We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else!”
Review of Andenes al Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Andenes al Cielo
Ranked #7 of 365 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“Don't stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in May and it was amazing. The service was brilliant, with the staff always willing to help. The local knowledge was a big plus, we got to try a lot of non-touristy restaurants and great day trips (all you need to do is ask the staff).

We stayed in a deluxe room which although is not comparable to a 5 star hotel, has character and is built using local methods. The rooms were very spacious with fabulous open beam ceilings and a fireplace for chilly nights.

We will definitely stay here again if we find ourselves back in Peru. Can't recommend it enough. Great central spot, beautiful hotel. Wish there were more like it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieFinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    130
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
104
208
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I've been in Peru six times and stayed in many grand and not so grand places. My wife and I found the Andenes al Cielo by walking around and checking out different accomodations on our month long trip to Cusco. The hotel was absolutely beautiful, and we immediately checked out of our prior accomodations and moved here. The owner Tony was super friendly, and the Hotel Manager, Javier met every need. The hotel is completely renovated with just enough American touches to meet all of your comfort needs. The beds are extremely cosy with down comforters, a great touch during the cold nights. The staff always smiles and the grounds are immaculate. The courtyard is beautiful, as is the rooftop terrace with a panoramic view of Cusco.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coryclimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We were lucky to find this hotel on tripadvisor.com. We liked it so much, we extended our stay in Cusco!

We stayed here for a little over a week. It is a wonderful hotel--clean, quiet, safe, charming, excellent location, wonderful service. The breakfast is delicious (fresh fruit, eggs, bread). We would highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theamericannomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We found a gem of a hotel that had only been open 4 days when we stayed there. There were some final preparations being completed and this still was an excellent hotel! The American owners, Tony and Monica, were extremely helpful and are a wealth of knowledge about local restaurants, daily tours, sights to see and generally everything Peruvian. They and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a fantastic time in Cuzco. They even stored our excess baggage while we did the 4-day Inca Trail hike.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silver_weasel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2010

When we were looking for a hotel for our vacation in Cusco, a friend recommended the Andenes al Cielo. We contacted them, and it turned out that the hotel had not even officially opened, but the owner was so generous and invited us to come stay a few days before opening. The hotel itself is stunning -- it is newly renovated with gorgeous stone and wood accents. There is also a terrace on the top floor that opens to a view of the whole town that guests can use. The rooms were very clean -- they were also newly renovated so everything is in great condition and the beds were SO comfortable.

Though the accommodations were wonderful, I think we were most impressed with the staff at the hotel. We assumed that since we were staying at the hotel before it opened, the staff would be preoccupied with other tasks and we shouldn't expect the same amenities of a hotel that was open for business. That was not at all the case, and from the time we landed in Cusco, the hotel staff arranged transportation for us, recommended great places to visit and eat, and helped us find our way around. They also serve a complimentary breakfast for guests.

The location is also perfect - it is just a block or so away from the center of the town, and an easy walk to anywhere you want to get.

If we go to Cusco again, we definitely plan to stay here, and I'd highly recommend it. It is a great value for the price, and the people working at the hotel were wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachtraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

My husband and I were the first official guests at this new hotel, and it quickly came to feel like a home away from home. We stayed for seven nights in total, split into two nights (then Inca Tail), two nights (then Tambopata), then three nights (before returning home).

The service was excellent. As mentioned by other people, Javier is doing a great job as manager. His english is superb, and nothing was too much trouble. He helped us out with restaurant and shopping recommendations and arranged taxis as and when we needed them. He also made us feel that our luggage was very secure at the hotel while we were off enjoying other trips.

We were lucky enough to be able to stay in both deluxe rooms (of which there are two) during our stay. They are gorgeous. High ceilings, wooden floors and two comfortable beds in each room. En-suites are compact but have everything that you need, and there is plenty of hot water. The architecture throughout the hotel is lovely and it's amazing what the owners have been able to achieve - there are photos on the computer (in the lounge) of what the site looked liked before/during construction. Awesome job guys!

A light buffet breakfast is included in the price and included yoghurt, fruits, bread, cheese and eggs. Cocoa tea is always available to help you adjust to the altitude. My husband and I self-catered (well - wine, cheese, crackers) a couple of times, and the hotel staff had no trouble in providing us with wine glasses and plates. We had a fabulous time sitting on the terrace, admiring the birds eye view of Cusco, while enjoying some South American vino.

The hotel is based in the San Blas district and ideally located for walking to the Plaza de Armas (central square). It's an easy walk, and takes about 5 minutes. Restaurants and shops are all within a minute or two of the hotel.

Liked best: location, service, rooms, value for money, friendly staff
Liked least: nothing - all was great! At a stretch, I'd just say that you are staying in a city, and that it's a city that likes to have fun (so it may not always be quiet). This goes for any hotel in Cusco though!

Highly recommended and superb value for money!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydee-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, NY
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

My wife and I spent four nights in the penthouse apartment. It is very comfortable, and as previous reviewers have stated, San blas is a great area. It is within walking distance of many good restaurants, and the Plaza Armas. Noise is no issue whatsoever. Javier is a great manager, and will help you with any issues or needs you have. When the inn is open for regular business this month (April), it will be an even better experience for travellers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlaakso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 168 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 168 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andenes al Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andenes al Cielo

Property: Andenes al Cielo
Address: 176 Calle Choquechaca | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Andenes al Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Andenes al Cielo, a boutique hotel situated in the charming artisan’s district of San Blas, in historic Cusco. A short two blocks from the main plaza, our comfortable and well-appointed 15 rooms offer a distinctive level of comfort combined with an Andean hospitality that will inspire a truly memorable stay. We invite you to enjoy our hotel’s colonial ambiance, modern amenities and many custom services tailored to your travel needs. Our friendly staff awaits you here in the imperial city of the ancient Inca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Andenes al Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andenes Al Cielo Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing