We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Cusco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Encantada Casa Boutique Spa
Ranked #15 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here three nights, two before our trip to Machu Pichu and one after. The hotel is in the San Blas area; quiet narrow streets on a hillside overlooking the city. The streets are well lit and feel safe at night. The hotel is quite stylish and very comfortable. We had a balcony room with great views. The large bed was very comfortable and the added luxury of a hot water bottle each night is something other competitors could take note of. The bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower and plenty of hot water. Breakfasts were good and the made to order omelettes delicious.
On our third night after a very slow, exasperating return train journey from Machu Pachu we were welcomed back and the luggage we had left behind had been taken up to our original room in readiness for us. All the staff were consistently helpful and friendly.
The hotel is built around a central spiral staircase which is very attractive but it does funnel noise up through the building which can be disturbing late at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room or a balcony room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Encantada Casa Boutique Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

My family with two young children (2, 4) stayed here for three nights. We wanted a smaller hotel in an "original" neighborhood and this boutique's location offered authenticity, albeit steep hills and stairs. Our room was on the top floor next to the spa and outdoor patio; it had a nice view of the city. We had several meals in the restaurant, mainly breakfast and dinner - home cooked Peruvian food that was quite delicious.

My husband and I had massages one afternoon. He thought the therapist was OK, but for me, it was a rather unpleasant experience. She didn't apply enough pressure despite several requests and the worst thing was the cacophony of music being played in the spa and drifting through the open window. I mentioned it to the receptionist and she didn't charge us for the massage - great customer service! The staff was wonderful with the children. To the extent, that one of the staff risked life and limb to climb onto the roof to get a balloon that my son allowed to slip from his little hand.

A word of advice: Walk down to the Plaza, lots of interesting side streets and stores to explore; but definitely take a taxi back up to the hotel - inexpensive and very handy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowenaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We enjoyed this hotel. It has a heater in the room plus they bring a hot water bottle at night. Breakfast was fine. It was just a 10 min walk from shopping around the main plaza (but remember it's uphill coming back, and there is a spiral staircase, not an elevator, to your room). The only downside: the toilet is set to water saving mode such that the tank only fills enough to flush about once every half hour. Normally that's fine but if there is more than one of you in the room and/or you get sick (which I did) that is not good, especially if you are losing it at both ends. You can imagine.

Coca tea is free in the lobby along with a basket of coca leaves in case you want to chew them straight. I noticed a tank of oxygen in the corner of the lobby for those who need extra help with the altitude. It's a 5 min walk to the Panchapapa restaurant on the lower side of the San Blas square so consider that for lunch or dinner if you stay in the Encantada. The area wasn't the cleanest or fanciest but felt authentic and safe. The hotel desk people were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room facing toward the Plaza de Armas so you have a view of city lights instead of a side stre...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I booked this hotel based on the many wonderful reviews. They were not wrong. Overall service was fantastic. Front desk was helpful and knowledgeable about things to do in the area. Staff arranged for taxi pick up to the airport. The location might be a little far away from the Plaza de Armas, but it's an easy 10 minutes downhill and a tougher 15 minute uphill due to the altitude. Being away from the town center and situated closer to the hillside means you get a gorgeous view outside your window. Our room was charming, although for the "matrimony room" I thought it would be just a little bigger. Similar to other places in Peru, the septic system is delicate, and the hotel advises not flushing toilet paper and putting it into a waste paper basket instead. The hot water bottle under the covers was an excellent touch, and much appreciated during the chilly spring evenings. The AM breakfast of omelets, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread and jam was delicious, as were the passionfruit pisco sours during happy hours. We dined one night at the hotel, and the food was decent enough. The main drawback had to do with the annoying barking dogs. The barking eventually goes away though.

A few suggestions for the area:
- Do check out the Qorikancha Museum, a church built on top of an Incan temple. Both are impressive. There is a nearby underground archeological museum with its 4 small rooms of artifacts. Not worth paying extra, which we made the mistake of doing.
- Don't bother with the Casa Concha Museum - small collection, spread out over too many rooms and not worth the 20 soles entrance fee.
- The hike up to Sacsayhuaman is absolutely worth it. The hike itself may be challenging, but the views are wonderful, and you may meet friendly locals and their pets along the way.
- Do check out the San Pedro Market, which is a big market for locals (as opposed to artisanal markets for tourists). There are many vendor stalls selling meat, fruits, veggies, yarn, household goods and food.
- The Cathedral may look plain on the outside, but the interior is impressive if not overwrought, excessive and typical of religious artwork for that period.
- Finally, I recommend dining at the Inka Grill and Limo, both excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night. The hotel is lovely, but there were serious drawbacks that made it not worth it.

The location isn't terrible, except it's on a much less used street than even one street over. I did not feel safe, and we decided to stay in for dinner partly because of it. We stayed at a hotel one street over a couple nights before and I did not feel unsafe. This hotel is definitely more out of the way.

Our room was on the first floor- it might be the only one, and we could hear every conversation, every noise, every check in, and every dinner happening in the place.

Aside from that, the hotel has a couple dogs. When we first went to check in, we went in the wrong door and were greeted by some intimidating barking dogs. Totally our fault- we went in the wrong door, and then slowly backed out. However, at 11 pm the dogs started barking, and did not stop. They were still barking when we checked out. I might not have realized the dogs belonged to the hotel if we hadn't gone in the wrong door. Either way- loud barking dogs.

There is only a portable space heater in the room, which I didn't like. I hate being cold, and for safety reasons it has an auto shutoff. It's not that I want to catch on fire- but the other place we stayed had a real radiator- and if I had known we were only going to get a bitty space heater...

The food was decent although part of the small menu was unavailable. The staff was very very nice and helpful.

I would not stay here again, but not because of the staff. They were the best part.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKuhlmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Two weeks in Peru, and this was the best hotel, by far. Very quaint and clean. The girl at the front desk (wish I could remember her name) was excellent. Very professional, helpful, and her English was great. Room had a huge bed with big, thick comforter and was clean. Every night after dinner, our bed was turned down and there were two hot water bottles to warm the sheets. Nice touch. Great breakfast in the morning. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cusco.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I got sick in Lima prior to arriving to Cusco and then my husband fainted from the altitude the first day we arrived. It was awful! We were soooo sick! But the staff at Encantada not only took great care of our needs, they sent an emergency doctor to check in on us. We had to return to the hotel toward the end of our trip from Macchu Picchu, and again, the staff was extremely accommodating. SO comforting to know that Jesus, Maribell, Angela and Ricardo are trained in true/top notch customer service. They went above and beyond anything we could have imagined, and never made us feel as if we were a burden. Getting sick during your honeymoon is an absolute terror, but the comfort we experienced from the staff at Encantada was one of highlgihts from our trip. MUCHISIMAS GRACIAS!

Room Tip: The rooms outside to the left are large, cozy and quieter than the upstairs.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atabeyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 170 in Cusco
1,491 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 170 in Cusco
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encantada Casa Boutique Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encantada Casa Boutique Spa

Address: Tandapata 354 | San Blas, Cusco Cusc 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cusco
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#25 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £67 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Encantada Casa Boutique Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City of Cusco is the perfect starting point to explore some of the most fabulous sites in South America like the Sanctuary of Machupicchu, the Amazon Rainforest and Lake Titikaka. In the bohemian, artisan district of San Blas in Cusco lies our jewel, the Casa Boutique Spa ENCANTADA. The tasteful, modern construction, offers a lot of comfort and is surrounded by fantastic, flower filled gardens where you can relax between your tours with great views of the surrounding red tiled roofs and the city center. Away from the noisy streets of the center but only a few blocks from the main square, overlooking the city, Encantada is located in a privileged area, where you are in walking distance of the city's many churches and museums and close by the archaeological park of Sacsayhuaman. An enchanted place in the archaeological capital of South America.Services:Breakfast buffet (5.30-9.00 A.M.)Bar/CafeteriaBeautiful social areas: Panoramic Terras, spacious salon with fireplace and flower filled garden areas Spa with Jacuzzi and MassageWi-Fi and free Internet service220V and 110V current Safe depositLaundry serviceMedical attention and oxygen upon requestFree lugagge storageTourist information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Encantada Casa Boutique Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantada Casa Botique Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing