We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with nice staff, but getting dinner there may be difficult”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Encantada Casa Boutique Spa
Ranked #16 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Very nice hotel, a pearl in the middle of Cuscos magnificient old town. Cusco was my favourite city on my Peru trip, and this hotel made the stay even more worthwile. The staff was very friendly, the location is great (only a short walk to Plaza des Armas) and the view from there was great, since its located a bit uphill. This was no problem for me, but for people which are in no good health or in their senior years, it may be a problem, since Cusco is so high above sea level, even a short walk or a flight of stairs is very exhausting, and the hotel is uphill. The only think I disliked was the following incident, I was travelling alone and wanted to eat dinner in the hotel. Since a large travel group was ordering food, I was told I had to wait for 2 hours until I could get something to eat, this I found unacceptable, I wasn’t even offered the menu, and there was at least one free table at the ‘restaurant’ which is actually just a section of the lobby. Besides that, the Hotel was great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel are big and nice, and have access to the 'front porch' where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RippinKittin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Great service at this small hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights before and 2 after our inca trail, and it was a great base. Rooms are decent, a little small but very clean. Service is fantastic, seemed like a small team of staff, but they were all very helpful and attentive. Good breakfast included.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamiemoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here twice, bookending our trip to Machu Picchu. Our first stay was in a room outside the main hotel by the garden and we loved it. It was spacious, clean, beautiful and quiet. We were excited for our return at the end of the trip and then disappointed when our next room on the second-floor in the main hotel was really noisy (though still clean and nice though smaller). We could hear everything that happened in the lobby and restaurants. We overheard specific discussions people were having, the buzzer for the gate, the front desk telephone, and an annoying kid blowing a whistle.

What a shame because everything else here was amazing. The staff were all highly welcoming and competent with proficiency in English. They offered us tea upon arrival as well as a welcome drink (pisco sour). There are pretty flowers in the garden and a nice balcony on the fourth floor with a sweeping view of Cusco.

We had a slight problem with our shower in the first room--it was kind of spraying all over because it wasn't connected snugly to the wall, which made the whole bathroom wet. We told the front desk and they took care of it.

The garden room had a space heater, which we didn't actually need. Both rooms had hot water bottles warming up our beds each evening, which was delightful.

The neighborhood is quiet and great to walk around. It was an easy (though hilly) walk to the main square and San Blas for touring and eating.

Wifi worked well and when I had trouble they reset the system and fixed the problem immediately.

We would certainly stay here again. The noisy room was not such a drawback that it would prevent us from returning but is IS a consideration and one worth taking into account for your booking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a very cute, clean and comfortable hotel, with decent sized rooms, a terrace with a beautiful view, and good breakfast (you can get freshly made eggs) and dinner. What makes it excellent is the staff - they speak very good English, are the nicest, friendliest people you will ever meet, and they go out of their way to help you in any way possible. They are very knowledgeable of the area, make travel arrangements, give you hot water bottles at night, will bring your food to your room after a long day at Machu Picchu, save you breakfast if you are sleeping late, and anything else you ask of them. They also have hot water in the shower and electric heaters for the rooms. As noted in other reviews, it can get loud from the dogs barking at night or the sound traveling up the spiral staircase, but I just wore earplugs to sleep and was fine. It's worth the stay given how amazing the staff is. The walk up the hill isn't bad at all unless you are in really bad shape.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Encantada Casa Boutique is a really nice hotel, but before deciding to book it there are some things you need to know!

The good - the hotel is beautiful and charming, with a fantastic, kind and caring team. They are friendly, multilingual and will go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable. Rooms are on the small side but absolutely fine for a hotel of this type. Decor is classic South America. Showers are strong (and toilets are weak!!)

Breakfast is more than adequate and the dining area sunny and comfortable. (Tip: get freshly scrambled eggs instead of omelets!)

But.......

While the hotel is located in a very cool area (San Blas), it means that every time you need to go into town you will be faced with a long difficult walk back home. Sure - fifteen minutes may not seem like much, but combine the altitude with never ending steep steps and it is drudgery. This was especially difficult because it seemed like the drop-off point for all of our tours (hiking, biking, rafting, etc...) was near the main square downtown.

Secondly, the place was just downright LOUD! We could hear everything from our rooms (and between all of us we were in several different locations). Breakfast being prepared at 5:30 AM, the front desk phone ringing, diners chatting, dogs barking, hotel guests sneezing, talking, vomiting or worse - it all sounded as if it were right in our room! If you're a heavy sleeper this may not bother you, but be warned!!

All in all the hotel was so nice and the staff so fantastic I hate to say anything negative.. but you need to know!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardMadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My friend and I stayed here before and after our Inca trek to Machu Picchu. It was such a lovely stay! Encantada was one of the more affordable options recommended by our trekking agency and I was glad that I chose it. We were greeted with coca tea and a warm welcome before being brought to a twin room on the top floor that is near to the terrace which has a great view. The staff were very helpful with our luggages, and one particularly cold night, they even called to offer us warm water bottles. We slept so well there every night! They also took care of our suitcases when we were away for our trek. We paid a small premium for express laundry service after our trek and it was done nicely and real fast. Breakfast spread at the restaurant was small but very good, our favorite is the made-to-order omelette, and although I have since tried Lomo Saltado from other places, I still like the one from this restaurant best! I would definitely recommend this place, it's suitable for families, couples, groups or solo travelers. Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviaaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights before and 1 night after our Inca Trail. Loved San Blas area (after 5 days just off Plaza de Armas), was a welcome change of pace, but still lots to see/do/eat in the area. It's around 15 mins into town (very easy pace) and a little more back up the hill. It is not a difficult walk unless you have mobility/health issues, just take your time as the altitude/uphill effects everybody.

As mentioned, staff are welcoming, efficient and all extremely friendly. Both rooms we had were good, spacious and clean. There is a lovely patio on the 4th floor with outstanding views across the city skyline.

Breakfast was great the first morning, but with early starts the other 2 mornings (05:45) they were still only half prepared, even though they say it begins at 05:30 there was very little out at that time. Something they need to work on as early starts are common for trips.

Another small gripe, US$60/hr to fill the spa bath??? Outrageous! Maybe it's because the bath is in the treatment room so puts it out of action for the time you are in it? Time to re-think?

All in all comfortable hotel in nice area, would stay again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are perhaps a little quieter, we had both 3rd and 4th floors during our stay with no is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderSmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,514 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encantada Casa Boutique Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encantada Casa Boutique Spa

Address: Tandapata 354 | San Blas, Cusco Cusc 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cusco
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#25 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £61 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Encantada Casa Boutique Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City of Cusco is the perfect starting point to explore some of the most fabulous sites in South America like the Sanctuary of Machupicchu, the Amazon Rainforest and Lake Titikaka. In the bohemian, artisan district of San Blas in Cusco lies our jewel, the Casa Boutique Spa ENCANTADA. The tasteful, modern construction, offers a lot of comfort and is surrounded by fantastic, flower filled gardens where you can relax between your tours with great views of the surrounding red tiled roofs and the city center. Away from the noisy streets of the center but only a few blocks from the main square, overlooking the city, Encantada is located in a privileged area, where you are in walking distance of the city's many churches and museums and close by the archaeological park of Sacsayhuaman. An enchanted place in the archaeological capital of South America.Services:Breakfast buffet (5.30-9.00 A.M.)Bar/CafeteriaBeautiful social areas: Panoramic Terras, spacious salon with fireplace and flower filled garden areas Spa with Jacuzzi and MassageWi-Fi and free Internet service220V and 110V current Safe depositLaundry serviceMedical attention and oxygen upon requestFree lugagge storageTourist information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Encantada Casa Boutique Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantada Casa Botique Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing