We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Historic Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Enjoyed a family vacation for two (2) nights in two rooms during New Years. Service oriented small hotel that is very accommodating. Includes free Wi-Fi and nice cooked to order breakfast daily. Rooms were well appointed, large bathroom with double sinks, great stall showers, large tub and heated towel rack and floor. Most rooms do not have external windows but that isn't a major concern. Location is steps from one of the main squares and loads of great restaurants are in short walking distance. One downside - toilet paper can not be flushed in toilets. Very strange, but that is the only negative and really come to think of it not horrible (maybe for the maids).

Room Tip: Second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iraa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed just one night before moving on to the sacred valley. The hotel is located on a quiet street just a 5 minute walk from the main plaza de armas. My room was the cheapest "classic" room but was very well fitted out with a comfortable bed and a luxurious en suite bathroom. The main drawback was the window opened onto the corridor next to one of the internal courtyards. If you book a classic room ask about its location.

The public spaces were absolutely beautiful, restored courtyards, a real peaceful oasis from the bustle of Cusco.

Only had breakfast here which was standard 4 star hotel buffet style.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsh_traveller1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night upon arrival to Cusco before heading to lower altitude in the sacred valley. I specifically chose the hotel because of the oxygen they pipe into the rooms because I was worried about altitude sickness within our group which included senior citizens and toddlers. Additionally, it is one of the nicest hotels in Cusco.

The hotel itself is just perfectly decorated - that lovely combination of antiqueties (or replicas) and modern design. Rooms do not have views and windows look out into the hallways - this didn't bother us - for just one night we didn't really care and honestly, the 16th colonial mansion charm of this place more than makes up for a lack of view. It's a small chain so there are the odd eccentricities to it - we didn't like the multiple jet-stream shower heads (none of which fell directly in the center of a cramped shower stall) and there were some mini-bar discrepancies on our room bill which were never resolved and we ended up paying for. Breakfast was very nice and the dining room was charming.

The hotel organized a day trip tour of Cusco for us and transportation to our next hotel. I thought it was a bit expensive and the tour guide fairly lackluster, but it's an option if you don't have any other. One day in Cusco really didn't seem like enough, I would have preferred to have 2 full days so we would have had more time to wander.

The hotel is located a 3 minute walk from the Plaza de Armas right in the center of all the cute shopping on charming parts of Cusco. We were able to easily get a van for 8 from the airport to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have "views" as all rooms face an interior courtyard but the higher category...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiquiMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were treated royally. Coca tea was brought to us as we waited in their lovely reception area before being taken to our room. We stayed in room 218 which had a small balcony overlooking the city. The view at night was especially wonderful. The staff was very accommodating especially when I was feeling the effects of altitude sickness. Our room was spacious and elegantly furnished with a bathroom featuring a heated floor and towel rack. We ate in their restaurant 3 out of our 4 nights and found the service and food to be excellent. Elvis, Darcey, Tony, Ivan and Serejion were very helpful in menu suggestions and took extra time with us to ask us about our travels and answer the many questions we had. The manager Felipe was courteous and very attentive to detail. The hotel is ideally located to many of Cusco's attractions and we always felt safe in the neighbourhood. We'd love to visit again!

Room Tip: Our room, 218 was very spacious with two very comfortable double beds. We had a small balcony which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

HOTEL REVIEW # 203 Aranwa

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: Excellent. A couple of blocks from the plaza de aramas and centrally located to sites and restaurants. Street is a bit busier compared to some of the other high end hotels.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Recommend arranging a hotel car which is more expensive than a taxi from the airport but safer. 20 minute drive to hotel.

TYPE OF ROOM: 

Standard room

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed was a little bit harder than preferred but linens and pillows were of highest quality. Hotels has a pillow menu

LIGHTING: Great in both bathroom and bedroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Luxurious with no expenses spared. Marble throughout. Only option is a rainshower. Very good water pressure.

TOILETRIES: Gilcrest and Soames.

CLEANLINESS: Hotel is very new and the entire hotel is spotless.

A/C: Didn’t use AC but the only heat are the heated floors. Worked fine.

CLOSET SPACE: Not much space to unpack all items.

STYLE OF ROOM: Really beautiful. Chandaleir in bedroom is a nice touch and no expenses spared to make this room great. Did feel like a bit too much stuff is in the room making it a bit cluttered for such a tiny room. Barely enough space for 2 large suitcases to fit comfortably in the room (same issue at monasterio). I didn’t like that the room didn’t have a window to the outside as the only window went to the hallway.

COMMON AREA: Stunning. Much better than the website images. This was my 3rd choice of hotel in Cusco (stayed at Monasterio and Casa Cartagena) but after seeing the hotel common areas this was favorite. The hotel feels a bit like a museum (but more comfortable). The artwork on the walls are all original and probably worth a fortune. I had the feeling that cost was no issue with respect to making sure this hotel would be amazing.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room was quiet and all morning sunlight could be blocked.

FOOD: Room service pasta was delicious (and I am very picky). Breakfast was the best in our 2 weeks in Peru. Everything was very fresh and of the highest quality. Pancakes were amazing. Coffee was great… very enjoyable.

TV/INTERNET: Didn’t use the TV but internet worked well in the room and average speed for Peru (slow). No cost for wireless in the room or common areas.

SERVICE: Staff was incredibly nice (did get a wakeup call 30 mins late).

SUMMARY: Stayed at Casa Cartagena and Monasterio but this would be my choice if going back to Cusco (if I could get a larger room). I like the décor the best in the common areas as well as excellent food (food at monasterio was bad). The royal suite at Casa Cartagena was amazing and I preferred that room to the standard at Aranwa. Monasterio is my 3rd choice but if you like more historic, older hotels that may be the best (rooms are not good there). If you like historic hotels, stay at Aranwa or Casa Cartagena and get a drink at monasterio. We also loved the food at LIMO restaurant.

Room Tip: I would suggest a larger room as the standard rooms are too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Aranwa en route to Maccu Pichu. It's a lovely hotel and I would be surprised if there is a better hotel in Cusco. The rooms were huge and the service great. The location is also ideal, just a few minutes from the main square. Only drawback was my wife said the rooms were cold but don't let that put you off. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Location in the heart of Cusco historic center. All sights and a variety of good restaurants are within walking distance.
Entering the hotel, the first impression is a very distinct and compelling decoration, the theme is consistent throughout the hotel.
During our stay, we had 2 different rooms. Room 107 is very small and close to the restaurant.
As breakfast time starts at 5 a.m. we were waked up by the preparation work.
Room 105 had a good size and is more remote, to be preferred.
Cleanliness is distinctive good throughout the hotel.
The service in bar and restaurant is very good. Front desk service is good.
Prize and overall experience are a good fit.
We fully recommend the hotel, however avoid room 107 and probably also the neighbor rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INe0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.5 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel

Address: Avenida San Juan de Dios 255 | Centro Historico, Cusco 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £155 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in the heart of the Inca city. Built on a completely restored 16th century manor. 43 oxygenated rooms, each with a unique feel and architecture surround the elaborate courtyards and lush inner gardens. Mestizo restaurant and tapas bar complete the gastronomic offer. Antique paintings from the Cuzco School, colonial carvings and sculptures with high cultural value line up the corridors, encompassing a design that brings back its grandeur and lets history speak for itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing