We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi(Cusco)
US$92
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$370
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ninos Hotel Meloc(Cusco)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
US$60
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$414
US$395
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$157
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$128
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$47
US$28
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
215
144
36
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
144
36
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfiltered waterno liftthe main squaregreat locationcoca tearoof terracemachu picchueggsthird flooronsite restaurantflights of stairsinca trailbreadtop floorvery nice hotelcentral locationstreet noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good value, wonderful staff and great location. Close to Plaza de Armas, very convenient to go to restaurants and sites. Decent breakfast, friendly staff, not too noise although it is located in one of the busiest streets of the city. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flexitravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is hard to review. Hotels in Cusco are to experienced travellers NOT worthy of the Peruvian "star" system. This is not a boutique hotel, it is an older hotel with some attempts at upgrading. There is no elevator. The good: the staff tries to be accommodating, often succeeds, and the bartender we befriended was a sweetheart; the rooftop deck; hotel location. The just ok: breakfast, food in general, amenities, command of any language other than Spanish. The weird: in remodeling this older hotel, it has been designed so that most of the rooms are around a central core, which "overlooks" the hallways, and there are no windows in any of the rooms. We had been forewarned, and upon arrival asked to see all other available rooms, and moved into a room that had a window. Do not stay here unless you have a window. Our window made all the difference in the world, we were there for 3 nights. The rooms are small and sparse, nothing special in any way. They do keep the filtered water and matte tea in the common areas stocked, and that's a plus. We would not stay here again, but made the best of it. Again, Condor Travel helped with our travel issues in Cusco, and their service made Cusco a better experience for us. One other point, the hotel locks down at night, literally, there is a roll-down metal gate over the entrance, and if you are wandering back after dark make sure you pay attention as you will not recognize it, we actually walked by the hotel and had to turn around. A very average experience.

Room Tip: Do not book a room without windows!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent 12 days in this region. During this time we used the Maytaq as a home base. Left our luggage here when we went into the mountains, then left it again here when we went into the jungle. The staff is great and friendly. They are used to hikers and foreigners. The breakfast was quick and easy in the morning. Not a luxury place, but I believe in this region most people are not looking for that. It has everything you need, rooms are clean, showers are nice, food is decent, and they can accommodate what ever you want. Perfect home base.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the first hotel where a small, windowless room was allotted to me: well, there's a window but it opens towards the corridor where people are constantly passing, so no question of opening it. I thought I have been put in a confinement cell. At night, I thought I would die of suffocating. I have never seen a hotel where the room doesn't have a window.
The room is extremely small with barely any space to move about, however the bed was comfortable. No tea/coffee in room. The room heater is a worthless piece of junk. The breakfast was poor and you would get a single egg fried for you, only when you ask for it, otherwise they comfortably forget to mention about it. Coffee is just horrible and the advertised price is S/.22
If hanging some multicoloured linens from the ceiling gives a hotel to call itself a Boutique Hotel, then the cloth markets are all Boutique Places.
Wonder who allots star ratings in Peru? This is more like a hostel than a hotel.
Was booked here by Condor Travels, otherwise I would have never stayed here for more than a few hours.

Room Tip: Ask them for a room with windows, if they at all have any.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maytaq, Guest Relations Manager at Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

We're sorry to hear that. Since you booked through a travel company, you didn't know the price point and standard you were receiving. We don't claim to be a 5 star hotel. A quick visit to our site would reveal that we're only a small hotel with 24 rooms at a very affordable price point and believe we actually offer more than others do in Cusco for the category we're in (as most reviewers testify). Many of our rooms are internal and this is true for many hotels surrounding the centre of Cusco. During construction the government actually requires all Inca walls to be totally preserved - we simply could not break anything around it. This is also true at the 5 star J.W. Marriot down the street from us who has many rooms underground. Anyways, we try our best and usually there is always an owner on premises (we're a family run business) please come talk to us in the future with problems. We try hard to accommodate all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights during our tour of peru, the room was small but very clean ( our room was 206 ) but it could do with air con as the room could get a bit stuffy, but dont let this put you off as you only really use the rooms to sleep in.The beds were of a very high quality and we got a great nights sleep,also the bed linen was of high quality. There was a flat screen tv on the wall,plus plenty of storage and a safe that was included in the price. The bathroom was tiled from floor to ceiling, no bath but a very large shower plus hand basin and toilet. The breakfast was included and we were not disappointed,plenty fresh fruit and juice,there was cereal plus yogurt,fresh bread and croissants, jam and honey etc scrambled eggs were made fresh and there was endless coffee and tea. There was free wi-fi and a computer that you could use, the staff all spoke english and the entire hotel was spotlessly clean,a great location only a minute walk to the main square of plaza de armas. Also check out the roof terrace

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oatesyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews