We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the most perfect place in Cuzco”
Review of Unaytambo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Unaytambo Hotel
Ranked #41 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely the most perfect place in Cuzco”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Why would you stay anyplace else? Unaytambo represents the best about Cuzco, and Peru. It's situated inside a historic Incan home, so each room is unique and historical. Even the showers, which overflow, are a nice historic touch.

Great free breakfast with eggs. Location can't be beat, 5 min walk south of the main square so you're not in the center of all the junk, but close.

One minor quibble would be that the wifi was not quite strong enough to Skype (we had baggage issues and needed to talk to the airline) but the hotel staff was more than happy to handle everything for us, and went above and beyond to make sure we got our belongings!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BDRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    80
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
104
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel has won service awards from TripAdvisor and I can understand why. The service and help from the staff was outstanding. Melvin particularly was lovely and most helpful but everyone on reception was always happily available to help in any way. They organised a complimentary pickup from the airport for me and on arrival was welcomed with local cocoa leaf tea as well as a lot of information about Cusco including a great map. Melvin arranged on my arrival a city tour for that day arranging for me to pay later which was convenient. The staff also recommended remedies for my upset stomach (after a got a bug on the flight over there, rather than actually when I was in South America!). They organised my washing, booked taxi’s to the Poroy train station (to catch my train to Aguas Calientes), helped dry my shoes which got saturated at Machu Picchu, helped me check in for my next flight, organised a massage for me (Francesco at Dreams was amazing – one of the best massages of my life!). As for the hotel itself it is very well located near the Santo Domingo plaza and a short walk to the Plaza de Armes. The hotel is built on old Inca foundations and has a pleasant courtyard. Rooms are comfortable, the showers have great hot water and there’s free wifi. Overall it was an outstanding experience and stay in Cusco and I recommend it highly. I would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham Road, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A fabulous little haven in the heart of Cusco. Great rooms, delightful staff willing to go the extra mile. Wifi was free and easily accessible, they happily stored our luggage for several days, the beds were very comfortable, with good quality linen. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks to Natalay and the other staff for a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe on Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We are traveling in Peru and have used this hotel as a base returning twice and staying four nights in total. The rooms are huge and fab. Warm, comfy, hot water. Wifi can be a bit dodgy but usually ok. Location fantastic. If you catch cusco without rain the courtyard is great (we didn't) Staff very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast . Would return but sadly probably not. I guess this will be a one-off South America trip! In puno now, travelling South

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddickinscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

very centrally situated - the rooms were in good condition however being on the first floor and the age of the building, the flloorboards creaked badly.
besides that, the room was most comfortable
the breakfast selection was one of the best that we found on our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. I appreciate this a 1700's hotel and the architecture and wood used is amazing, liked the courtyard and decorations. We upgraded to this hotel and looked forward to our 2 night stay in Cusco. Upon our arrival we found no bottled water in room, or soap or toiletries. Double bed only and windows open thank goodness for oil heater and warm blankets. Breakfast just ok coffee never hot 2 am's we were there. Our appreciation for locked front entrance and being able to leave some of our luggage while at Machu Picchu a plus! The market and main plaza and Santo Domingo Cathedral and museum were great. Had lunch where Mr GP was a star attraction! I felt the effects of altitude sickness while in Cusco even w/rx's and coca tea! Just take your time and enjoy this city with roots in history and cobblestone streets. Great shopping from high end to street sellers watch out when crossing the streets here though.

Room Tip: Don't choose room # 104 the window is on a narrow laneway and very noisy voices echo til late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunseekersToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in total. A first sight it is a small doorway in a passageway but what a surprise once past reception. There are only 16 rooms arranged around a small courtyard. We had room 4 upstairs. This was a beautifully designed and decorated large en-suite room with polished floorboards. The bed was large and comfortable. There were tables and chairs in the courtyard for an alfresco breakfast otherwise a room inside. The was coca tea on tap all day to help with altitude sickness. We were lucky in this respect that we only had mild breathlessness. There was a good choice for breakfast with an offer of cooked eggs. WiFi was free but worked better at ground level. There was a small window overlooking an important church containing Inca ruins. The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the main square and restaurants and 10 from the crafts market. We went to Agua Calientes for Macchu Pichu and came back for another night staying in room 3, this was just as good as the previous room. We loved the ambience of this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 3 and 4 are good for a view and people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve_e_hewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Marqueses
Hotel Los Marqueses
#56 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tambo del Arriero Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruinas
Hotel Ruinas
#50 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Del Sol Ramada Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unaytambo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unaytambo Hotel

Property: Unaytambo Hotel
Address: Pasaje Romeritos Nro. 402, Cusco cuzc 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Unaytambo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Unaytambo, meaning in Quechua "Ancient Resting Place" a doorway to the history and culture of traditional Cusco, located on one of the city's principal streets next to Qorikancha "The Temple of the Sun" where inca walls remind us of the greatness of our ancestors, chowing the whole world the richness and history of our Imperial City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Unaytambo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing