We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It hurt me to leave, I could have moved in for good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It hurt me to leave, I could have moved in for good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

An incredible hotel!!

Firstly, the rooms were sensational and not to be faulted, we had everything our hearts desired! The staff were incredible, and we had breakfast brought to our room every morning when we chose it to be.

We used the spa facilities daily which are beautiful!

I really cannot describe what it was like, than to say it was ideal! The staff, the location (absolutely perfect, minutes away from the Plaza de Armas, near great restaurants and clubs and walking distance to Sacsayhuaman), the atmosphere!

Perfect place to stay when visiting Cusco!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    51
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
130
314
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

Casa Cartagena is really awesome! It was like staying in a piece of history but it has really funky contemporary touches like chairs and tables that light up and a huge, glass globe in the garden that glows at night. We met the Italian owner Stefano who told us it is a protected heritage building he fell in love with. Well, so did we!

I don’t think we have ever stayed in a hotel where we felt so much at home. And what a home! We had two humongous suites, numbers 10 and 11, and by closing a door it was like a 2-room apartment with a small hall in between, so my mother-in-law was really close but not on top of us.

We had read that the rooms had an oxygen system and this comforted my mother-in-law, although in fact she did not need it as she had no problems with the altitude, except for feeling a bit out of breath when she climbed stairs and if she walked too fast. Actually we all noticed the difference.

The staff were really friendly asking us each morning where we were going and then enquiring about our day when we got back. One evening we had a great Peruvian meal in the La Chola restaurant, another night the two of us had a romantic dinner on our balcony.

The only pity was we did not get to spentd more time relaxing in the garden and in the great Jacuzzi in the spa. Next year we are coming back to celebrate our 10th anniversary, this time without Gran! And, as we’ve done Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley of the Incas, we plan to spend 3 days chilling out with plenty of spa treatments, Pisco Sour cocktails, and no early wake-up calls!

Our advice is that anyone going to Cusco would be crazy to stay anywhere else. It has to be Casa Cartagena. Also because it is so central, the main square is just 5 minutes down the road. Take my word for it, you will never regret it and never forget it!

Paca7, Dublin

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

I recently stayed at Casa Cartagena on a travel research FAM trip with TACA Airlines. Our group stayed two nights as part of our business trip and at the end of our FAM trip, I decided to stay another week in Cusco. I met the owner of Casa Cartagena (Stefano), and he invited me to stay at the hotel for the remainder of my stay in Cusco.

I highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for modern luxury combined with Old World Charm. I visited other hotels in Cusco, but I have to say that Casa Cartagena was my favorite, both in terms of comfort and class, and the great staff that works there.

The hotel has a spa/sauna which I used every evening after a day of walking around the city, and the breakfast service is outstanding. The hotel is just off the main square and across from Fallen Angel, a cool, hip bar/lounge that is a must visit when you're in Cusco!

One of the things I enjoyed most about the hotel was the decor and furniture, all imported from Italy, where Stefano the owner is from.

I run a travel company and I plan on referring my clients to Casa Cartagena when they visit Cusco.

If you're going to Cusco and are looking for a really nice place to stay, this is by far the best option!

Harlow from Tico Guide Travel

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TicoGuideTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

This was my 5th time in Cusco and I was absolutely amazed with Casa Cartagena and its service.
I loved every single design detail in my very confortable room and the perfect combination of the original architecture and modern accents.
I didn't wanted to leave the hotel at any time, I just wanted to stay there and relax all day long.
I completely recommend this hotel to everybody!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pupeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

I passed 5 beautiful days with all my family, my parents, my daughter and my husband, this hotel is perfect for any family we had an outstanding room where in one floor my husband and I sleept and in the second floor my daughter, I have been few times in cusco and never found such a gorgeous place ever, the rooms are very spacious, and the hotel so beautiful never expected such a warm, cozy place. the service was the best we could have our meals in our private balcony with a spectacular view of the statu of the white christ and the best part was that after the tours we all enjoyed the spa, the view of the spa to the cusco city and the best hands i ever tryed was heaven, if you can afford this do not doubt in staying there, my parents loved the place and my daughter enjoyed the swimming pool, and my husband and I enjoyed the most romantic dinner in this inka place, i have to go back again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caffaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

Hello, I stayed recently (October '09) at Casa Cartagena with my whole family for 04 nights and we all had the best possible experience:
The place: It is really gorgeous. It tastefully combines history and a contemporary flare. The "Casa" has an Inca base/structure made out of amazingly sculped stones, colonial structrues built on top of the Inca stones, modern accents and thoughtfully illumination design throughout.
The "patio": It is so relaxing that I am sure you'll love to spend time there. This big central patio has two levels. The top level is a very secluded area with a small water fountain and nice garden. Perfect for some quiet reading. The stairs that take you to the lower level of the patio have two water fountains on the side that resemble the Inca acqueducts. There is a nice garden in the center of this lower patio and it has a small pond with an illuminated big white ball that reminds you that Cusco was deemed to be the world's belly button by the Incas.There are some tables where you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner outdoors. My family spent several hours chating there and contemplating the illuminated Christ statue that sits on top of the hill.
The room: I couldn't ask for more comfort. Very spacious. It also keeps a historic architecture (i.e. high ceilings, original colonial ample floorplan, portions of colonial "frescos" that were kept intact) with lots of modern and confortable furniture and illumination. Our bathroom was very modern, spacious and comfortable.
The spa: such a perfect place to relax after a tiring day. It is great. The indoors jacuzzi has an spectacular view to"San Blas" (artisan district).
The food: "La Chola" restaurant at Casa Cartagena pleasantly surprised us everyday with a good combination of Peruvian tastes and modern cuisine.
The servicepersonnel: It was very friendly and trully personalized. The fact that Casa Cartagena has only 15 rooms allows them to offer such level of personalization. They felt us feel "en casa" (at home).

What else can I say... only that the everyone in our party thought that Casa Cartagena was a destination by its own.

Rafael

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raffo-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#2 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cartagena CuscoHigh in the Peruvian Andes lies the historic city of Cuzco, famous for its unique blend of Spanish and Incan cultures. Located just off a tranquil square behind the main plaza of Cuzco, Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa Cusco emerges after years of restoration, which respected the original design of the historic house, to become one of the most exclusive boutique hotels in the city. Its walls of carved stone, which combines warmth, elegance and perfection, invite you to experience the fascinating magic and traditional mysticism that will transport you through time in this historic Spanish house declared a cultural heritage site of Peru.Its lovely atmosphere was built on an ancient Incan site, occupied by the ruling nobility of that time and from which it takes its name: Casa Cartagena, former property of the local Spanish ruler of Cuzco, Don Fernando Cartagena and Santa Cruz.This luxury hotel in Cuzco is an intimate refuge that has only sixteen spacious and comfortable suites, which perfectly blend the modern with the ancestral and luxury with the historical. The rooms are distributed symmetrically along a spacious patio of your dreams where time is suspended. It is located in the historic center of Cuzco, which was declared by UNESCO as a world heritage site.Recovery from an exhausting trip to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley of the Incas with our Qoya Spa will be something truly unequalled. It can be perfectly complemented with a delicious dinner in our restaurant which offers the best of local cuisine, "La bodega de la Chola", where poet Pablo Neruda was inspired and Che Guevara shared bohemian nights; it is considered one of the best restaurants in Cuzco.All of these unique features of Casa Cartagena and our warm and personalized service will make your stay in Cuzco an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Cartagena And Spa
Hotel Casa Cartagena Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing