We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel during our 2 weeks in peru”
Review of Eureka San Blas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eureka San Blas
Ranked #36 of 379 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2013

+ big, nicely decorated rooms
+ safe in room
+ awesome staff ( they booked for us at very decent prices a bus and a hotel in puno)
+ delicious breakfast
+ left our luggage, tablets, etc. at the hotel while we went on a 4d inka trail
- rooms in the ground foor and towards the street are a little bit noisy

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco041983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Eureka San Blas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hostal has been booked for us by the travel agency. We moved in this hostal after our outstandind stay in hotel Casa Andina San Blas which was just opposite. We have visited the hostal two days before moving in, just to be sure that we will not get a room with the window to the street which was noisy because all cars going up to San Blas have to pass the hotel which is situated on the corner. The difference between these two hotels in enormous. It was of course difficult to choose a similar and quiet room. We agreed with the receptionist on a certain room but when we arrived he told us that this room is not free. We stayed 1 night, than we left for Sacred Valley and afterwards we came back again for one night. We made again an agreement on the room we already had and when we came back from our excursion they told us again that the room of our choise is not free. It gave us strange feeling.
What was disturbing us, was the cleaning staff who started their job very early in the morning on different floors and have been loudly talking and shouting against each other from different floors like they were alone in the whole house. So you can not have any rest after a demanding trip.
The breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms with the windows to the courtyard are more quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

A friendly and efficient Hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, English speaking on the front desk. Nice breakfast room, WiFi available. Rooms were a decent size, good showers with ample hot water. Location is convenient, about a 8 minute walk into centre. Situated on a corner of a narrow road, the traffic can be noisy, but unless you are a very light sleeper it`s not an issue.

Room Tip: Friendly and helpful staff
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We were very lucky and had a very large spacious room (1 double + 2 single beds). The rooms are cold and humid. The bathroom is humid too and the towels never seem to dry. The breakfast is very good and the service is outstanding. I can recommend this place if you are looking for a clean and friendly place - do not expect any luxury. Beds are very comfy, better than your ordinary hotel bed. Walking distance to all places you want to see.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The room was very nice and big, you can hear the traffic a little bit. I missed a terrasse or any other place I could spend some time outside my room.

I booked two nights (through booking.com), but could not find any sleep during my first night because of the altitude. Therefore I checked out on the second day to go to Urubamba in the Sacred Valley which is at lower altitude.
The hotel insisted that I also had to pay for the second night, although I have not stayed here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zauberberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Heating, hot water, extra blankets, friendly staff, breakfast ok. Location is good, close to the San Blas Plaza and area (where you can find nice restaurants and bars, not as touristy and pricy as in the Cuzco main city plaza).

Hotel is nothing special really but there´s nothing wrong with it either. Considering the price it´s a good option.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a twin room: We stayed in room 33, left for Machu Picchu and got back to roo...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here twice around our trip to Machu Picchu. The fisrt time our room was on the ground floor. It was smallish and just OK. The carpet just inside the door was damp and we soon discovered the cause. The basin in the bathroom leaked badly. When we told them about it they supplied us with an extra towel to soak it up.

The breakfast was very good and in a bright room. We used the laundry service and one item went astray but was eventually found. That experience taught us to note down everything we sent for washing at other laundries.

On our return we had a much larger and nicer room upstairs overlooking the narrow street and with views to the mountains.

There was one computer beside the entrance, for internat access.

It was several blocks from the main square and that involved a long steep walk back each time, but there were shops and good restaurants nearby. We were able to walk there safely in the evenings.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the one on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niknikjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
0.0 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.8 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#44 of 170 in Cusco
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
0.0 mi away
Villa San Blas
Villa San Blas
#127 of 379 in Cusco
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hospedaje Turistico San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka San Blas

Address: 591 Chihuampata, Cusco 08003, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £41 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eureka San Blas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eureka San Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing