We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, rooms and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #26 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

It was fantastic to be so close to the sights of Cusco without hearing the noise from nightclubs in nearby streets Tierra Viva does it by having rooms organized around two inside courtyards without windows or openings towards the outside. It felt a bit strange at the beginning but e got used to it, as ventilation is good.
The hotel is also pleasantly decorated, rooms are comfortable. We recommend the triple room with mezzanine for families with one or two kids (not toddlers though, as there are some stairs)
Staff was also extremely friendly and helpful. As far as service goes, it was just as excellent as at the 5 star property we stayed on the previous nights. For example, when they saw me walk in from the market with flowers for my wife they brought me a vase without even needing to ask.
The only minor flaw was that we didn't have hot water on the last morning. It seems that transitions between gas bottles are occasionally complicated.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petitdobrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012

Dear Petitdobrasil,

Thanks for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva!

We wish you an excellent 2012 and we hope you can visit us again very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel two days before the Inka Trail hike and one day after. The hotel is great, with good rooms, they are one of the more pricier hotels. They stored our bags while we were on the trail. One of the rooms we stayed in had a shower drain that was sluggish, so they gave us another room upon our return from the Inka Trail when we requested. The morning break fast is included. Even though the hotel says 'Cusco Plaza' they are not right on it, they are 'off the plaza' on a side street Suecia.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TkPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012

Dear TkPhilip,

Thanks for your comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva!

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed here 3 nights in total. The first two nights we stayed in Superior room. They gave us the room right next to reception area. We started to suffer from altitude sickness on the first night and we couldn't sleep at all due to the loud noise from the disco place nearby. The next morning we headed to Machu Picchu without any sleep and we were in bad form.

The second night there was a loud noise from the other side of the wall. Some guys from the next building kept banging the wall started at 4 am! and didn't finish until 9 or 10 am. At this point we couldn't take it anymore, so I asked the staff to change my room to other side of the building. The room we got was on a second floor and it was a standard room. I personally think that the standard room is nicer than Superior room. The bed in Superior room was too high but the bathroom was nicer and it has more space than Standard room.

The location is great though. Only 3 minutes walk and then you are right at Plaza de Armas. They staff were nice enough especially the women and a guy wearing glasses in particular. There was another guy who checked us in and wasn't so friendly.(the good looking one) He didn't really want to help when I asked him about getting taxi in the morning to Poroy station. He also hangs around balcony at night and talking on the phone all the time. I also noticed that he didn't even say hi or acknowledge the guests when they walked in to the hotel which I think is pretty bad manner for a front desk staff.

The hotel breakfast was good and it started quite early so you don't need to worry if you are heading to Poroy station in the morning. The hotel also has coca tea available 24 hours at reception area and also 3 computers and a printer. I would recommend this hotel to a friend but should try to avoid the room on the same floor at reception desk as it can get very noisy at night.

The hotel also offered free transfer from the airport to hotel. Just let them know your flight schedule in advance.

Room Tip: If you don't have big luggage like we did, you better book for a standard room as it's prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We could not have had a better time. Staff were fantastic and our driver Jesus was fabulous. We used Jesus to book our tours which turned out perfect. We were always picked up on time and the vehicles were perfect to almost new. Jesus seemed to be always there to see that we were looked after. The hotel itself surpassed all our expectations and seconds from the main square Plaza de Armas. Fantastic courtyard, great views from upper patio, perfect breakfast buffet and always coca tea ready. Thanks to all who made our vacation perfect. We stayed on two occasions for a total of 5 days in December and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room 204 was very quiet and WiFi was always strong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012

Dear Rayhill,

We are so glad that you enjoyed you stay with us.

Thank you for your wonderful words about Tierra Viva and we hope that you can visit us again very soon

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This is a great hotel in a fabulous location! The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. We spent a few nights here before doing the Inca trail and returned for one night after. The hotel stored our luggage and valuables while we were gone for no charge. Would definitely recommend it as a great place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrinaaa111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012
Google Translation

Estimada Katrinaaa111,

Muchas gracias por tu excelente comentario acerca de nuestro hotel.

Te deseamos un excelente 2012 y esperamos volver a tenerte muy pronto con nosotros.

Saludos Cordiales,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Director General
Tierra Viva Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed in the deluxe queen bedroom and the suite and it was both great except for the room 401 because it could a little loud since its in the same floor as the reception area. But fantastic service, when we need medical atttention they assisted us promptly. Very sumptous buffet breakfast! The carrot bread was to die for. We stayed there for 5 days. They even let us check out for a later time. Thank you again!

Room Tip: suite and just not room 401!everything else should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Visit didn't start or end well. We had organised a free transfer from the bus station to the hotel on arrival. Arrived after 12 hours on the bus overnight, tired and a bit grumpy to find noone there. Since bus arrived a little early, we waited and gave them the benefit of the doubt. At the point there was only 1 taxi left, our only other option, I called the hotel and was told they didn't have a transfer booked, I should pay for the taxi myself and they would give me a free transfer on my leaving the hotel. Once I arrived at the hotel I could see from the booking that they did have my transfer booked and asked what had gone wrong. At this point I was lied to a second time and told that a car was there if a bit late and I had not seen them. At this point I asked to speak to the manager who got on the phone as it was 7am, apologised profusely and offered a free breakfast. Made the point the most upsetting part was the lying rather than the failure in pick up.

Hotel itself is definitely well located only a short minute walk to the main plaza. There is a business centre of 3 computers and a rare printer to use as much as you want. The rooms are ok. Breakfast is ok, although there is generally only one member of staff who is stretched to refill, clear tables and wash dishes so it can take too long for refills.

Our first room was on the ground floor with a window onto a courtyard which meant we couldn't open it so it was stuffy. We were next to a fountain which was turned on at 7.15am each morning, was very loud and woke me up. Unnecessary and annoying.

We went off to the Sacred Valley and returned to Cusco and the hotel (pre booked unfortunately) and were met with 4 completely different members of staff who fussed over us and offered a choice of 3 different rooms. I wondered if I had been too harsh as they were clearly now trying to make up for things. I chose a room where I could open the window and found it much better.

Unfortunately all this hard work was ruined on our departure. Checking out early in the morning I was met at the reception desk by the 2 members of staff who had checked us in and lied on the first arrival. All seemed OK and was given a free transfer to the bus station. However during the transfer the hotel (the porter specifically) called the driver asking to speak to me and accused me of stealing the alpaca blanket from the room. I had in fact, as you usually do, just folded it and put it away somewhere (I don't remember where but there weren't many places to put things so think it went in the wardrobe). I told them I hadn't taken anything and it was in the room. Conversation worsened from there as they just kept repeating it wasn't there. I trust from the fact I haven't heard anything since that it was found in the room, shame I wasn't sent an apology.

Overall with the exception of Elias (who organised faultless a taxi back from Sacred Valley), it was a really unpleasant experience. Being lied to and accused of stealing is not just poor service, it is terrible and still upsets me now to think about it. Stay somewhere else, there are lots of hotels in Cusco.

Room Tip: If you do go (I don't recommend it), choose a room away from the fountains and where you can ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JZKTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Dear JZKTA,

I cannot explain how sorry we are for the unpleasant experience that you had during your stay at Tierra Viva.

What you have written in your comment is unacceptable and I can assure you that is not our standard of service and that it will not happen again.

It is the first time that something like that happened to us and we strongly apologize for that.

I personally sent you an email on the 18th of November apologizing for what has happened, but apparently you have not received it.

Once again, we strongly apologize and we hope that you can give us the opportunity of serving you again in the future and show you the excellent service that Tierra Viva always give to its travelers.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 172 in Cusco
1,552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 172 in Cusco
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £55 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing