We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite, nice views, central location”
Review of Amazon Hostal

Amazon Hostal
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amazon Hostal
Ranked #156 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
208 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Quite, nice views, central location”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I have stayed here for one night. It is located in a small street near San Blaas church. you can't go to the hostel by car. Room was o.k. with view over Cuzco. Coca tea was offered at arrival. I had to leave in the early morning and the Hostal arranged the taxi, which arrived on time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was our first trip to Peru and we were very excited about our stay at this hostel. The view is fantastic from the room. When we became aware of the prices other hotels charged we lost a bit of our excitement. The staff was very friendly and helpful but the owner is neither helpful nor friendly. The rooms are clean but that is about all you can say about them. Nights in Cusco in July are cold cold cold and the rooms have small electric radiators that do not affect the temperature in the slightest. We also scheduled the Lares Trek through this hotel. Again we over paid for the services rendered. Other tour operators offer more for less. We were under the impression that the price we paid included all meal and tickets because that is what the email we received stated. However, meals on the last day were not included and the bus ticket to and from Machu Picchu was not included. Furthermore, our guide was not prepared for the conditions of the mountain. He told us that he had been out with his friends all night before our trek and so he slept in the van for the four hour drive to the start of the trek. Upon awakening he said “wow I’ve never seen this much snow before.” It had apparently been snowing an unusual amount in the days leading up to our trek and while I do understand that they cannot control the weather, they can prepare for it and be aware of it. Our “guide” had no idea of the condition of the mountain or the trails we would be using. Our sleeping bags that we rented were warm weather bags and the nights in the mountains dropped well below freezing. We crossed through a mountain pass that was covered in two feet of snow. Again not a problem had we been prepare for it but our guide told us very specifically that we would not need walking sticks of any kind. Everyone in our group fell multiple times trying to cross that pass. Our guide seemed lost most of the time and commented once that he had not been to that trail in over four years. At Machu Picchu we had the same guide and while I will admit that by this time I had lost all faith in the qualifications of our guide he told us many things that were not true about the history of Machu Picchu. He also cut our tour short when his friend showed up. At the conclusion of the trip we were asked to fill out comment cards that our “guide” read. He was apparently unhappy with my comments because he showed up at our room at 9:00 at night to confront us about it. All in all I would recommend finding another company to schedule your trip through.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Nice clean place, would help if just a little English spoken, didn't really go out of way to help

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zkmel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

This is a nice and friendly Hostal with a small garden and a great view of Cusco. Perfect for families as well as solo travelers like me. Good breakfast and helpful staff. They also have a tour office next door (Amazon Trails Peru) and give you any information you might need for your Peru travel. They operate tours to the Manu National Park and do tours/treks around Cusco.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ocean-sunfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#162 of 445 in Cusco
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 165 in Cusco
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#49 of 351 in Cusco
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 445 in Cusco
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Hostal

Property: Amazon Hostal
Address: Calle Tandapata 660 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small german- peruvian hostal in the quiet artisans neighbourhood of San Blas in the center or the Inka capital Cusco.All rooms have big windows and some of them a view of the Plaza de Armas. Some rooms have a balcony and we have a roof terrace.We offer single, double, triple and cuadruple rooms with private bath, some have a shower, some have a bath tub.Breakfast is included and airport pickup can be arranged.Families with children are also welcome.Travel information and tours are available at our Amazon Trails Peru office next door. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing