We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Overpriced, ugly view, thin doors, dirty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overpriced, ugly view, thin doors, dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I spent two nights at Hostal Girasoles and I'm quite disappointed. First of all the price per night is definitely too high, considering that it's only a 2 star hostel and they don't even give you shampoo/shower gel. The view from our window was really ugly and the doors are so thin you can hear every possible noise. I woke up at 3 am because some people were talking out of my room and couldn't sleep until they went away. Last but not least, they don't clean bathrooms!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italian_translator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercedesCusco, Gerente at Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Unfortunately the noise from other guests, have disturbed their sleep quality, but we disagree with the adjectives you used to describe our establishment. As for cleaning the bathrooms is the most important point in our work and will pay special attention.
Sunflower Hostel is a simple but very warm and above all clean Inn.
We hope to serve you in an upcoming occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    90
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
30
94
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is a nice clean place with very polite, helpful and friendly staff. It's located about about 5-10 minutes walk from Plaza de Armas and closer to the small back streets of San Blas where you can find nice places eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddyknuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a great little place, well situated a few blocks from the town center. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Showers are good and hot, and the breakfast is simple but sufficient. I really enjoyed my stay here and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here on recommendation from a friend in Lima. It was nice enough. Simple and clean but nothing special. The staff were very friendly and the location was great but it was a bit expensive and their tours offered were very pricey,

Room Tip: Aim for up stairs as they are quieter! Also ask the staff where to eat! We had the best meals in c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Femaletravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I´ll start by saying that for the money you are getting what you are paying for. We stayed here for 4 nights. It´s cleaner than it looks mostly because it needs major updating. It is closely located to the Plaza de Armas but it is on a tiny street which we called dog alley. Tons of dogs everywhere which I did not mind being a dog lover. There´s always someone at the front desk. It´s hit or miss on how helpful they are.
The rooms are just OK. There is 24hr hot water but it´s either hot or cold. Difficult to get comfortable temperature or pressure.
If I were to go to Cusco again I would probably spend the extra bucks and upgrade to a nicer place or I would only stay for one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbensimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a period of 7 weeks from july through august and it was truly fantastic. The hostel itself is beautiful and boasts the only roof top terrace as far as you can see with a fantastic view and the mountains and the surrounding city. The rooms are wonderfully clean, comfortable and well furnished. The rooms are cleaned every day and the breakfast in the morning is lovely - especially the coffee. All of the staff are terrific and anything you need from local advice to organising trips is catered for here and they cannot do enough for you. I felt thoroughly at home thanks to them and in all honesty was sad to leave them. The last thing really is the location - just a short walk from the Plaza de Armas and plenty of bars, restaurant and clubs nearby. All you need for a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed at this hostel for 4 weeks whilst on a medical elective in Cuzco. Really enjoyed my time here.
Staff all very friendly and helpful. Marina always willing and able to help wherever possible and very knowledgeable about local sightseeing and tour guides.
The room was very comfortable although basic and the only negative was that the shower could have been warmer. The room was also initially quite cold (was here in the middle of winter) but we asked for a heater which made a huge difference.
Lovely rooftop terrace to soak up the suns rays and a great view over Cuzco, the hostel is very centrally located close to the city centre, great restaurants and just a 5-10 minute taxi ride to the hospital. I stayed there with my partner and unfortunately whilst there we both came down with gastro. Staff really helpful in organising medical help for us during this time.
Definitely would recommend to anyone looking for a friendly, relaxed comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess240790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#105 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Inkas Inn Cusco
Hotel Inkas Inn Cusco
#118 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yanantin Guest House
Yanantin Guest House
#88 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#82 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta

Property: Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
Address: Calle Pantaccalle 388, San Blas, Cusco 084, Peru (Formerly Hostal Girasoles Cusco)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta, formerly Hostal Girasoles Cusco offers private rooms with cable TV, sun terrace and free Wi-Fi. It is a 5 minute walk from the central Plaza de Armas of Cusco. Rooms at Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta has a rustic decor, heating and private bathroom with hot shower. The rooftop sun terrace offers spectacular panoramic city views. La Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta also offers a tour desk where you can arrange city tours and visits to the nearby Inca ruins. An American breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Furthermore, the property is within walking distance of bars and restaurants where you can eat and nightlife. The hostel is a short walk from the bus station and 10 minutes drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Girasoles Cusco Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing