We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough power sockets”
Review of Unaytambo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Unaytambo Hotel
Ranked #38 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Unaytambo is an historical building on an original Inca site which means that a.o. the entry door is original top quality Inca masonry. That is pretty cool. Also the rooms are still very much displaying the original old construction, wooden roof beams etc. Therefore the hotel is very atmospheric.

This however also means there are many steps and thresholds that can make you stumble, and that the wooden flooring sqeaks rather loudly when you walk on it at night. Also there are not enough power sockets for the modern mobile traveller who needs to charge all of his ipads, -pods and -phones overnight. This could easily be remedied by providing an extension cord in each room. The bathrooms are modern but rather small. There is electric heating in the rooms for the cold Cusco nights and mornings.

The service levels are very good, taxis booked come in time, have a decent safe car and the price agreed is actually also charged. Nataly also managed to get us a late reservation at the restaurant Chicha by Gaston which was pretty special. The breakfast is simple but ok, eggs are included, and it starts already at 5.30 which is handy for those going to Machu Picchu. They have water, beer and Inca Kola (which tastes like bubble gum) for a nominal price.

Wifi is included and fast, but there is not reception in every room. It was Ok in luxury room 203 but not in room 207. In room 207 we were also bothered by some street noise in the middle of the night, not so much in 203 but that may have been a coincidence.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

thanks very much for a wonderful stay in your lovely hotel. The staff was so helpful and friendly and made our stay really special. Our girls got sick and needed medical attention, thanks to the staff of Unaytambo a doctor came to the hotel, assessed the problem, wrote prescription etc. also advised the gentlemen on night duty that oxygen was necessary for one of our girls (this gentlemen seemed to be a little worried about our oxygen use .). The lovely big and spotless room made it more than bearable for us to change the itinerary and have a longer break than anticipated in the charming town of Cusco. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggy0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This was definitely the most unique hotel my friends and I stayed at in our recent visit to Peru as it's essentially attached to an archeological site and has a very rustic feel. Once we finally oriented ourselves to the city, we realized it was also a very good location, about 2 1/2 blocks from Plaza de Armas. The first few nights we stayed in a small bedroom with 3 twins on the right side of the courtyard which was fine, but close quarters. We returned after a 4-day hike to a beautiful, much larger, room on the opposide side of the courtyard with 2 twins and queen that had windows that opened up toward Qorikancha (I loved this room). The only other downside of our first room is that we could hear a lot of outside noise and there is a nightclub somewhere close by so bring your ear plugs if you are sensitive sound when trying to fall asleep. I didn't hear the same level of noise when we were on the otherside of the courtyard. In June it's definitely cold and there is no central heating but with space heaters and heavy blankets, you are nice and warm at night. The staff there was very friendly and accommodating, we left our luggage for days while we went hiking and we felt comfortable having them move it in and out of different rooms for us while we were gone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is in a historic building and has a lot of character - from the little lane you enter from to the courtyard (lovely place to sit under the sun) and the room itself with its thick plastered walls and deep wooden window. Comfortable warm bed. Clean - although we did get a beetle in a towel one night. Great shower - warm and good pressure (particularly wonderful after the Inca Trail). One of our lights didn't work as we couldn't find the switch and neither could the hotel staff, which was more funny than an issue. Our window faced the lane so sometimes had noise at night (parades of some form it sounded like) but didn't bother us too much.
Location is very good - right next to the spectacular Sun Temple, close to the square, and also close to lots of restaurants and 2 convenience stores.
Great breakfast - not a huge choice but what was there was good and eggs cooked to order.
Provided laundry - cheap and easy, but one time it wasn't completely dry so we had to use the hairdryer.
Brilliant staff - spoke very good English, very helpful. We did the Inca Trail in the middle of our stay - extremely smooth transfer of the luggage we left with them - in fact, we left them in our room and when we got back they'd already put them in our room again! On the last day, I wanted to go to an animal sanctuary I heard about and the lady called a friend to find out more about it and booked us a car to take us there and back.
Excellent choice in Cusco.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninoknus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We try to seek out hotels with a lot of character and charm--something we can't find anywhere else--and Hotel Unaytambo definitely qualifies. Loved the entrance off a pedestrian alley that has a real Incan wall, the historic building with crooked steps and slanted floors of the second story, the large triple room (Rm. 204) with its interesting layout and balcony overlooking the Temple of the Sun. The hotel has an amazingly good location, just a couple of blocks from the Plaza de Armas and across from the Temple of the Sun. It's an easy walk to restauarants and
all the fun parts of town.

For all these reasons, we were glad to stay here, but we did have some complaints. Most significantly, the bathroom smelled horrible--a sewage smell--and the smell never went away. We had to keep all drains closed and the door shut at all times, or the room would have been unusable. I don't know if this is a temporary issue (since I noticed another recent reviewer complaianed about this) or something that will continue to be a problem. For whatever it is worth, though, the hotel did give us a small discount on the bill when we raised the issue at check-out. They seemed surprised to hear about it, so maybe it is not an ongoing problem.

The beds were comfortable; wi-fi worked reasonably well; there was plenty of hot water; and the room had a safe. The room could have used more light. It also got fairly cold in the room (common problem in Peru), but they gave us an electric heater (which didn't help very much), and there were extra blankets, which did help. The shower was poorly designed and you have to turn off the water frequently to avoid flooding the bathroom. Breakfast was very good and included eggs cooked to order, but there are only four tables, which doesn't meet the need.

Given the issues with the hotel, I couldn't decide between a rating of 3 or 4, but there are enough good points about the hotel that I thought warranted the higher rating.

Room Tip: Room 204 is a superior quality quad room (can be used as a triple)--worth paying extra for the space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Picked this hotel out of the list mainly because of the great reviews and it did not disappoint us. Historic hotel across the street from the temple of the sun and the center of ancient Cusco. Rooms were clean, reasonable, and quiet. All rooms face a serene courtyard. Close to everything. The service and individual care are this boutique hotels best quality. Booked our Machu Picchu tour through Nataly at the front desk. She was excellent, organized, and very efficient. The tour price through the hotel was the same as you will find anywhere in the city ( 290.00/person for the 1 day whirlwind including the vista train which was well worth the extra 20.00/person ) and Nataly was actually waiting for us herself to take us back to the hotel when we got off the bus at the end of the day back in Cusco. Now that is service! Well done Unaytambo!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unknownrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We recently stayed here and the smell in our room was so bad we could not sleep. They are currently doing work in the courtyard in the samle complex as this hotel is situated and the rooms smell of human excrement. We were moved to a second room but the smell was no better. The staff were apologetic but the manager never followed up with us even though we left the hotel for the second night and stayed elsewhere. I highly recommend yo do not stay here until the work is complete and the smell has gone. It was a terrible experience. The Ramada Del Sol was much more pleasant, and not much more expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Abittare-Hotels
Abittare-Hotels
#65 of 171 in Cusco
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.4 mi away
Illa Hotel
Illa Hotel
#37 of 171 in Cusco
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unaytambo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unaytambo Hotel

Address: Pasaje Romeritos Nro. 402, Cusco cuzc 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £66 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Unaytambo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Unaytambo, meaning in Quechua "Ancient Resting Place" a doorway to the history and culture of traditional Cusco, located on one of the city's principal streets next to Qorikancha "The Temple of the Sun" where inca walls remind us of the greatness of our ancestors, chowing the whole world the richness and history of our Imperial City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Unaytambo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing