We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, good location.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stay at Maytaq 2 nights before heading into scared valley and 2 nights after. Everything is superb. The location is great - only one street away from plaza and close to all the good restaurant and shops. The room is spacious and comfy. They have coca tea available all day. A gorgeous rooftop terrace with stunning view!

Best of all, the service from all the staff is possibly the best we've received in Peru. They are friendly, polite and really go out of their way to help you with everything you need. (Special thanks to Freddy to help us arrange a number of bus tickets).

The taxi they helped arrange for us from Cusco to Ollantaymbo via Moray, Maras and Chinchero was great too. Very gentle and patient driver who made our trip enjoyable. If we come back to cusco again we would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    118
    33
    4
    0
See reviews for
59
159
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

First the good things: clean, comfortable rooms, modern bathroom (ask for a portable heater if it is cool as the ceramic tile in the bath really holds the cold). Extremely well located close to sights, restaurants and laundry service. Breakfast was fair but not too much variety. Super nice wait staff in the dining area. Good English skills by the staff.

Other things that may be important to you: no elevator. At 11,200 feet, climbing several flights of stairs may make a difference. Strong or weak Wi-Fi depending on where you are in the hotel.

Now the bad thing: little room ventilation. Our first room #303 had one window facing an interior hallway and that was it for air. The room was stuffy and we asked for a fan which was quickly provided. That was before we learned the window would not lock (and our belongings would not be secure) and the window pane fell out. We were moved to room #305 which had two windows and cross ventilation - yeah. This room had a queen + twin bed configuration and was at the back of the hotel and thus avoided most of the street noise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Ask about the windows and ventilation for the room you are assigned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Location was great - close to Plaza de Armas and many bars/food/tourist shops. Breakfast was plentiful(be sure to ask for eggs). Staff were excellent with suggestions and directions. Showers were hot. Common areas were always clean and orderly

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor = wi fi works better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherAK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This place has prime location, maybe a block from the center of town. The staff was great and courteous. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was adequate, eggs made to order, juice etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank certraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel was very conveniently located near to the main plaza. Our room and the public areas were always kept clean and tidy and the reception desk staff were very helpful and spoke very good English. There was a great choice for breakfast and the staff dealing with that were efficient and friendly. We ate a couple of times in the restaurant in the evening and both meals we had were delicious and well presented. The rooms were spacious and had every thing you would need. There was tea/ coffee making facilities on the ground and 1st floors, which was handy. There was also a roof terrace with a great view of Cusco. We were able to leave our luggage with the hotel whilst we were on our Inca trail trek. Everything went smoothly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was there in the middle of august, unfortunately only 1 night, as it was fully booked after we came back from machu picchu!
It is a nice, clean and comfortable hotel, the reception very friendly and helpful. after arrival we immediately got some mate de coca (tea from coca leaves because of the altitude) and they prepared our rooms (2) the rooms were big and comfy and clean.
I just have to complain about the missing window - we had our room in sort of a patio and therefore could not open or light the curtains, so it was dark and sticky in der room.

The Hotel is located near Plaza de Armas, what is really perfect for strolling around a bit!!

we spent two more nights in cusco, in the Torre Dorada Hotel, which is not located in the city center, so regarding the location, I would again take the maytaq wasin!!

Room Tip: somewhere upstairs! so first or second floor is better than ground floor (ragarding the windowproble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresalechner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I would not put anyone off staying at this small hotel in Cuzco, but it's stretching it to call it a boutique hotel. Rooms are standard 3* hotel, comfortable but not in any way exceptional in standard or decoration. Most seem to have no external windows, though that's not too much of a problem on short stays. Breakfast was fine. Hotel scores on its excellent location a short walk from the Plaza de Armas and excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRB238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 162 in Cusco
1,314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel

Property: Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Address: Santa Catalina Ancha 342, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing