We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Posada del Viajero Hostal
Ranked #8 of 463 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location and great price”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I recommend you email this hostel and ask for the price. It's worth 50 soles without breakfast (not necessary you have lot's of markets nearby) and that´s it. The wifi doesn't work and only one of the computers available did work. The first night we stayed there I showered but when my boyfriend went to use the shower there was not hot water, so he didn't. When we returned from Machu Picchu we had to change room because it had bugs in it, but the other room was nice, it was OK, The shower worked properly and that was the most important thing.
It has a small ktichen, but I found that the dishes were not very clean, so we bought small yougurts and passed...The persons that worked on the reception weren't very bright... Though if you valance location, and everything else it's worth going

Room Tip: Private room, find one that's been recently renovated. They have good restrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana clara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    203
    61
    8
    4
See reviews for
114
102
47
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The best thing about this hostel is location (and price, 50 soles) its just a 2 blocks from the main plaza and it's in a very safe place of the city.
They have 3 free computers but only one works well, however they have a very decent wifi.
It's a nice place if you want to save money, but is more like a cheap hotel than a hostel, because there aren't dorms, just private rooms (for 2, 3 or 4 people) and there isn't many interaction with the other guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monte_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Although Cusco can be very expensive, this hostel is not. The location is great, just some blocks far from the main plaza. There are some free computers in the living room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliannaCaycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Actually, I would score this hostel 3.5 out of 5.0, very good for backpackers. The hostel is very well located, just two corners away from Plaza de Armas. It has a communal kitchen and plenty of free computers to navigate anytime. The two things I did not like at all were the fact of struggling with sporadic hot showers and the insufferable noise echoing from other places apparently within the hostel. The owner (or manager) is friendly and very helpful (probably not the same opinion about the rest of the staff). It is a convenient and good choice for tight budgets.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliancho79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 169 in Cusco
1,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Viajero Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Viajero Hostal

Property: La Posada del Viajero Hostal
Address: Santa Catalina Ancha 366 | One Block Away From the Main Square, Cusco 084, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 463 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada del Viajero Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada Del Viajero is a hotel with rooms for one to six people, all of them with private bathroom and hot water. It also has Wi Fi, computers with internet, breakfast included, kitchen, laundry service, security box, tourist information. It is located one block away from the main square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your La Posada del Viajero Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Viajero Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing