We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Safe location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacaranda Inn Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacaranda Inn Hostel
Ranked #212 of 388 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Tweed Heads, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Safe location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Booked for 1 night but ended staying 5 nights,the staff were very friendly wit lots of good tips and advice about Cusco.The hostel is located just 2 blocks from the plaza and is a very quiet,relaxed place with warm comfy beds,good hot showers and excellent wi-fi in the rooms.
Good alue for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwills222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

the hostel bears no resemblance to the pictures or reviews on this site, all I can imagine is that they have seriously let themselves go. There are no common areas, all the courtyards are full of junk and open to the elements (many other hostels in the area have sensible put roofs on theirs to enable them to be used all year round). Our room was cold, with damp patches on the wall and a hole in the floor right outside the door. There was at least hot water in the shower but it was temperamental to say the least.
The worst thing was the staff - we arrived at a weekend and the staff on seemed to know nothing about the hotel. They were unable to give us the password for the wifi, there was no breakfast, which was supposed to be included, they locked the door and left reception unattended for hours at a time, which meant that we often had to wait outside banging on the door for ages for someone to let us back in. The bathroom wasn't cleaned for the whole weekend, which meant the bin was overflowing with soiled tissues.
A woman appeared on Monday, who appeared to be the manager, and things got slightly better, but there is no escaping the fact that this hostel is a far cry from what the reviews suggest and there are plenty of other better hostels in the same price bracket in the area.
Avoid!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Great central location 2 blocks from the plaza. Janina was super friendly and helpful, other staff were fine. Basic breakfast included, we paid 50 soles for double room w shared bathroom. Bed and bathroom were clean, hot water was great. Bedroom floor was slightly dirty. Free wifi was good, great reception in our room. Dont expect a good tv room, its in the kitchen area w no couches only chairs. No problems at all.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RevTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

The staff are really helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help us. The rooms are of a really good standard, the beds comfortable and the bathrooms clean with good showers,excellent wi fithrough out entire hostel.We felt confident in leaving our belongings at the hostel whilst we went on the trek and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0rgan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Pretty and interesting building, nice big rooms with bedside lamps and comforters, big, clean bathrooms, ok common area with lots of tables and a couch and tv. Only problem was the service. Everyone was friendly but unhelpful. The breakfast was simple and slow, despite the fact that there were 2 people working on breakfast for 4 (and the juice was awful and served warm, which the staff claimed was normal). We wanted to watch tv one night but the owner's daughter, who was really just playing with her cellphone, had taken the whole couch and control of the remote. All in all, though, it was a very pleasant, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKS-MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

located just 2 minutes walk from the plaza with friendly staff,comfortable rooms,hot showers,fast wi-fi,free breakfast.very relaxed and quiet hostel.excellent value and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mriagnzls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The staff were the most friendly and helpful. Rooms were a good size and very clean, beds were comfortableand warm. Internet was fast and reliable including wifi.hot showers,nice breakfast and just 2 minutes from the plaza.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Loreto Boutique Hotel
Loreto Boutique Hotel
#30 of 388 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#105 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#157 of 388 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Ananta Family House
Casa Ananta Family House
#54 of 334 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 388 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Inn Hostel

Property: Jacaranda Inn Hostel
Address: Pasaje Santa Rosa B-2, Cusco Cusc 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 388 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacaranda Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacaranda Inn Hostel has comfortable quiet rooms, located in the traditional and tourist safe San Blas neighborhood just 4 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, bars and restaurants. We offer single, double, triple rooms and comfortable and pleasant with shared bathroom. Facilities include, Internet + Wi-Fi in rooms, courtyard room, 24 hours hot shower, storage room, laundry service and breakfast service. The hostel is 5 minutes from the main square, 15 minutes driving from Cusco Airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing