We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse
Ranked #70 of 364 Cusco B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So friendly!”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed at Casa De Mama Cusco on our way back from Aguas Calientes. First of all, they were nice enough to let us leave our stuff at the bed and breakfast BEFORE we left for our trip, so all we needed to carry around with us was a backpack. Then, when we came back, they had our stuff stowed away in our room for us. The next day we had breakfast on the upper deck, which was delicious and satisfying. The staff was very kind the entire time, and patient with my sub-par Spanish speaking ability.

The place itself looks great! It's an open air building, with little wooden "bridge-like" pathways that lead to the rooms and the upper floors. We went during the rainy season, and it was STILL an awesome experience. The garden is very nice. Rooms are equipped with kitchenettes. You'll feel at home.

The only problem I had with the place is that we only had enough hot water for one person to shower at a time...we had to wait for another 20 minutes or so before there would be more hot water.

Otherwise, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadorejadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    41
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
53
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pdx
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Reasonable rates, excellent location for walking about Cusco, nice little restaurants/cafes tucked away in the neighborhood, great view of the city from our room, and, most of all, Carmen was a gracious and informative host. We would happily return to "la casa."

Room Tip: Room with view to west
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bijocro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I am a solo traveller and stayed for a month at MDC. Its in a fabulous location, Carmen (the manager) and her team are really helpful (but really only Spanish spoken) and the accommodation is basic, but really, really clean and beds are comfy. The showers have heaters on the shower heads and the temperature is determined by the amount of water pressure you put through the shower. A stove means a cup of tea in the morning before you head off for the day. Carmen also made breakfast each day (included) The atmosphere is really welcoming, the building is secure and i always felt safe. If your idea of a cultural experience is having every single comfort of home MDC may not be for you, but if you're like me and want to experience a difference , MDC is the place to stay :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espressogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Mam (and Papa) picked us up in the airport in their pickup truck, gave us a quick tour of Cusco before arriving at their hotel, more reminiscent of a tree house than an inn. Each room is up a steep flight of steps, situated around an open air courtyard and a couple of large trees. We even had a tree trunk running through our shower stall! The top level is a rustic lounge (with a computer with internet) where Mama made us coca tea and made us promise to relax for one hour before heading into town. We had all taken precautions against altitude sickness, but she was adamant that we needed to take a nap. The rooms are more like rustic cabins, but they are clean, cozy and have amazing views of Cusco, both day and night. They each have a small kitchenette, refrigerator, microwave and table.
My first morning, I woke early to see the mists coming off the mountains, and laying over the town. Really beautiful. Nighttime brings the sounds of neighbors, their animals and woodsmoke drifting up from the town. The walk into the main square is all downhill and takes about 10 minutes. There are a couple of small stores at the bottom of the stairs leading up to Mama's, so if you need a snack or a drink, you don't have to go into town. Our final morning, I went to the nearest bodega, bought fresh rolls, butter, milk, sugar and coffee and made breakfast in the room.
Like a pension or hostel, the main door to Mama's locks at night, but your key will work and the area is very safe. There is always someone in the hotel to answer your questions and if they don't know, they will call Mama. She also has contacts for guides and taxis. We booked her friend, Eduardo, to take us in his taxi to the Pisac market and on to the Sacred Valley. He was fantastic and very patient with all of our questions.
Stay at Mama's if you want to feel the real Cusco. It was comfortable, clean, cozy, cheap and effortless.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room. Probably has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Casa de Mama is such a wonderful experience. The rooms are cold during the winter (June, July was when we went) but Carmen gave us our own heater in our room and plenty of extra blankets. The next morning we woke up and thought we were really late and had probably missed breakfast, but there was Carmen as we walked by her room asking us in her sweet Peruvian Spanish if we wanted desayuno and then proceeded to insist we be served in our room. We thought we'd be helpful and at least collect the dishes for her and she laughed at us and yelled "No!" like we were some kind of crazy people. haha. I miss Cusco, and I think what I miss the most is Casa de Mama. I wish I could live there! We had such a lovely time and it was the highlight of my South American travels. Carmen, muchas gracias.

Room Tip: Thing to remember about traveling in South America in the winter: Shower at night, never in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AucharmeFrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Claro, SP
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We are brazlians and we just left casa de mamma. The treatment and education of Mercedes and Carmem (staff) were wonderfull. The hotel is very confortable and its localization allow easy acesses to the main touristic points of Cusco. We already are missing the peruvian community.
Muchas gracias Mercedes, Carmem.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mercedes a, Propietario at Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
We are very happy to know you have enjoy your stay in our Casa de Mama Cusco, for me and the staff each guest is unique, so would a pleusure to have the oportunity to serve you again in Cusco or in our Casa de Mama Valle in the Sacred Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Thank you Mercedes for everything! Thank you for meeting us at the airport!! Altitude sickness really hit us!!

Carmen and rest of staff were excellent. Money well spent!!

Awesome location.

Maria and Gary from Canada

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mercedes a, Propietario at Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
It was nice to pick you up at the airport and look after you and your husband during your stay in Cusco, that is our goal , that the guest feel with us really "at home". Our service at "Casa de Mama 2 " and " Casa de Mama valle" try to be also helpfull . We would be happy to receive you again in Cusco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#43 of 168 in Cusco
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 168 in Cusco
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 168 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#81 of 168 in Cusco
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de Campo Hotel
Casa de Campo Hotel
#113 of 168 in Cusco
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse

Property: Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse
Address: Calle Atocsaycuchi 539, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little house in the traditional quartier of San Blas, each room is a studio, equiped for your confort.Each rooms has a maarried bed, tv, refrigerator, microwelle, table, chairs, kitchenette, private bathroom, towels and linning, hair dryer and heater.The breakfast is included in the rate.Casa de Mama is located in a quiet pededstrian street, only 5 minutes far from the Central Plaza.We organize the tours in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Mama Cusco-The Treehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Mama Cusco Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing