We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Architectural Charm & Great Service”
Review of Unaytambo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Unaytambo Hotel
Ranked #40 of 168 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
OC,CA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Architectural Charm & Great Service”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The Unaytambo Hotel exudes character with its colonial charm. The standard rooms are small, but adequate. The superior rooms are very spacious and ours had a view of the Qoricancha Temple. Overall, a very warm feeling to the hotel and a sense that you were surrounded by so much history. Nights can be cold in Cuzco, so the down comforters provided probably more warmth than the space heaters.
I worked primarily with Nataly, but all of the staff were also very helpful. Nataly arranged a taxi guide, Wellington, for us who spent 2 days with us driving, explaining and taking us to the known tourist and off the beaten path sites throughout the Sacred Valley area. Wellington provided excellent service for us & was an amazing driver on some rather tenuous terrain.
The hotel also kept our luggage while away in Machu Picchu and provided same day laundry service at a very reasonable price. The staff can recommend local restaurants, arrange taxis, and printed out our flight boarding passes for us. And, it was the sort of hotel that seems to attract interesting guests. Breakfast was always fun to see who you would meet from all over the world and offered a time to share travel experiences & hints. Overall, it was a lovely introduction to Cuzco.

Room Tip: Corner superior was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    83
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
109
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have to admit that based on the reviews and the photos of the place on tripadvisor, we were slightly underwhelmed upon arrival. The hotel is a bit hidden, down a side street that most taxi drivers we used couldn't find. The hot water didn't work very well the first night we arrived (but was fine otherwise) and the wifi is...spotty at best. They need an upgrade in that department. The floors are so clean they're slippery and that combined with the unevenness and slanting made me feel like I woke up in a funhouse.

But the place quickly grew on me. It's not a luxurious place, but it's simple, interesting (in a good way), clean and comfortable. Breakfast was simple but perfect for us, with great coffee and a small selection of breads, jam, fruit, cereal and yogurt, plus eggs upon request.

And any negatives were overshadowed by the top-notch staff. Everyone was very nice, super helpful, and just pleasant to deal with. Congratulations to the management and/or whoever hired and trained them.

I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MH206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I felt in love with this hotel since I came in. The atmosphere is so nice and cozy, the people are nice. The rooms have a very good size, it used to be a house from the colonial time, and they have maintain the magic and it is pretty good conditions.
I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent our first two nights in Cusco here to acclimate to the altitude and enjoy some relaxation. The location was great - we had a view of Santo Domingo and the activity in the square, but it was never loud. They offered a great breakfast, the wifi worked in our room upstairs, and the staff was very helpful.
There were two down-sides: one was that the taxi they arranged never showed up, but I got the sense that this was not normal - the staff was very apologetic and helpful after the fact. The other was that our bathroom smelled really awful most of the time. I don't know if it was old pipes venting back into the bathroom, but we never had this problem in any of the other (cheaper) hotels where we stayed. There was a light/fan in the bathroom, so we left this on and it generally vented the smell out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsoGata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Great, friendly, courteous staff that will accommodate your needs. They provided coca leaf tea, pills for altitude sickness, and oxygen masks right upon arrival. Great location next to koricancha temple, a short walk to the main plaza. Superior rooms are spacious, bathrooms on the small side but good Spanish showers. Breakfast is not bad and included with the room. They will prepare eggs to order for free. Wifi in the lobby only.

On the negative side, the bathroom had a sign that requested no toilet paper or sanitary towels in the toilet. Makes sense but we felt the trash cans were far too tiny to accommodate the extra waste. We asked for a taxi ride to the airport and they got us a couple cars that were really old and uncomfortable. I am sure they can do better than this but I can’t blame them since we made the request at the last moment.

I would stay with them again.

Room Tip: Get a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Prior to arriving, e-mails were answered quickly with all and any information asked for. Upon arrival the staff was so very helpful with any request. They arranged a tour guide for us on short notice, working day of our arrival into the next morning as we requested someone who spoke English. He was wonderful! Everything was clean. The included breakfast was more than adequate to start the day. We felt safe walking around the area at night as well as during the day. I believe some reviewers stated to bring ear plugs due to noise. We were on the second floor between the courtyard, which was lovely, and the street (no cars), and experienced no noise whatsoever. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janedalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Very nice little hotel, at a very nice location, near the Plaza de Armas, and just opposite the Santo Domingo (Qorikancha). We were first offered a room downstairs, opposite the restaurant area, but we changed it to the room upstairs on the 2nd floor, with the working fireplace(!). I guess that was the best room of the hotel, and cost only 30$ more. The room was nice and spacious, the only minus being that it was cold over there. It only had one heater, which simply wasn't enough to warm up such a big room properly. We should have asked for another heater, but we didn't then. Though I think we would have gotten one. On the 2nd day we also asked to have a fire at the fireplace, but they didn't have firewood atm (?!), but they promised to arrange some for tomorrow. So the service in this hotel was good, you always got what you asked for and the staff was friendly. Though all of them did not speak English (at all), so that was a minor minus. We managed with our bad Spanish but if you work in a hotel front desk, you should speak at least a little bit of English.. That's my opinion. The breakfast was good, pretty good selection of food; bread, yogurth, fruits, coffee, coca tee, etc. And one good thing is, that coca tee (with leaves) is offered 24/7 downstairs, so you can have a cup whenever you want. The place overall has a sympathetic feeling in it, and the atmosphere is nice. Wi-Fi didn't reach to our room, but was perfect just outside the room, on the corridor with the sofas. The fireplace btw did not work properly after all, the fire just didn't lit/burned properly, though we tried and tried (and we're from Finland, we have cabins, so we know how to lit a fireplace ;), so I guess they haven't done the chimney sweeping properly or smth. 'Cause otherwise it would have worked. I hope that in wintertime, when it's more colder there, they have done it, since it'd have brought nice warmth to the room (and a romantic feeling, of course). So the minus being that in the room it really was cold, it warmed just after one night and one day (and we had left a note on the door for the cleaning lady not to take the heater off!). But otherwise this was a very nice little hotel. I'd recommend.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BizarreGlobeHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 168 in Cusco
1,415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.4 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.3 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unaytambo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unaytambo Hotel

Property: Unaytambo Hotel
Address: Pasaje Romeritos Nro. 402, Cusco cuzc 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 168 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Unaytambo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Unaytambo, meaning in Quechua "Ancient Resting Place" a doorway to the history and culture of traditional Cusco, located on one of the city's principal streets next to Qorikancha "The Temple of the Sun" where inca walls remind us of the greatness of our ancestors, chowing the whole world the richness and history of our Imperial City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Unaytambo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing