We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good value, wonderful staff and great location. Close to Plaza de Armas, very convenient to go to restaurants and sites. Decent breakfast, friendly staff, not too noise although it is located in one of the busiest streets of the city. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flexitravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    118
    33
    4
    0
See reviews for
59
159
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is hard to review. Hotels in Cusco are to experienced travellers NOT worthy of the Peruvian "star" system. This is not a boutique hotel, it is an older hotel with some attempts at upgrading. There is no elevator. The good: the staff tries to be accommodating, often succeeds, and the bartender we befriended was a sweetheart; the rooftop deck; hotel location. The just ok: breakfast, food in general, amenities, command of any language other than Spanish. The weird: in remodeling this older hotel, it has been designed so that most of the rooms are around a central core, which "overlooks" the hallways, and there are no windows in any of the rooms. We had been forewarned, and upon arrival asked to see all other available rooms, and moved into a room that had a window. Do not stay here unless you have a window. Our window made all the difference in the world, we were there for 3 nights. The rooms are small and sparse, nothing special in any way. They do keep the filtered water and matte tea in the common areas stocked, and that's a plus. We would not stay here again, but made the best of it. Again, Condor Travel helped with our travel issues in Cusco, and their service made Cusco a better experience for us. One other point, the hotel locks down at night, literally, there is a roll-down metal gate over the entrance, and if you are wandering back after dark make sure you pay attention as you will not recognize it, we actually walked by the hotel and had to turn around. A very average experience.

Room Tip: Do not book a room without windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa canada
Level Contributor
357 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent 12 days in this region. During this time we used the Maytaq as a home base. Left our luggage here when we went into the mountains, then left it again here when we went into the jungle. The staff is great and friendly. They are used to hikers and foreigners. The breakfast was quick and easy in the morning. Not a luxury place, but I believe in this region most people are not looking for that. It has everything you need, rooms are clean, showers are nice, food is decent, and they can accommodate what ever you want. Perfect home base.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
432 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the first hotel where a small, windowless room was allotted to me: well, there's a window but it opens towards the corridor where people are constantly passing, so no question of opening it. I thought I have been put in a confinement cell. At night, I thought I would die of suffocating. I have never seen a hotel where the room doesn't have a window.
The room is extremely small with barely any space to move about, however the bed was comfortable. No tea/coffee in room. The room heater is a worthless piece of junk. The breakfast was poor and you would get a single egg fried for you, only when you ask for it, otherwise they comfortably forget to mention about it. Coffee is just horrible and the advertised price is S/.22
If hanging some multicoloured linens from the ceiling gives a hotel to call itself a Boutique Hotel, then the cloth markets are all Boutique Places.
Wonder who allots star ratings in Peru? This is more like a hostel than a hotel.
Was booked here by Condor Travels, otherwise I would have never stayed here for more than a few hours.

Room Tip: Ask them for a room with windows, if they at all have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maytaq, Guest Relations Manager at Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2015
We're sorry to hear that. Since you booked through a travel company, you didn't know the price point and standard you were receiving. We don't claim to be a 5 star hotel. A quick visit to our site would reveal that we're only a small hotel with 24 rooms at a very affordable price point and believe we actually offer more than others do in Cusco for the category we're in (as most reviewers testify). Many of our rooms are internal and this is true for many hotels surrounding the centre of Cusco. During construction the government actually requires all Inca walls to be totally preserved - we simply could not break anything around it. This is also true at the 5 star J.W. Marriot down the street from us who has many rooms underground. Anyways, we try our best and usually there is always an owner on premises (we're a family run business) please come talk to us in the future with problems. We try hard to accommodate all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights during our tour of peru, the room was small but very clean ( our room was 206 ) but it could do with air con as the room could get a bit stuffy, but dont let this put you off as you only really use the rooms to sleep in.The beds were of a very high quality and we got a great nights sleep,also the bed linen was of high quality. There was a flat screen tv on the wall,plus plenty of storage and a safe that was included in the price. The bathroom was tiled from floor to ceiling, no bath but a very large shower plus hand basin and toilet. The breakfast was included and we were not disappointed,plenty fresh fruit and juice,there was cereal plus yogurt,fresh bread and croissants, jam and honey etc scrambled eggs were made fresh and there was endless coffee and tea. There was free wi-fi and a computer that you could use, the staff all spoke english and the entire hotel was spotlessly clean,a great location only a minute walk to the main square of plaza de armas. Also check out the roof terrace

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oatesyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Susan and I were booked into this hotel by our tour company. We were not disappointed.

The reception staff were first class and very helpful.

You can get up to the roof for photos over the rooftops towards the churches and surrounding hills.

The rooms were adequate for our needs but I would have preferred to have inroom tea and coffee facilities rather than flasks of hot water on the first floor landing. The flask water was often luke warm.

The buffet breakfast was simple with a friendly and efficient service. A waitress asked if we wanted eggs - scrambled or fried cooked to order - and to this could be added a selection of meats and cheese. Cereals, fruit, juices and breads were available. A good start to the day.

Room Tip: If you are allocated a room on the third floor, take your time due to the altitude. We weren't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbarker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
246 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The room was small and stuffy but the location was wonderful. It is a short walk to restaurants and shopping and the plaza de armas. The restaurant was very good. Our breakfast was included and it was one of the best spreads we had on our trip.

DO NOT DO LAUNDRY HERE!! It was extremely expensive - like $60 for 3lbs. Next time (and had we had more time in the city), I would try to take my laundry to somewhere outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333kmg333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 162 in Cusco
1,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel

Property: Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Address: Santa Catalina Ancha 342, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing