We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Peru”

The Blue House Cusco
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blue House Cusco
Ranked #95 of 364 Cusco B&B and Inns
San Pedro La Laguna, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best in Peru”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed here for a week that turned into two months. My room was lovely with a private bath and warm showers. The bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of storage. The kitchen stayed clean, and they have a nice rec room with movies and a computer. I never had a problem with the family. If they were using the computer, they always offered it to guests.
I enjoyed being just above San Blas Square. The best yoga school in town is also very close There is a LONG stair way to reach the hotel, but I always saw police posted along the way. Climb one more stairway above the guesthouse to reach mountain trails and swimming holes.
All in all, it was the most economical and best place that I stayed in Peru.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia_Shanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks while attending language classes in Cusco. I liked the breakfast and we had run of the kitchen to make meals. We really didn't interact that much with the management. Many of the guests there at the time were renting for weeks or months which made it feel a little more settled. The room we stayed in had a bathroom but the hot water situation was better in the shared bath. The view and San Blas neighborhood was nice, but beware you will have to climb a lot of stairs to get here. Carrying heavy backpacks it was not fun. A taxi can only take you part way! It's not far fro South America Explorers Club House if you want to make this your home base.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginkiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united states
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2009

I have also lived here in The Blue House. My experience with both the family that runs it and the guests were delightful. This place is perched up on the hills and away from the main hussle and bustle of San Blas and yet it is just a few minutes into the mayhem.

The Blue house was more set up like a rustic home than a hostal where people come and go. There were full kitchen facilities including cupboards for food storage and the kitchen is always maintained spotless. There was a problem of water stoppage during the day for a short time but it effects all of San Blas so this house was not an exception.

The family lives at the back of the seven guest rooms in their own quarters. They come down every morning to clean and prepare breakfast for the guests and although they walk through the guest areas, they are never in the way and I have not seen them take over guest facilities.

This place is certainly cosy in character and part of its charm is that it is part of the family´s property so we should respect that it is their space should they want to use it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xhikkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

I lived at the Blue House for 5 months while living in Cusco, Peru for work. The family is super friendly and the young boys of 7 and 14 were always willing to help you when you needed something... buying an onion you forgot at the market, getting some water or food if you weren't feeling well. When the family had events, we were always welcome to join them in their part of the house to participate in cultural festivities. The comment before me obviously didn't realize there are three showers, two of which are private for the "matrimonial" rooms and one more room that has a private toilet and sink. For the rest of the rooms, there is one shared shower and two bathrooms along with a kitchen, eating area, small shared space and a fantastic terrace that overlooks the entire city. Whenever the TV or computer was occupied by a family member, they would always leave the space if a guest wanted to use it! Each room is unique and I happened to move in and out of three of them! Not to mention it is not nearly as noisy as any other hostel that is in town... in fact cars can't even drive by this B&B! It is also really close (5 mins walk) to a handful of the famous live music venues, the core of the artisan area and a small open market for fresh produce.
I loved living here... the only downfall for me is that the hill area of San Blas doesn't always have great water access, so at times the water is off in that section of the city- but it is generally not something you can get around and a small price to pay for an incredible view of the city that is just far enough from the center to get some sleep while the clubbing tourists party on until 6am!
Like any resort, hostel, B&B- the environment is also very dependant on the other guests who are staying there! I went through three very different groups of people... summer students, short-term travelers and then the long term (Oct-Dec) interns/workers/uni students. The culture of the place changed each wave of people came through.
But keep in mind, you get what you pay for, if you want a posh hotel with room service, don't stay at a B&B or hostel in Cusco... you are going to have to stay at a 5 star hotel if you want an omelet made to order in the dining room. If you want a family run humble and quaint place to stay- this is it.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

This place is listed as a place for people to stay long term. Generally one month or more. Most people that live here volunteer or study Spanish full time in Cusco. I expected it to be a place where you could live quietly and get to know other people staying in town. I have realized that the family that runs it is the biggest problem. There are seven rooms here and I assumed that I would only be sharing the living room, bathroom and kitchen with the six other people. In fact it turns out that the family also uses all these facilities. One shower and one small living room (room for three people) is not enough for all these additional people. The hostel is run by two of the kids, one 21 and one 15. There seems to be no respect for the people living here, they just do as they want. Most of the time the TV is occupied by the 15 year old boy. They have also let a woman live here who is learning the flute. For many hours during the day the high squeak of her playing can be heard. Only stay here if you can't stand quiet and if you want to pay for but not be able to use the facilities.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#166 of 462 in Cusco
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#124 of 168 in Cusco
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#54 of 364 in Cusco
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#73 of 462 in Cusco
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 462 in Cusco
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue House Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Cusco

Property: The Blue House Cusco
Address: San Blas Calle Kiskapata 291 | San Blas Calle Kiskapata 291, Cusco Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Blue House Cusco” is a charming house in San Blas twon. It is a beautiful colonial house, cozy Bed and Breakfas with a quiet and relaxing atmosphera. We offer a safe, clean and confortable stay, with a warm and friendly cusquenian family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing