We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutley splendid, stunning decor, friendly staff, we will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutley splendid, stunning decor, friendly staff, we will be back”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

this hotel earned its 5 star rating. The location is superb, 2 blocks from Plaza de armas. The rooms are stately with a jacuzzi tub and HEATED floors (so nice when its cold outside). Great breakfast buffett. Lovely decor thrughout the entire hotel. A true botique gem in Cusco!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theobers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    175
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
205
443
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Americas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Aranwa is both a hotel and an art gallery. It sits on a masterfully restored colonial mansion close, yet not too close, to the touristy areas of Cusco. The reception leads to an open courtyard shielded by picture windows. It is cozy yet airy. As you arrive you are directed to a beautiful sitting room so you do not have to stand by the reception checking in. They also offer you tea and other local infused drinks which are available 24/7 near the lobby. The staff is more than helpful. Everyone is corteous. We had one small problem with the bathroom piping and it took some time to fix but it was fixed. They did offer to move us to another room. Breakfast is excellent and open from 5am for the adventurous crowd (Machu Picchu bound). The room is beautifully appointed. There is an oxygen supplement (free) to help cope with the altitude. The bathroom is a must see it has a huge jacuzzi in the middle and the floor is heated; yes: heated. There are towel heaters as well and his and hers sink. The beds and the linens are super comfortable and there is nightly turndown service. The shower is a bit small but it is a Scottish (or is it Swedish) shower. We stayed at two Superior Deluxe rooms. Perhaps the other rooms are smaller. This one had all you could wish for. It is also a much better deal than the other "5 Star" hotels in town which are way overhyped and way way overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The Aranwa is one of the most beautiful hotels i have ever stayed at both inside and outside. We stayed in a very large room with a Jacuzzi bath which had beautiful furnishings and fantastic cotton linens. We stayed in the building that was part of the original estate so we got to walk through many beautiful courtyards to reach our room. My kids loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay in a large room with a jacuzzi so you end up in the original building verses the newer building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

These folks are so attentive to detail, and so many great folks like Carmen, Hugo, Hector (to name a few) were exceptional in their service. I have been off the beaten pati in this town before but it was nice to have luxury. Service was excellent, so was the food! We will be back! Thanks for the tea leaves to help with the altitude-they are attentive to every comfort, even oxygen in the rooms (and you don't pay extra)!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildernationalMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
329 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed 2 nights last week after booking for 2 adults + 1 child. Checking in I'm told that there is an extra charge since the reservation was only for 2 people -- don't have my computer so can't double-check, but reservation was for 3. Talk to the manager the next morning who has me forward the email and promises refund but later in the day am told that child is <12 years and no refund. Since the 12 year definition wasn't part of either of the 2 earlier discussions or on the web site (or consistent with other luxury hotels we stayed in Peru!) I think they made up the policy to keep the $100 + 10% but what is one to do.

Was promised that they would bring an extra set of towels but didn't happen without a phone call. Same thing the next day.

And room was deathly hot and they claimed to have twice sent someone to adjust the temperature but no change.

Oh, and the toilet didn't flush when we first checked in.

But the hotel itself is gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank actonma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed at the Aranwa Resort in the Scared Valley of Peru. There we met the general manager Thomas Henesler. He found out about our travels to Cusco and suggested we stay here. He and his expert staff made our family feel like Royalty. The facility was superb in every way. The rooms, service and food was everything we could have hoped for. This hotel is one of the most special places we have ever visited!

Room Tip: Ask for ther Superior Rooms such as # 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maguirezay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This hotel is a beautiful restored colonial building and has everything you could wish for. It is in the right place - a short walk from Plaza des Aramas. Professional helpful staff, who speak excellent English - even the boy who serviced our room.. We were well looked after in the dining room by Hugo. The food was fantastic - the chef came out to discuss our meal with us. The rooms are excellent. Very well equipped (even an iron). Oxygen is piped into the rooms, to help you cope with the high altitude. We were there during Corpus Christ celebrations and one of the waiters rang a friend an organised a balcony for us watch the festivities. Absolutely superb. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally_wellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.3 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel

Property: Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
Address: Avenida San Juan de Dios 255 | Centro Historico, Cusco 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in the heart of the Inca city. Built on a completely restored 16th century manor. 43 oxygenated rooms, each with a unique feel and architecture surround the elaborate courtyards and lush inner gardens. Mestizo restaurant and tapas bar complete the gastronomic offer. Antique paintings from the Cuzco School, colonial carvings and sculptures with high cultural value line up the corridors, encompassing a design that brings back its grandeur and lets history speak for itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing