We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; mediocre service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location; mediocre service”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Having just spent three nights at another Aranwa property in the Sacred Valley, I was disappointed in our two night stay at the Cusco Boutique Hotel. The location of the hotel is great- right in the middle of the historical center of Cusco an easy walk from the Plaza de Armas. The hotel itself has certain over the top charm about it too with crystal chandeliers and lots of gold and silver accessories. The rooms were small but did have nice tall ceilings and our bathroom was very spacious (although the shower was barely big enough to turn around in). The hotel has a lot going for it.

However, the hotel seemed to be having technical difficulties while we were there. It was very cold in our room and after unsuccessfully adjusting the thermostat ourselves we called the front desk to ask for help. They sent someone who said it was set correctly and left. The heated floors were not working in the bathroom either. They brought us a space heater that first day and it helped. Sometime the next day, after calling to inquire as to why oxygen was not being pumped into our room as advertised, all of our heating and air problems magically resolved themselves. One morning at breakfast they couldn’t get the lights on in the dining room. Maybe there is just some faulty wiring in this old building but it didn’t add to the five star experience.

All of our inquiries, though very respectfully made, must have blacklisted us because the front desk staff made me feel like I was inconveniencing them if I asked anything of them. The other staff in the hotel was nice but still not nearly as friendly and professional as those at the Aranwa in the Sacred Valley. I know they had more guests to deal with but there were also many more staff members. Even the Radisson in Miraflores had better service.

Overall we had a nice clean room in a good location and got a good night’s sleep. Not horrible, but there could certainly be some improvements.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel A, Propietario at Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your election and for taking the time to leave your comments in Tripadvisor. We appreciate your praise on the chandeliers and rooms & bathrooms. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had with the heater system in the room. All rooms have oxygen, heater and air conditioner so we will be reviewing our systems.

About the inconvenience with the light in the restaurant we fixed this problem at 5:15 am, ten minutes after you had breakfast. Our maintenance staff had only just arrived and we apologize for the problem. We are sorry if our front desk staff made you feel uncomfortable we are all the time improving with the staff and services at the hotel to be on pair with the expectation of all our clients.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments with us. We hope to welcome you again to recover your confidence in the quality of Aranwa Cusco Boutique service.

Regards,

Gabriel Alvarez - GM Aranwa Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    182
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
222
461
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We were delighted with our choice of hotel in Cusco. The Aranwa is an old colonial building located a short walk from the main square and numerous good quality restaurants. The interior is very contemporary whilst being respectful of the heritage of the building that it occupies.

We booked a Deluxe King and my only advice would be to make sure that you are given the room that you book as when we initially checked in we were allocated a room that we deemed to be the standard category. The website really does not provide much clarity on what you should be getting for each category so be really careful! We ended up in an upgraded Junior Suite (115) which was excellent - huge, really beautifully designed. Great bathroom with underfloor heating which is definitely a requirement during the Winter months. Gorgeous beds too!

The staff are generally very friendly with reception being very helpful in recommending shops and booking tables at restaurants. At breakfast the waiters could perhaps be taught how to say good morning but they warmed up after a few visits. The quality of the breakfast buffet was really excellent with a great variety of cold and hot items, and eggs cooked to order. You really could not fault anything.

We did not try the main restaurant at night but the menu looked great and the environment was lovely. The bar is also really well designed with great service - we enjoyed a good few G&Ts before heading out for the evening in the bar.

There is really very little to fault and I would thoroughly recommend the Aranwa. 

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I stay at the Aranwa Cusco Boutique in June on our honeymoon and it was a great experience. The staff was great and the hotel was amazing. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The complimentary bottles of water every morning were greatly appreciated, as well as the clean room we always returned to after our day of exploring. When I needed my jacket washed, the front desk took care of it and it was returned to me promptly the next day before the Aranwa shuttle took us to the Aranwa Sacred Valley hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I just got back from a 2.5 week whirlwind trip to Peru. We went to the Amazon, saw the Sacred Valley, hiked the Inca Trail, did a homestay at Lake Titicaca, spent some time in Lima, and went down and saw the Nazca Lines. We stayed in numerous hotels during our time. One of my favorites was the Aranwa in Cusco. (The other was Miraflores Park in Lima.) The Aranwa in Cusco is centrally located. You can walk to all major attractions and restaurants.

We spent two consecutive nights in, I believe, room 123 (1st floor, near the front desk, across from the elevator). Despite the proximity to the elevator, we didn't really have problems with noise. Although, I must admit, I had ear plugs in. After Machu Picchu we spent one night in, I believe, room 301 (3rd floor, corner room, closest to the stairwell). Both rooms were well appointed and clean. You are definitely able to relax. Room 301 was a little larger & nicer with two windows looking toward the outside. The beds in the hotel were very comfortable. Since I spent my first two days in Cusco in bed due to altitude sickness, I appreciated the fact that there were plenty of English channels on t.v. that I could watch. I didn't realize this at the time, but if necessary the hotel does have oxygen tanks available.

The breakfast spread was quite nice. There was a large selection of food. There were hot foods (sausages, bacon, french toast, waffles, etc.), toast, different types of cereal, pastries, and eggs (done any way you want). Since it's always hard to get vegetables while you're on vacation, I appreciated the fact that they had a steamed vegetable dish (e.g., broccoli, carrots, zucchini) every morning. Unlike other hotels, their cooked veggies looked fresh and appetizing. Service was amazing.

If I ever returned to Cusco, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckingadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Beautiful Boutique Hotel, exceptional service, very friendly & helpful staff, oxygenated rooms, luxury bathrooms with heated floors and towel racks, clean, comfortable rooms, great beds all this along with a perfect location within walking distance of the main square, shopping, restaurants, most of the tourist locations and squares. Last time we stayed at the Monasterio, this time per the trip advisor reviews we decided to try this hotel and were not disappointed. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We loved this place! It's a beautiful colonial hotel nestled in the heart of Cusco. The wonderful (oxygenated) room are lovely with antique furniture and very comfortable beds. Very clean. Modern bathrooms. We ate dinner twice at the hotel -- it was that good. The service overall was very attentive; the wait staff in the restaurant was delightful, informative and very attentive as well. We would highly recommend this hotel and its sister hotel in Sacred Valley.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had were both wonderful. Our kids shared a large roomw ith two queens; we shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirchheim bei Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a fabulous private location in the heart of Cusco. Incredibly convenient to shopping, restaurants, entertainment, transportation, etc. What pleased me most was the friendliness and courtesy of the staff, especially the front desk and the concierge. Rooms are clean and quiet.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 169 in Cusco
1,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel

Property: Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
Address: Avenida San Juan de Dios 255 | Centro Historico, Cusco 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in the heart of the Inca city. Built on a completely restored 16th century manor. 43 oxygenated rooms, each with a unique feel and architecture surround the elaborate courtyards and lush inner gardens. Mestizo restaurant and tapas bar complete the gastronomic offer. Antique paintings from the Cuzco School, colonial carvings and sculptures with high cultural value line up the corridors, encompassing a design that brings back its grandeur and lets history speak for itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing