We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Comfort Hostels

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Comfort Hostels
Ranked #184 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Great hostel with heaps of private rooms/ensuites, a rooftop terrace, a small courtyard, large TV room with heaps of comfortable sofas and a well stocked kitchen. This hostel also has an onsite bar, tour desk, heaps of lockers and friendly staff. We stayed here before and after our Machu Picchu trek and would definately recommend it. It was very convenient with a supermarket, bottleshop and pharmacy just 2 blocks away and close enough to the center (about a 5min walk). The hostel was incredibly clean and really just a great place to relax and chill out while in Cusco. Our breakfast (bread, coffee, pancakes) was included with our room, and several nights they cooked some great bbq's for a very low cost (between 10 - 15soles) and offered free tea all day long.

Room Tip: We recommend you spend the extra few dollars for your own private room with ensuite. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This place is tops.
Sure, it isn't in the center but it allows you to really check out the city, rather then only 3 blocks around the Plaza.
I booked a Salkantay trek through the hostel and was very impressed. There was always another guest or staff member wanting to go on the daily morning hikes into the mountains surrounding to prepare us for our trek.
The beds were comfortable and the showers hot. The staff always had a smile and kept the place clean.
I stayed at a few places in the center and welcomed the 10 minute walk to this hostel.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Surely the best hostel during our 2-week trip in Peru. Great hot showers, large and clean dorms (we stayed in a matrimonial room w/ private bathroom), you can leave your bags after checkout at no cost while waiting for your bus/flight or while being out for some trekking excursion. I considered it safe as it is always closed from inside. Fair price for a private room (30 USD in Jun/12). It is a lit bit far from the main square (10 min walking to plaza de armas), which I prefer, since I wanted to be far from the crowds. I really recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

It was a great place to meet people! There´s a nice bar inside (over priced pisco sours), television with CNN and other american channels! The BEST part of it: Breakfast!! Unlimited Pancakes!!! strawberries, bananas, chocolate and sirup!
We had 2 stays there (not because we loved it, but because it was all booked in advance), our first was in the 12 bed dorm (called LIMA)... which STUNK! and people walked in and out at all hours of the night! The second stay was for 2 nights and a 6bed dorm (called PUNO) ALOT better! we liked!
We lost a few things in the shared fridge, but we had enough space to cook and store our things!
The TV room was awesome! Large screen TV and couches...
there's only one public computer.
The staff is super friendly and the little dog Belli is adorable (always starving... please feed her!)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

The facility was adequate with extensive common area, but located on the edge of town in a tough area. The all-u-can-eat pancake breakfast (really crepes with jam, chocolate sauce, coffee) was the highlight - they even threw in some eggs if you asked. However I would deem this a "youth" hostel geared more toward the college crowd. Not a great place for families - pretty loud and boisterous at night. The bathrooms were not clean, with plugged drains, dirty and cracked tile, etc. The rooms were large and quiet and the beds were excellent. The manager was a disinterested young man who spoke no Spanish, and could not provide a speck of local information or assistance.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

From the moment we walked in the door we knew Southern Comfort was the place for us. They have comfortable beds, great kitchen, fun bar, and cool people working there. The only thing maybe for some people is that It's not in the center but we found that to be a plus, as we often visited friends in other "party hostels" and we were very happy to know we had peace to come home to. And they offer EGGS OR PANCAKES for breakfast - everyday.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crawlinround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling!
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

a great hostel, pity its a little out of the centre
the hostel is clean, and friendly, with dvd and cable tv but it wasnt very full when we were there so it is laking a bit in atmosphere!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciafromIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#104 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Loreto Boutique Hotel
Loreto Boutique Hotel
#28 of 401 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#158 of 401 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.4 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#9 of 401 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Ananta Family House
Casa Ananta Family House
#57 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Hostels

Property: Southern Comfort Hostels
Address: Pasaje Esmeralda 177 | (Past Puente Grau), Cusco N/A, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing