We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a nice hostel and the host is really helpful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
Ranked #50 of 398 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed in cusco for several days and this hostel was just like our home. The host helped us to handle lots of problems! Our vacation would be a nightmare without her! Thanks you, Mama. This hostel will be my first choice in Cusco!! It's really really nice!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Szc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercedesCusco, Propietario at Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you very much, we are pleased that you have appreciated the quality of our service.
Our goal is to make our guests feel comfortable, family and to enjoy their sightseeing in our región.We appreciate the effort that means coming from as far away and only want your trip repays this your effort .We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we have helped a little bit to this happen.
Will be a pleasure to serve you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Mercedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We were pick up from the airport free of charge and on time. As soon as we arrived to the hostel, we were provided with coca tea. Our room was spacious and clean. The hostel was very quiet and comfortable. Although we only stayed a few hours at the hostel, the bathroom (small) provided us with consistent hot water and toiletries. The beds were comfortable and surrounding neighborhood safe.

The hostel is outside of the tourist area. It's 30-45 min walk to Plaza de Armas. It could be good since prices are significantly cheaper on everything outside of plaza de Armas. Also we only stayed 5 hours at the hostel but still had to pay the full price which is understandable but a discount would of been nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmeza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I have been a guest several times at Casa de Mama .....in Cusco Peru...and has a been wonderful everytime. During my stay...can only be decribed as outstanding. The rooms are spacious..very clean...conforty with quiet surroundings.Great hospitality.Breakfast is superb. I was treated by the staff with most courtesy and respect...I highly reccomend Casa de Mama. It is a place you will always want to come back too. I also want to thank the owner Mrs.Mercedes Aguilar for making my stay a most pleasureable experience. ....Sincerely....HIldelisa bello....

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisabello22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My crew and I (4 men) stayed at Casa Mama in Cusco. We were greeted with a warm welcome from Mama herself. She immediately books us a complete roundtrip package to Machu Picchu (shuttle to train station, round trip train first class to Aguascalientes, shuttle to the entrance to Machu Picchu, entrance to the Inca Ruins and the trek up the Huanapichu "the rock" she got us the best rates in town. The hotel is nice and clean, the staff is very nice. The room we stayed in was big with 4 twin beds and hot water showers. The comp breakfast was great. Cab ride to the center is 5 minutes for 10 soles.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The owner/manager worked hard to make us feel welcome. Our room was somewhat cluttered, with a very small bathroom that was sub-par for cleanliness. Despite advertising free airport pick-up and drop-off, we ended up paying for the pre-arranged ride to the bus terminal. Breakfast was very basic, much more limited than all other "hostals" we stayed at. Overall, this was not a bad experience but we would certainly look for alternatives.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercedesCusco, Propietario at Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Unfortunatly it was a misunderstanding, we never promised a free drop service, we usually offer the pick-up service from the asirport for free as a courtesy of us, we have very low prices and excellent service, so would be imposible to offer many thing for free.
Thank you for appreciated the service of our staff.
We offer milk, just made coffee, home made jam, fire baked breads, butter and fresh fruits juice every day, fresh eggs, fried or scrambled according to each guest, so sorry it was not enought.
Kind regards
Mercedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We enjoyed our week at the hotel "Casa de Mama 2" very much, it was clean, the staff friendly and the location ok. (a bit away from the centre but not too far)
After a week we booked a tour from Cusco to Puno (incl. two days and a night on the Titicaca Lake) that tour isn`t recommendable to book at her place. We hardly got any information about what exactly we were going to do and have to take along. When we asked, she told us the man, who will pick us up in Puno will give us more information. We only saw the man about 5 minutes when he came too late to pick us up and brought us to a really really cheap hostel for the night. After that we were always picked up by another person we didn`t know and we never exactly knew what was next. (so we didn't have the hiking shoes, flashlights, enough water,...) Between the tour we had to wait with our lugage for four hours in the lobby (because we didn't have a room there anymore) of the hotel until someone showed up and told us what was next (another two hours waiting). Then we had to pay 20 Soles so we could take a quick shower befor getting on the nightbus.
The bus that afterwards should have brought us to Arequipa in the morning at 5 or six as she said was much earlier at 3.30 and the Sleeping Bus with beds turned out to be a Bus with semicamas. (we got the feeling they promise you the best and try to make some more money by giving you the cheapest)
The actual tour was nice, but the information and what you got for your money definitely wasn`t enough. But still I absolutely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercedesCusco, Propietario at Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

We really apreciate that you enjoy aour little hotel, we really put our effort to make your experience in Cusco unique.
We asre very dissapointed about some troubles in your tour to Puno. Althought the tour was really nice as you said, some another things made your trip not complete nice. We already moved those people that were not so clear with the explanation and in the quality of their service.
Thank you so much for spending some minutes of your time to rewie us.
We also loved your stay with us.
Mercedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Although my sister, her 6-year old son, and myself only stayed at Casa de Mama 2 for a day and overnight on our way to Aguas Calientes, Mercedes welcomed us as if we were family.

Mercedes immediately offered us tea to help us adjust to the altitude of Cusco and she provided us with information about taxi rates and various tours to consider.

We had made a late reservation request, but the room Mercedes arranged for us was absolutely perfect for anyone travelling with children as it was very spacious and clean. It was also nice that our keys could open the front security door so that we could come and go as we pleased.

While the location of Casa de Mama 2 is relatively close to the airport and bus terminal, it is quite far from the Plaza de Armas - however catching a 4/5 soles taxi easily solves this inconvenience. I did have a problem connecting with the 3 wi-fi networks provided and this was my one and only smallest concern.

In the 20 days I have been in Peru, I have not met anyone else who blends professionalism and comfort as genuinely as Mercedes does. You can't help but feel like you're at home.

Thank you Mercedes for taking care of me and my family, even if it was ever so brief (:

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercedesCusco, Propietario at Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you so much for these words, we were very pleased to meet you and to accomodate you in our home, where the families could find confortable , clean and big rooms with familiar atmosphere and good service and we are happy that you have apreciatted it.
As you know, on rainny days the signal could be weak, now everything is ok! but we would like to apolize with you for the trubles that this situation could disturb your stay.
We invite you to come again in the near future.
Kind regards
Mercedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
1.3 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
0.9 mi away
Hostal Atlantis
Hostal Atlantis
#27 of 398 in Cusco
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kay Pacha Hostal
Kay Pacha Hostal
#51 of 398 in Cusco
27 reviews
1.4 mi away
In Casita
In Casita
#47 of 398 in Cusco
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#57 of 398 in Cusco
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse

Address: Av Infancia 548, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 398 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £17 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing