We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cusco Boutique Hotel, A Dream!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I was walking by & peaked in & was done. I was the first walk in ever!!! Great Decor, Food, Staff. I have stayed all over the world & this is right up there!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60763Newyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2010

Just a hidden gem!!! love the place, love the food and love the service............

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONATOmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

What can I say, very beautiful, elegant and refined. The thing that struck me most was the atmosphere that we live in this hotel unlike any other I've visited from Lima until I arrived in Cusco.I found it spectacular the world design pieces mixed with the Inka walls or beautiful original fresco of 1700. They are the only one that have a different option, I was tired of all the same hotels with no caracther and boring all with the same taste. Then it fascinated me the fact that people like the poet Pablo Neruda and Ernesto Che Guevara visited that house, I used to spend my evening thinking on this and all the history of the Inka and Spanish while I was sitting in my beautiful private balcony!!!The service gets a 10!! and his staff very cordial and friendly, I was offered an upgrade for the same price, they gave me a master suite of 80 m2!!! The luxury room was the best I had in my trip to Peru. I loved Cusco unfortunately I could not see Machu Pichu but my residence in Cartagena House allowed me to enjoy the wonders of the city of Cusco, which has nothing to envy any other city in the world. Thanks to all the staff of Casa Cartagena definitely come back !!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

The hotel is very pretty, the decoration inside the rooms is modern and hip. However, beware of the bathrooms. There is no hot water and enough pressure in the second floor rooms. I tried to take a shower and got pretty cold. There was so little water pressure that I couldn't take off the shampoo. I had to open the cold water and - of course - I almost freezed to death. BEWARE!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CPCRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

This is a brand new hotel, about 1 year since it opened. The staff was extremely friendly & professional. Rooms were very funky with really nice, modern bathrooms. Beautiful, world class spa & heated pool overlooking the hills around this ancient city of Cusco. Strongly recommend you to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

An incredible hotel!!

Firstly, the rooms were sensational and not to be faulted, we had everything our hearts desired! The staff were incredible, and we had breakfast brought to our room every morning when we chose it to be.

We used the spa facilities daily which are beautiful!

I really cannot describe what it was like, than to say it was ideal! The staff, the location (absolutely perfect, minutes away from the Plaza de Armas, near great restaurants and clubs and walking distance to Sacsayhuaman), the atmosphere!

Perfect place to stay when visiting Cusco!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Casa Cartagena is really awesome! It was like staying in a piece of history but it has really funky contemporary touches like chairs and tables that light up and a huge, glass globe in the garden that glows at night. We met the Italian owner Stefano who told us it is a protected heritage building he fell in love with. Well, so did we!

I don’t think we have ever stayed in a hotel where we felt so much at home. And what a home! We had two humongous suites, numbers 10 and 11, and by closing a door it was like a 2-room apartment with a small hall in between, so my mother-in-law was really close but not on top of us.

We had read that the rooms had an oxygen system and this comforted my mother-in-law, although in fact she did not need it as she had no problems with the altitude, except for feeling a bit out of breath when she climbed stairs and if she walked too fast. Actually we all noticed the difference.

The staff were really friendly asking us each morning where we were going and then enquiring about our day when we got back. One evening we had a great Peruvian meal in the La Chola restaurant, another night the two of us had a romantic dinner on our balcony.

The only pity was we did not get to spentd more time relaxing in the garden and in the great Jacuzzi in the spa. Next year we are coming back to celebrate our 10th anniversary, this time without Gran! And, as we’ve done Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley of the Incas, we plan to spend 3 days chilling out with plenty of spa treatments, Pisco Sour cocktails, and no early wake-up calls!

Our advice is that anyone going to Cusco would be crazy to stay anywhere else. It has to be Casa Cartagena. Also because it is so central, the main square is just 5 minutes down the road. Take my word for it, you will never regret it and never forget it!

Paca7, Dublin

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Business Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £195 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cartagena CuscoHigh in the Peruvian Andes lies the historic city of Cuzco, famous for its unique blend of Spanish and Incan cultures. Located just off a tranquil square behind the main plaza of Cuzco, Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa Cusco emerges after years of restoration, which respected the original design of the historic house, to become one of the most exclusive boutique hotels in the city. Its walls of carved stone, which combines warmth, elegance and perfection, invite you to experience the fascinating magic and traditional mysticism that will transport you through time in this historic Spanish house declared a cultural heritage site of Peru.Its lovely atmosphere was built on an ancient Incan site, occupied by the ruling nobility of that time and from which it takes its name: Casa Cartagena, former property of the local Spanish ruler of Cuzco, Don Fernando Cartagena and Santa Cruz.This luxury hotel in Cuzco is an intimate refuge that has only sixteen spacious and comfortable suites, which perfectly blend the modern with the ancestral and luxury with the historical. The rooms are distributed symmetrically along a spacious patio of your dreams where time is suspended. It is located in the historic center of Cuzco, which was declared by UNESCO as a world heritage site.Recovery from an exhausting trip to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley of the Incas with our Qoya Spa will be something truly unequalled. It can be perfectly complemented with a delicious dinner in our restaurant which offers the best of local cuisine, "La bodega de la Chola", where poet Pablo Neruda was inspired and Che Guevara shared bohemian nights; it is considered one of the best restaurants in Cuzco.All of these unique features of Casa Cartagena and our warm and personalized service will make your stay in Cuzco an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Cartagena Cusco
Hotel Casa Cartagena And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing