We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, awesome hot showers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Posada del Viajero
Ranked #7 of 379 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 11 nights and I must say the room was very clean, the shower was hot and the wifi was great for Peru! The staff were so kind, very helpful and generally just a pleasure to say good morning to every day.
The location of this hotel is fantastic for the price, I believe totally worth it.
Enjoy Cuzco, it's a wonderful city to just lose days in....

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SouthAmericanOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPosadaDelViajero, Gerente at La Posada del Viajero, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you so much for such nice words, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you keep on having a great journey in South America.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for La Posada del Viajero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Antonella is the best host you can have!! She helps you with everything you need and she is always smily! The hostel is great, the rooms are clean and breakfast is good. I recommend this hostel without hesitation!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nickgwen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPosadaDelViajero, Gerente at La Posada del Viajero, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Wwooowww, thank you so much for such a nice comment, it's very easy to smile when you are surrounded by beautiful people, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best. You are missed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

It was a really great place to stay in Cusco, close to the history center of the city. Easy to go to lots of places everything walking distance. Everybody in the hostel is super friendly and you feel confort being there and safe. I recommend La Posada del Viajero Hostal!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPosadaDelViajero, Gerente at La Posada del Viajero, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you... you are missed... came back soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The most helpful staff we encountered in all of Peru, clean and comfortable, rooms were very noisy however.The location is great if you want to be close to the main square, and the shower was actual hot water...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwenmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPosadaDelViajero, Gerente at La Posada del Viajero, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you so much, we hope to have you back with us when you came back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I recommend you email this hostel and ask for the price. It's worth 50 soles without breakfast (not necessary you have lot's of markets nearby) and that´s it. The wifi doesn't work and only one of the computers available did work. The first night we stayed there I showered but when my boyfriend went to use the shower there was not hot water, so he didn't. When we returned from Machu Picchu we had to change room because it had bugs in it, but the other room was nice, it was OK, The shower worked properly and that was the most important thing.
It has a small ktichen, but I found that the dishes were not very clean, so we bought small yougurts and passed...The persons that worked on the reception weren't very bright... Though if you valance location, and everything else it's worth going

Room Tip: Private room, find one that's been recently renovated. They have good restrooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana clara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The best thing about this hostel is location (and price, 50 soles) its just a 2 blocks from the main plaza and it's in a very safe place of the city.
They have 3 free computers but only one works well, however they have a very decent wifi.
It's a nice place if you want to save money, but is more like a cheap hotel than a hostel, because there aren't dorms, just private rooms (for 2, 3 or 4 people) and there isn't many interaction with the other guests.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monte_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Although Cusco can be very expensive, this hostel is not. The location is great, just some blocks far from the main plaza. There are some free computers in the living room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EliannaCaycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 170 in Cusco
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 479 in Cusco
1,426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 479 in Cusco
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Viajero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Viajero

Address: Santa Catalina Ancha 366 | Cusco City Centre, Cusco 084, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £32 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada del Viajero 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada Del Viajero is a hotel with rooms for one to six people, all of them with private bathroom and hot water. It also has Wi Fi, computers with internet, breakfast included, kitchen, laundry service, security box, tourist information. It is located one block away from the main square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your La Posada del Viajero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Viajero Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing