We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay and I hope you do too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 393 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

There is nothing I can complain about with this B&B. The location was near everything in Cusco. The complementary coca tea really helped us prevent altitude sickness. Breakfast was good. Checkin and checkout was smooth too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xpehbamxyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is beautiful, close to the Plaza de Armas yet quiet (if you have an interior room.) It is right next door to the Machu Picchu museum and a block from the plaza. The Mutu restaurant sownstairs has great food at good prices and the only waiter we found in Peru who actually checked to see how everything was after the food was served. The 3rd floor roof is great for views, smoking or just relaxing.

The only downside of this hotel is that the internet in our 2nd and 3rd floor rooms was barely existent.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room so you do not need to hear the noise and chaos of Cusco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nippstik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was sort of a home base for us as we stayed for one day at the start of our trip and two days towards the end of our trip. It's what you would expect from a 3 start hotel, good value and close proximity to the area. If you are looking for something that is of higher quality and more amenities you'll need to look elsewhere. This really is a travelers hotel which is there for sleeping and pretty much that's it.

The rooms were clean, beds were hard and you could hear all the traffic in the hallways as there is no noise proofing used here. Windows are weird, some look into a hallway, some into a courtyard and some who knows where. Very odd. You'll need to walk all the way up to the third floor as there is a nice look out at the roof where you can see 360 degrees around Cusco.

Brunch was included and is very basic. Toast, Eggs, Yogurt, juices and bread. Was good enough to start with.

WiFi is quite fast and I was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is situated just off the square and is a 2-3 minute walk to it. There is lots to do and see around and you'll be satisfied with that.

Overall if I was travelling again I'd use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the traffic of the hotel if noise is an issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good value, wonderful staff and great location. Close to Plaza de Armas, very convenient to go to restaurants and sites. Decent breakfast, friendly staff, not too noise although it is located in one of the busiest streets of the city. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flexitravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is hard to review. Hotels in Cusco are to experienced travellers NOT worthy of the Peruvian "star" system. This is not a boutique hotel, it is an older hotel with some attempts at upgrading. There is no elevator. The good: the staff tries to be accommodating, often succeeds, and the bartender we befriended was a sweetheart; the rooftop deck; hotel location. The just ok: breakfast, food in general, amenities, command of any language other than Spanish. The weird: in remodeling this older hotel, it has been designed so that most of the rooms are around a central core, which "overlooks" the hallways, and there are no windows in any of the rooms. We had been forewarned, and upon arrival asked to see all other available rooms, and moved into a room that had a window. Do not stay here unless you have a window. Our window made all the difference in the world, we were there for 3 nights. The rooms are small and sparse, nothing special in any way. They do keep the filtered water and matte tea in the common areas stocked, and that's a plus. We would not stay here again, but made the best of it. Again, Condor Travel helped with our travel issues in Cusco, and their service made Cusco a better experience for us. One other point, the hotel locks down at night, literally, there is a roll-down metal gate over the entrance, and if you are wandering back after dark make sure you pay attention as you will not recognize it, we actually walked by the hotel and had to turn around. A very average experience.

Room Tip: Do not book a room without windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent 12 days in this region. During this time we used the Maytaq as a home base. Left our luggage here when we went into the mountains, then left it again here when we went into the jungle. The staff is great and friendly. They are used to hikers and foreigners. The breakfast was quick and easy in the morning. Not a luxury place, but I believe in this region most people are not looking for that. It has everything you need, rooms are clean, showers are nice, food is decent, and they can accommodate what ever you want. Perfect home base.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the first hotel where a small, windowless room was allotted to me: well, there's a window but it opens towards the corridor where people are constantly passing, so no question of opening it. I thought I have been put in a confinement cell. At night, I thought I would die of suffocating. I have never seen a hotel where the room doesn't have a window.
The room is extremely small with barely any space to move about, however the bed was comfortable. No tea/coffee in room. The room heater is a worthless piece of junk. The breakfast was poor and you would get a single egg fried for you, only when you ask for it, otherwise they comfortably forget to mention about it. Coffee is just horrible and the advertised price is S/.22
If hanging some multicoloured linens from the ceiling gives a hotel to call itself a Boutique Hotel, then the cloth markets are all Boutique Places.
Wonder who allots star ratings in Peru? This is more like a hostel than a hotel.
Was booked here by Condor Travels, otherwise I would have never stayed here for more than a few hours.

Room Tip: Ask them for a room with windows, if they at all have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maytaq, Guest Relations Manager at Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

We're sorry to hear that. Since you booked through a travel company, you didn't know the price point and standard you were receiving. We don't claim to be a 5 star hotel. A quick visit to our site would reveal that we're only a small hotel with 24 rooms at a very affordable price point and believe we actually offer more than others do in Cusco for the category we're in (as most reviewers testify). Many of our rooms are internal and this is true for many hotels surrounding the centre of Cusco. During construction the government actually requires all Inca walls to be totally preserved - we simply could not break anything around it. This is also true at the 5 star J.W. Marriot down the street from us who has many rooms underground. Anyways, we try our best and usually there is always an owner on premises (we're a family run business) please come talk to us in the future with problems. We try hard to accommodate all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel

Address: Santa Catalina Ancha 342, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £73 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maytaq Wasin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing