We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top notch home away from home!”
Review of Second Home Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Second Home Cusco
Ranked #6 of 400 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent 5 nights at Second Home Cusco - 3 before our Inka Trail hike and 2 after the hike. Carlos the owner has made this place the perfect place to stay. It's comfortable, convenient, and the breakfasts were great. And the house puppy Toby is a nice touch! Carlos went out of his way to make our stay in Cusco memorable. He made restaurant reservations (some of the best in the country), booked drivers for us, and even got up at 4 am on the day of our hike to make coffee. Really top notch service. The rooms are cozy and spacious - all with original artwork on the walls. We couldn't ask for anything more. And the price was right - at least by American standards. It might be on the spendy side for Peru, but it's well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfiasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We ended up spending five nights at second home and loved every minute of it. It has already been said many times on tripadvisor but Carlos truly is a wonderful host - he was always around and checking if you had everything you needed and would help out in any way he could. From making tea at night or calling tour companies to confirm everything, he truly went out of his way to make sure your stay was as simple as possible.

I would also say the location was perfectly suited for us - it was very quiet and just a small walk from the center of town. We also enjoyed the restaurants in the area and Carlos' recommendations always worked out. Top notch!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looseendsmakeknots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a stopover in Cusco during our honeymoon. We had a great visit and definitely reccomend this B&B. The staff was friendly and accomodating and breakfast was great! He suggested Pachapapa for dinner which was wonderful!! It was a great meal after a long day of travel from Chile!
Thank you for being a wonderful host!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Staying at Second Home Cusco made our few days in Cusco a real pleasure. The reasons are several and all equally important. When one enters, it is peaceful and beautifully decorated. The breakfast room furniture and the kitchen cabinets are made by local craftsmen, and are beautiful. The location is perfect. The place is very clean. Carlos has also wonderful taste in food. His advice regarding restaurants was perfectly suited to us, as was his personal charm and helpfulness. We are fussy people, who need a well darkened room to sleep in, and Carlos accommodated us by covering the skylight, even though it was not a simple operation. he made us very good scrambled or fried eggs every day for breakfast. An excellent place to stay in Cusco.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LighthouseDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Honestly, I cannot enough about Second Home Cusco and its owner, Carlos. We arrived at Second Home after a day of traveling from Puno on the Andean Explorer, and Carlos had generously arranged complimentary transfer for us.

We checked into our nice comfy room, and got a good nights sleep, before rising for a leisurely breakfast and chat with Carlos. We set out exploring on our own for the first half of the day, and after a yummy lunch a Pacha Papa, did an arranged tour through Second Home--seeing the ruins around Cusco. We ended our night with a yummy, and cheap, dinner at the creperie just a block away from Second Home.,

The next day, our Cusco guide returned, to take us on a guided tour of the Sacred Valley--ending in Ollantaytambo. Knowing that we could not take our large bags with us on the train from Ollantaytambo to Aguas Calientes--Carlos generously agreed to store them, until we returned.

After two nights in first Ollantaytambo, then Aguas Calientes, we came back for a final night at Second Home before heading to the airport, and back to the States.

Not only wer the location great, the accomodations comfortable--but Carlos himself was one of the highlights of our trip. His warmth and hospitality truly made it a second home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Second Home Cusco. With a complimentary ride from the airport and help with our bags down the carless cobblestone street that Second Home is on, we immediately felt the hospitality of the place. We arrived a 8am in the morning and Carlos had our rooms ready for us to check in. We were so thankful to be able to shower and nap after 24 hours of travel from Seattle, we couldn't believe our luck. Our rooms were large with a separate living room.

Carlos, the owner of Second Home Cusco, comes from a background of hospitality. He spent 10 years running a bed and breakfast in Manhattan before opening a B&B in his home country of Peru. He was very interesting to talk to and we learned about running a B&B in the East Village in the 90s.

He was also very attentive and ensured that all of our needs were met. When our Inca Trail guide was late for our orientation, he made several calls to ensure that everything was okay. He also gave us great tips on how we could see the Inti Raymi festival without tickets.

The breakfast spread was always plentiful, coffee was strong and the eggs were cooked perfectly.

The only detractor was that we heard a lot of music at night, but we later found out that it was due a music festival on the top of the hill that was an annual event. So if you come on any regular weekend you wouldn't run into this issue. And even if you came during this particular weekend, any San Blas Hotel would have the same noise issue.

Overall a fantastic experience. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liveeattravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived at night on the train from Aguas Calientes to Poroy. The host, Carlos arranged our transport which was waiting for us when we arrived at the station. By the time we reached the small inn, we were very tired. Carlos met us and immediately saw to our needs. He asked the time of our flight and told us what time we would need to leave. He also arranged the transport. He said breakfast would be whenever we wanted it.

The suite we had was comfortable a nd the skylights interesting. We could see the moon when we took a shower. The soaking tub would have been nice to use if we'd had more time. It was not very comfortable to shower in. I was concerned i might fall due to the countours and material used to make the tub. I think it was fibreglass.

The beds were extremely comfortable and we loved the wooden floors.

In the morning Carlos made us breakfast in the kitchen and chatted to us. He freshly squeezed orange juice, fried us some eggs, and also provided cereal and fresh fruit. He is really a great host especially when I compare him to the owner we encoutered at the Hotl Arquelogo. There the brash owner shouted at workers in a demeaning way, in full view and earshot of guests. I wish we had stayed at Second Home for the two days we had in Cusco before we went to Macchu Picchu. Although we had to leave by 9 am on a Sunday morning, we managed to walk down to San Blas and experience some of the flavour of this section of town. Very artsy. We enjoyed it and wished we had more time there.

The hotel is very small with only three rooms so you're lucky if you are able to get a night there. I would strongly reccommend it. Just note the floors can be squeaky.

Carlos put a bed in our living room are for my mother instead of us using a pull-out couch. My mother greatly appreciated this and slept well.
My stay here has me wanting to return to Cusco. Definitely stay here!!!

Room Tip: I booked the balcony suite. Not sure thats what igot. There are only three rooms. Ithink each has gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#24 of 171 in Cusco
1,138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Home Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Cusco

Address: Atocsaycuchi 616 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 400 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £52 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Second Home Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Second Home Cusco is a Bed and breakfast in the historic district of San Blas. Second Home Cusco offers 21st-century comfort in a colonial house. Second Home Cusco feature three juniors suites furnished in an eclectic style. Each suite has a private bathroom with shower, Queen-size bed, cable TV, telephone, wireless internet access and other amenities to ensure an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Second Home Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Cusco Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing