We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Ranked #22 of 379 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The WORST hostel experience in all our trip on Bolivia- Chile and Peru. We read the reviews and we dedided to ask for a room for our second night in Cusco. WRONG!!! The staff is unpolite (ESPECIALY IN THE MORNINGS) and the rooms are so small and dirty. Worst of all is dangerus as electricity cables are not protected from water on the bathroom. Finaly note that the travel agent located in the Hostel is OVERCHARGING for all tours and tickets. They charge 15-20% more than other companies in Cusco

Check other hostels in the same area..you will find many offering better services (cant be worst than this Hostel) and bigger rooms.

The location and the building architecture (colonian style) are nice but this is not enough

Room Tip: do not choose this hostel
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spanishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlon Edwin S, Owner at Marlon's House Cusco-Peru, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Dear Client.

Thank you so much for your visit to our Family hostel and also for your contribution about our property which was probably at the begening a cheap price but of course we decide to improve and charge a reanoable price for a good service.

So everything we improve but of course thank you for your comment that now we changed everything even the staff.

Kind Regards.

Atte.

Marlon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

The double rooms are a bit small, but comfortable nonetheless. Very friendly and kind staff. Marlon is very sweet and really tries to help his customers. The breakfast is decent, you have to ask for eggs, but they are very tasty! Good location. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Karin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We booked 2 nights at this place 3 months prior to our trip and when it's one month prior we knew that our schedule was gonna change. So we emailed this hotel to postpone our stay for 1 night but after sending emails to several different email address for 5 times there were no response. We called to the numbers too by long distance call but there was no answer. So unsurprisingly when we arrived they said we were late for 1 day, and our room has been given to other guests already. We could only stay in a share dorm while we booked a private ensuite.

It's 10 mins walk from the main square but it's an upslope to walk from the main square. So with little high altitude sickness when we arrived, it became a tough walk when return to the hostel. No heater in the room, it's ok but there is no hairdryer so I had to sleep with my hair wet while the bed sheet provided wasn't really warm for the cold weather in Cuzco.

The staff was very nice and friendly and the hostel has stable hot water which is not a guranteed in Cuzco. but there was one night I took shower right after my friend did, and the water slowly turned to cold water. Generally the place is clean and tidy.

They also arranged some local tours for us. it's convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milky_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I felt at home. The hostel is tiny but very colorful and familiar. The private rooms are very spacious, hot shower, cable tv towels more could you want. Great breakfast fresh juices, coffee, milk, cereal, yogurt actually very good and the staff very friendly and helpful all the time.

Room Tip: The room from the top are very nice.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grasiela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is one of the best hostel I'v stayed very clean,close to the main plaza just 05 minutes,one block to the central market.Rooms are very nice wiht private bahts &hot shower.They also organized my tour to Machupicchu which was awesome.the staff speak good english, breakfast is great.

Room Tip: The cheapest room are the dorms in cases you want to get private bahts make your reservation in adva...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We loved this hostel! The location is good, not too close to the main square so it's nice and quiet. Breakfast is filling, with eggs, cereal, bread and more on offer. The staff were fantastic, Magda is a major asset to Marlon's House in Cusco - she's brilliant! Wifi can be a bit flaky and it gets a little colder at night, plus the courtyard can be loud sometimes.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the courtyard if you want a bit of peace and quiet after hours
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

the room was good, location was great. The hot water was inconsistant. 5 minutes into my shower, the water would get cold. Also, it was often difficult to find someone at the front desk. I rang the doorbell (there's no other way to get their attention) several times, and often waited over 10 minutes before I just left. breakfast was great though- eggs, bread/jam,tea. AND it's from 6-10am.

the travel agent was nice but not knowledgeable. we booked our salkantay hike thorugh her because she gave us the best deal. she did NOT tell us however that you need a separate ticket to hike up Macchu Picchu Mountain (also true for the other mountain). She also did NOT tell us that the mules would not be traveling with us (or carrying our packs) the fourth day. no matter where you book your hike (unless you book it with an expensive place like llamapath, which seems to have small groups and very luxurious hikes) you end up with the same group.

Room Tip: don't get a room on the first floor because its only a few feet from the common area and the bat...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#20 of 379 in Cusco
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jamuy Guest House
Jamuy Guest House
#85 of 379 in Cusco
87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kay Pacha Hostal
Kay Pacha Hostal
#52 of 379 in Cusco
24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#9 of 379 in Cusco
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#7 of 480 in Cusco
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlon's House Cusco-Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlon's House Cusco-Peru

Address: Calle Nueva Baja 496, Cusco 084, Peru (Formerly Marlon's House)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £13 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlon's House Hostels, a new option hospitality for over 7 years ago in southern Peru in the cities of Arequipa, Puno and Cusco, it is aimed at travelers who like to enjoy a comfortable and safe family travel, Pleasant,. It offers more comfort without neglecting the familiar home environment, which characterized us since our inception.Three Cities a single quality of service.Our hostels have young, friendly and highly qualified staff, that make the traveler feel at home in our facilities, we have all the services that the traveler needs. This commits us to continue providing personalized and responsible care to all our visitors.Our priority is to offer a friendly and accessible to all services environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Marlon's House Cusco-Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing