We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 403 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at the Maytaq Wasin in Cusco twice, one night right after our 4-day Inca trek, and one night after a 5-day Amazon adventure. We were not expecting much, just a clean bed and a hot shower. We were very pleasantly surprised to find Maytaq to be a great little hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. At first, the shower did not have hot water, which was a disappointment after our 4-day hike, but after relaxing half an hour with some coca tea we were able to take our much-anticipated hot showers.
We had no problems with the street noise that others have described because we had a room that did not face the street. It did face another room, so we had to keep our curtains closed, which also meant that we had to keep the lights on. It was on the second floor, and one of the hotel staff helped carry the heavy luggage upstairs. During our Amazon trip the hotel stored our bags. We had the same room again when we returned. A nice touch was the “welcome back” card with the chocolates on our bed.
WiFi worked perfectly all the time, something we could not take for granted in the other hotels in Peru. The heater in the room must have been on a timer, because it only came on at night, and was off by early morning. This was too bad, as we were trying to dry some wool socks on the heater. The hair dryer blew a fuse, but worked again the next morning.
Breakfast was very nice and was held in a bright and modern restaurant space. Lots of fresh fruit, juice, bread and cereal, and eggs made to order. There was an extra charge for specialty coffees like cappuccinos, but regular coffee and tea were adequate and free.
The location can’t be beat. It is close to the main square (Plaza de Armas) AND to our favorite restaurant in Cusco, Greens. Right next door to Maytaq is the Machu Picchu museum, which is worth a visit after you’ve been in Machu Picchu. It features some of the artifacts that were taken to Yale after MP was discovered and recently returned.
I loved this boutique hotel and highly recommend it to people who are not looking for a Hilton or Marriott but want something more personal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hands down an excellent hotel. Great service, lovely rooms, delicious breakfast including eggs cooked as you like them and the freshest juices. We stayed here before and after hiking the Inca Trail and dreamed of Maytaq's beds every night on the trail :) Great location a couple blocks off of Cusco's beautiful main square. Go up on the rooftop - you'll see Cusco laid out before you.
We booked by emailing them directly.

Room Tip: room on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buytics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed at the Maytaq for three nights, sandwiched around an overnight to the Sacred Valley and Macchu Picchu. While not "fancy," the Maytaq is excellent in every sense. Rooms, dining area and lobby are all spotlessly clean. The staff is truly exceptional. At every level, staff members exuded hospitality and professionalism. Whether it was calling a taxi; printing boarding passes or carrying bags up stairs, help was offered with a enthusiastic smile. Location, as has been mentioned, is also excellent; just two short blocks from the Plaza de Armas. There's also a market across the street to buy water and snacks; some nice restaurants and shopping nearby; and two "same day" laundry places. I had two bags of dirty clothes washed, ironed and folded for about $7. Recommend the Maytaq highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDKorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A good location makes this hotel a great place to stay in Cusco, being just 2 minutes walk from the main square and the 3 "pubs" are equidistant. As other reviewers have said, there are no lifts but that should not prove a problem as the staff are only to eager to help with your luggage and there are only a couple of floors in addition to street level. The only negative side to staying here is if you are unfortunate enough to get a room overlooking the street, as there is significant noise from car horns being blasted throughout the night.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room overlooking the street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WR9Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Echo all the positive comments. Breakfasts with fresh fruit juice, wonderful locally sourced fruit and awesome coffee.

Stayed as a family, and had a room for us and our two daughters. Concierge were helpful.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank willdopl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Everything about this hotel is awesome! The location is about a block away from the Plaza des Armas,and downhill from San Bles. You can cover almost all Cusco site seeing from here on foot due to the hotel's central location. The rooms are big, clean and the staff are wonderful. When we first arrived, our room for 3 people (me, husband and teenage son) was in the back on the first floor and was two floors/two bathrooms. When we came back from the Inka Trail, we were on the third floor (the stairs were a bit tough after the 4 day hike, LOL) and we had one big room with two very comfortable beds. The views from that room of the city were very good.
Breakfast is included, and the buffet is plentiful and tasty. The coffee and warm milk delicious! I also really appreciated that the hotel held on to our bags while we were on the Inca Trail at no cost. There is free wifi, and a Mac computer in the lobby with a 15 minute time limit for use as well.
Everything about this hotel and everyone associated with it was terrific. We'd recommend it and we'd go back!

Room Tip: We didn't see an elevator, so if stairs are difficult, ask for a room on the bottom floor. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tikidream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here for four nights prior to our visit to Macchu Pichu and two nights after.

The hotel is just round the corner from the main square and so its location is perfect.

As other reviewers have said, there are no lifts. It didn't bother us as the two rooms we had were both on the first floor. Due to the altitude, even climbing the stairs to the first floor can be quite exhausting - cue the free coca tea!

The breakfast was excellent, with freshly fried/scrambled eggs available on request.

The only negative is that both rooms were a bit dark and the lights had to be on even in the daytime, otherwise an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.4 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#27 of 172 in Cusco
1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#9 of 172 in Cusco
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 172 in Cusco
1,539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel

Address: Santa Catalina Ancha 342, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 403 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing