We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable..But smelly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacaranda Inn Hostel
Ranked #178 of 461 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable..But smelly”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We booked to stay in this hostel for 4 nights, and if not for our trip to Machu Picchu in between we would have definitely not stayed there for that long. Only due to our two days away did we actually stay.

We had a Double Room with Ensuite and although the bed was very comfortable the smell coming from the bathroom was uncomfortable to the point that we had to wash our teeth outside of the room before running in to wash our mouth and brush. Under no circumstances should that be the case in any accommodation no matter how cheap. The smell was an extremely strong smell of sewage, and was unbearable.

Also, when booking online it says it has Wi-Fi, and on our arrival we tried, and it didnt work.

Maybe we were just unlucky and got the bad room, but I would not take the chance and return to this hostel at another time. If I were you I you could find somewhere equally as comfortable, for a similar price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Yoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sandiego
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Lovely place. The owner is really friendly and it was a homely place to stay. Good hot showers and fast wi fi through out.We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Good location close to everything,nice big rooms that were spotless with a real hot shower,not a party hostel but quiet and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Good place to stay just 2 minutes walk from Plaza de Armas, so easy access to everything. Our room was clean, breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hostel did not appear busy so not many people around but that was good for peace and quiet. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepsi772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2012

2 owners are very friendly and helpful, but other employees are crap to be honest. Don't put your expectation too high, it's close to the centre, quiete and clean room (the floor is very squeaky which is a kind of standard in Cuzco).

The employees are extremely unfriendly and lack of hospitality amazingly . They need be trained a bit or the owners should rise their wage if it's necessary.

You need to confirm everything twice for ensure quality. If you have a problem, talk to the owners at the reception.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirukikutaberu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Jacaranda Inn was a great place to stay - a home away from home.The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel was clean and had a lot of character. A big plus is you actually get sleep! A lot of people going out on our Inca trail trip complained that their hostels were too noisy and they had not slept. It is a 2 minute walk from Plaza but there are no hills and Cusco is very safe to walk around. We stayed here again when we came back from the Inca trail. Definitely recommend as a chill out place - you can always pop into town if you want to dance or party.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodgy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

A great place to stay. Owned by a very helpful and friendly woman. In a good location, easy walk to main square, market etc. The water was always hot, the Internet worked perfectly with a strong signal, and they served a wonderful breakfast each morning. Rooms are well equipped with warm blankets aand clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#164 of 461 in Cusco
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#125 of 168 in Cusco
82 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#54 of 365 in Cusco
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#67 of 461 in Cusco
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 461 in Cusco
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Inn Hostel

Property: Jacaranda Inn Hostel
Address: Pasaje Santa Rosa B-2, Cusco Cusc 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 461 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacaranda Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacaranda Inn Hostel has comfortable quiet rooms, located in the traditional and tourist safe San Blas neighborhood just 4 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, bars and restaurants. We offer single, double, triple rooms and comfortable and pleasant with shared bathroom. Facilities include, Internet + Wi-Fi in rooms, courtyard room, 24 hours hot shower, storage room, laundry service and breakfast service. The hostel is 5 minutes from the main square, 15 minutes driving from Cusco Airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing