We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, lovely decor, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #25 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This is a very nice hotel. Very modern decor. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They gave us advice about laundry facilities, restaurants, and helped us contact our tour guide by telephone. The location couldn't be better--right off the main square. Some rooms can be noisy as a result of music from a bar right across the street, but it usually quiets down around midnight. We stayed three times for a total of four nights. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelli52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Nelli52,

Thank you for your excellent comment about our hotel and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

For our first trip to Cusco, we had planned to go all out and stay at the Monesterio, but figured the extra $1000+ wasn't worth it. Accordingly we were delighted we chose the Tierra Viva Plaza instead. We booked a superior room, and from the time Jesus picked us up from the airport, to our departure 3 days later, we were totally satisfied and impressed with this charming hotel. It has a bit of a "zen" like quality to it that made for a very relaxing and comfortable stay. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Tomnoe,

Thank you for your wonderful words about Tierra Viva.

Comments like yours make us proud of what we are doing and encourage to keep improving and growing.

Best Regards,
Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza is located close to the plaza de armas, but it is actually fairly quiet, no street noise.

The staff is helpful and at times brought me the oxygen tank to use when I needed it.
There is complimentary coca tea all day available and 2 computers that guests can use, including printing of boarding passes if necessary.

The room is not that big, but the beds are comfortable with duvets, since the heater didn't work, so at night can be quite cold. There is hot shower and the shower room is quite spacious.
There is tv with some english channels and 1 kilo of laundry costs about $4.60 U.S.

Room Tip: rooms on the 3rd floor and above are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Sanjo008,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having staryed at Tierra Viva.

We hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

TV Cusco Plaza is nicely appointed, with beautiful unique rooms. Each room has a different layout as it is a converted home. Staff were wonderful and accommodating. Breakfast is good and starts early. Location is great, only steps uphill from the central plaza.

Compared with some of the other larger hotels in the city, I feel that the TV Cusco Plaza adds a nice personal touch to everything which makes the stay feel special. There are about 20-30 rooms in total so you don't feel overwhelmed with people.

For the small things ... great hot water pressure (shower), continuous supply of mate de coca in the lounge, quiet at night, nice clean linens ...

All in all, great stay. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Some rooms have water beds, some have regular beds. Make your preference clear if it matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SometimesFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear SometimesFlyer,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our hotel and we hope to have you again with us very son.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We felt at home at Tierra Viva. We stayed at the location near the Plaza de Armas (Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza) for two nights at the beginning of our trip and one night at the end of our trip (the rest of the time, we traveled around the Sacred Valley). We had a standard double the first time--it was cozy yet had all we needed, was clean, and nicely decorated. The second time, we had a deluxe double--more spacious with a refrigerator and jacuzzi bath tub. Both rooms opened to a courtyard. Breakfast was fresh with plenty of options (scrambled eggs, sausage, rolls & toast, fresh fruit, ham and cheese, cereal, fresh juices, coffee & tea). The staff was excellent. We left a cell phone behind in our room. When we called, the staff located the phone and held it for us until our return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73wanderlust73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear SometimesFlyer,

Knowing that you felt at home in Tierra Viva, make us feel so proud of what we are doing.

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again with us very son.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Great hotel, great location just off the main square, throughly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky_66sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We arrived late at night and found out our room had a water bed (not advertised online). The heater kept the bed at around 70 degrees (too hot!). Two adults sleeping in a queen size waterbed that floats around all night is not comfortbale. What makes a hotel place water beds in a room???. How to resolve? I told the desk attendant the next morning that we would require a new room which we received and it was nicer and more comfortable, without the seating area having to be on an upstairs platform.

The free breakfast is okay to average, nothing insipred.

One day the hotel ran out of towels and did not get replaced until 6pm. What hotel doesnt have enough linene to cover the need? Is this place running on that shoe string of a budget it cannot replace all towel to all rooms?

Access to free internet at all times is nice, and free coca tea at all times also good.

Overall a nice hotel with kinks that need to be worked out.

Room Tip: If ypou do not like your assigned room with surprises ask for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Atlanta1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Atlanta 1972,

Thank you for having stayed at Tierra Viva and we are sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay with us.

Regarding your comment, our hotel has only two rooms with water beds, and it is because, sometimes, it can get too cold in Cusco and some of our guests really enjoy having a water bed where they can control the temperature of it.

We apologize if you did not like it, but as you have written in your comment, as soon as you told us that you did not feel comfortable with it, we changed you immediately to other room.

On the other hand, regarding the replace of towels, we strongly apologize for the incident. Yet, it was a mistake from our housekeeper and not a running out of stock as you have mentioned.

In all Tierra Viva Hotels, we have strong policies about quality services and that is why we are ranked on the top positions.

Once again, we apologize for the incidents you have had at our hotel and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing