We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place”

Madison Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madison Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #139 of 379 Cusco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2013

the location is good,very close to the center and with the high prices for the hotels in Cusco this b&b have a great price for what they offers,great breakfast and very clean,the staff is wonderfull,very very helpful in all the information that you need i really reccomended

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajeros625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Madison Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great location in so many ways. It's located near the main city gems and just a few minutes walk from the station where you leave for Machu Picchu but still surprisingly quiet and peaceful. But my favorite part (even better than the amazing showers!) was the staff. They put up with my poor Spanish and spoke flawless English with me, always having an answer to my questions about the area or getting it to me quickly if they didn't have it. The other reviews that say they make you feel right at home couldn't be more accurate. I look forward to visiting this lovely place again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The staff at the Madison Hostal were extremely helpful. They had great restaurant recommendations and were always happy to help with directions. They even made my friend coca tea multiple times because he was not doing well with the altitude. The location was good. It was about a ten minute walk to the main square. The rooms were basic and clean. We lucked out and had a balcony, which was very spacious and had a nice view of the city at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Nice little hostel close to town centre (important unless you want to spend your time on taxis and depend on find one).

The advantages are in my opinon:
- The friendly treatment from stuff, making you feel like home.
- Affordable price, well located and clean
- Decent breakfast in spite of the little buffet. Not many choices, so you will miss something most likely, but you're not in a 4*, 5* hotel...
- Nice flat TV screen (I didn't use it that much anyway) and wifi available.
- Free hot drinks in the reception.

The disadvantages I perceived:
- I would reconsider going there between May and July, as the hotel windows are not well sealed. In the main room you will have an electric heater and you can bury yourself in warm blankets, but the bathroom is a fridge at night. The floor ceramic tiles do not help neither to be warm.
- Sounds of cars and horns due to this bad sealed windows will get easily to your ears, specially in the mornings.
- The curtains do not block sun rays if you want to sleep. Who wants to spend the day sleeping in Cuzco anyway...
- No safe box in the room, however they claim to be a safe place to be honest.
- Early check out (9-10am) might be another inconvenience.

Room Tip: The rooms close to front door are noisy, so probably another one in the back would be better.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leg0las
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed there three nights in February.  The entire hostal is a model of cleanliness.  Nothing seemed dated.  Beautiful room furnishing.  This feels like a three and a half to four star hotel.  The hostal is located one street away from the main drag (less noise) and a mere four blocks from the historical center Plaza de Armas.

My room (#30) is surprisingly spacious and has floor to ceiling window overlooking a narrow park.  Rooms are refreshed daily.  Hot water and good water flow.  My room included a portable radiant heater and extra blanket.  (Evenings in Cusco are chilly).  Mate de coca tea (and other flavors) readily available anytime in the lobby.

Breakfast is "sumptuous" - for a place including breakfast.  Nice thick hot coffee.  Toast n eggs if you like.  Cereal, liquid yogurt, fresh juice and fruits.  Sliced deli meat and cheese.

Fabulous and helpful staff running the place.  Tightly run ship yet warm.  They'll tell you where you can eat and other pointers.  Great WiFi signals with repeaters on each floor.  One of the few setup done right.  Secure facility.

Right adjacent is a travel and booking service - Export Tour.  They will gladly arrange your Machu Picchu entrance tickets and bus/train to Agua Calientes (the base from where Machu Picchu tour begins).  Everything is explained clearly to make your trip go smoothly.  Convenient one stop service next door.

I will return there in a heartbeat.

In Peru - a hostal denotes a place with less than 15 rooms.  More than 15 is designated a hotel.  Typically to most travelers, we recognize the distinction between hostel, hostal and hotel.  Hostel typically is the cheapest conventional form of lodging.  (I'm not talking about AirBnB or Couchsurfing).  Hostel infers bunking dormitory style, tho many offer private rooms.  Hostal infers (in other places) one or two star "hotels".  And finally - hotels themselves run the gamut.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtles_Dragonfles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

After traveling to Machu Picchu for the day, I was looking forward to getting a shower and good night sleep. This was my first stay at a hostal, and it was very nice. The room was clean and we had a private bathroom. The only negative was that we were only supplied with hand and bath towels, no wash/face cloths which made showering very interesting. Also we took our showers before going to bed, which was good because in the morning, we did not have hot water to wash our faces. We arrived late in the night and left early in the morning to catch our flight back to Lima. So, I do not know if dinner or breakfast is offered. It was inexpensive and served the purpose of having a clean place to sleep and shower. So, if you need a place for a short stay, I would recommend this hostal. It is also away from the busy center of the hotel district in Cusco and whatever bars in that area, which is a major plus. We were able to sleep without outside loud noises. The owner will call and arrange a taxi for you to the airport.

Note: Be sure to hang onto the white paper returned to you by immigration because you will need it to register at the hostal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayshelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

it is a nice and new hotel, nice and comfortable rooms.

Staff was very helpful and kind.

Rooms were nice and comfortable.

hot water always.

Some of the staff speak English.

Very well located but kind of noisy during early mornings

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#170 of 478 in Cusco
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#125 of 170 in Cusco
82 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#52 of 379 in Cusco
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 478 in Cusco
553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#65 of 478 in Cusco
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Bed & Breakfast

Address: Av Pardo 721, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small, central family-run hotel is located close to many sights, including Cusco’s main plaza and the Incan Temple of the Sun (Koricancha or Dominican Convent). Excellent souvenir shopping is just two blocks away at the famous Indian Market. Restaurants, bars, museums and famous landmarks are all within close walking distance. The hotel is located in a calm, safe, and quiet area and offers a friendly retreat to travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing