We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spectacular HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2010

What a spectacular hotel!
The location is perfect! It’s near by everything anyone visiting Cuzco needs, but placed strategically in a calm beautiful street.
The hotel is very beautiful with great decoration. It maintains all the “history” of this traditional home, perfectly combined with modern funky touches.
The gardens are lovely. We enjoyed our breakfasts and tea in there. Lovely.
Our bedroom was incredible. Big room with two levels witch makes very comfortable for a family to stay. Beds where delicious, decoration great, the bathroom was amazing, enormous very modern.
Every member of the staff we met was dedicated to make us fill super comfortable and at home and they really accomplish their goal. We are a five member family, my husband, two boys 13 and 10 and a baby 1 year old and we all where extremely happy and comfortable in the hotel.
Food was great! Even the special food we asked the chef for the baby was delicious.
And last but not least: The SPA! What can I say; it’s a World-class spa. And the heated pool with a great view to the mountains is best place to be after hours of walking through the city. We really enjoyed it.
I Strongly recommend this hotel! It is really AMAZING.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank analiayzaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2010

A group of friends and I visited Peru because of the weeding of a best friend and he reserved for us this hotel, wuawuuuuuuu really the service is amazing!!! they make us feel like home, actually there is only 16 incredible rooms!!! specialy mine was the best, with extraordinary frescos.........and The boutique they have lovely I am taking home so many beautiful things. This people has so much taste i did not expected to find it in Peru i am impressed how kind they are and how much beauty there is in Cusco, well Peru!!! Congrats!!!.......... WE ENJOYED IT SO MUCH!!! thanks............

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WEEDING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

wow and wow, since I arrived i was impressed!! did not expect it .........my friends and I were walking around Cusco and found this spectacular place!! and we decided to indulge ourselves couple of days, the best money invested!!

The spa was the best, love the whirlpool and the massage, the food unbelievable, peruvian cusine is amazing.....we just love this place!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mafer_2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We traveled with our son, and spent a great time in the hotel, excellent food, beautiful hotel

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourdes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I was walking by & peaked in & was done. I was the first walk in ever!!! Great Decor, Food, Staff. I have stayed all over the world & this is right up there!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60763Newyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Just a hidden gem!!! love the place, love the food and love the service............

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONATOmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

What can I say, very beautiful, elegant and refined. The thing that struck me most was the atmosphere that we live in this hotel unlike any other I've visited from Lima until I arrived in Cusco.I found it spectacular the world design pieces mixed with the Inka walls or beautiful original fresco of 1700. They are the only one that have a different option, I was tired of all the same hotels with no caracther and boring all with the same taste. Then it fascinated me the fact that people like the poet Pablo Neruda and Ernesto Che Guevara visited that house, I used to spend my evening thinking on this and all the history of the Inka and Spanish while I was sitting in my beautiful private balcony!!!The service gets a 10!! and his staff very cordial and friendly, I was offered an upgrade for the same price, they gave me a master suite of 80 m2!!! The luxury room was the best I had in my trip to Peru. I loved Cusco unfortunately I could not see Machu Pichu but my residence in Cartagena House allowed me to enjoy the wonders of the city of Cusco, which has nothing to envy any other city in the world. Thanks to all the staff of Casa Cartagena definitely come back !!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
Palacio Manco Capac by Ananay Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Pumacurco 336 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#6 Business Hotel in Cusco
#6 Family Hotel in Cusco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £171 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cartagena CuscoHigh in the Peruvian Andes lies the historic city of Cuzco, famous for its unique blend of Spanish and Incan cultures. Located just off a tranquil square behind the main plaza of Cuzco, Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa Cusco emerges after years of restoration, which respected the original design of the historic house, to become one of the most exclusive boutique hotels in the city. Its walls of carved stone, which combines warmth, elegance and perfection, invite you to experience the fascinating magic and traditional mysticism that will transport you through time in this historic Spanish house declared a cultural heritage site of Peru.Its lovely atmosphere was built on an ancient Incan site, occupied by the ruling nobility of that time and from which it takes its name: Casa Cartagena, former property of the local Spanish ruler of Cuzco, Don Fernando Cartagena and Santa Cruz.This luxury hotel in Cuzco is an intimate refuge that has only sixteen spacious and comfortable suites, which perfectly blend the modern with the ancestral and luxury with the historical. The rooms are distributed symmetrically along a spacious patio of your dreams where time is suspended. It is located in the historic center of Cuzco, which was declared by UNESCO as a world heritage site.Recovery from an exhausting trip to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley of the Incas with our Qoya Spa will be something truly unequalled. It can be perfectly complemented with a delicious dinner in our restaurant which offers the best of local cuisine, "La bodega de la Chola", where poet Pablo Neruda was inspired and Che Guevara shared bohemian nights; it is considered one of the best restaurants in Cuzco.All of these unique features of Casa Cartagena and our warm and personalized service will make your stay in Cuzco an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Cartagena And Spa
Hotel Casa Cartagena Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing