriate foods and asking about his health) - special thanks to Manny for all his helpfulness during our stay. The restaurant, with its unique ambiance (historical photos contrasting with the modern decor and original walls) and amazing food - don't miss the ceviche - lived up to our memories of it. Additionally, little "spoon" appetiezers are served with drinks in the lounges.
Lastly, the location can't be beat - close enough to the Plaza des Armas, but far enough to feel you're in a special quaint upscale neighborhood.
All and all, this hotel is a wonderful combination of history, style and personal service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escapetonature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We traveled in early December which was low-season with relatively few tourists and supposedly the rainy season (a shower here and there and mostly overcast - i.e. quite pleasant). Reservations were easy to get even at top rated spots, so a good time to go. The hotel picked us up at the airport which went smoothly with a very friendly driver. Interestingly, the fare the hotel charges to/from the airport was good, but anything else arranged through them was much higher than you need to pay.
The hotel is in an old building around a pleasant courtyard. I'm not sure what I think of some of the decorations they use, but it's all nice enough. The location is excellent, only a couple of blocks to the main square. Being the slow season they very nicely upgraded us to a suite, which was nice since there were three of us (booked into a regular room). We got the suite right above the reception - very roomy and on two levels. There was a big double-queen type bed downstairs and two more big beds upstairs. The room does overlook the road, but it is a one-way cobblestone street that doesnt see much traffic at all. The receptionist warned us we might hear her telephone ring, but we didnt. The ac/heating system had a fairly loud fan noise, which we actually liked as it hid other sounds. The main drawback with the room was that the floors are insanely creaky - if you're sleeping upstairs and need to go to the bathroom downstairs, anyone sleeping downstairs will be muttering at you to keep quiet.
The included buffet breakfast was excellent, with good service and selection, despite several mornings being the only people there.
Would we stay here again? Well...maybe. For the price you pay there just seems to be a little something missing to bring it up to 5 stars. We wound up here mainly because they were willing to accept a third person (our daughter) with a rollaway bed in a regular room and several other hotels didnt offer this.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The front desk was incredibly helpful. The hotel is beautiful, clean and exceeds expectations. The price is very reasonable and definitely worth it. The spa experience was very nice and everyone needs a massage from WIlly!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A great small boutique hotel with the best help in Peru. Would do anything that was needed, especially I when I got sick in my room. The help would do anything to make me comfortable. The room was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in November. The hotel has a WOW factor when you walk in and when you see the room. The rooms are huge, in fact a bit too big. We had our own modem which meant Internet was great. There was a balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. The bathroom while huge flooded when the shower was used. The bath tub was very modern but very uncomfortable. My husband enjoyed the spa area each evening. The breakfast was great. The quiche were fantastic as was the consommé However they were not set up to cope with early departures despite being open. The reception staff were friendly however were not able to make restaurant recommendations. The hotel is well located and is a short walk to most places. There are some great restaurants nearby. The only downside is that the hotel is not sure whether it's Decor is old worldly or modern.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked the garden
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255060Charlie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews