We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Nearby Hotels
US$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Torre Dorada(Cusco)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$421
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$490
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$456
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$351
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$710
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
743
321
66
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
743
321
66
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain plazasuperior roommachu picchucoca teatamalesjacuzzi tubinca traillight sleeperbottom floorthe hotel staffinterior roomperfect locationrestaurant recommendationsthe breakfast areareception areawould definitely stay here againno elevator
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We are a family of 4 and stayed for 2 nights in Cusco. Rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. They have a heater for the cold nights but we didn't really need it in our room but was good to have the option. The hotel is off of plaza de Armas and is close to everything. They offer oxygen for guest who need it and the breakfast which is included was one of the best we had in Peru. We enjoyed sitting in the enclosed courtyard with a wood burning fireplace. The hotel is built along a hill so to access the rooms you need to walk down steps. Not good for the elderly but that's basically all of cusco... You need to walk a lot of steps and inclines throughout the city. There's a good view of the city from the siting room off the lobby with a terrace .

The people working at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. All in all we really enjoyed pur stay there and would definitely go back and stay again here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the bigger courtyard and higher floor if you like morning light. Some rooms are quite dark in the lower levels and eecia Ly facing the small courtyard.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear BLM10,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considerin Tierra Viva a “Wonderful Hotel in Cusco”.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel in Lima, Cusco, Puno or Arequipa, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, 2 before and one after Inca Trail. This is great hotel just few steps away from Plaza de Armas. Very good breakfast, mate de coca any time you want, comfortable bed, free luggage storage and free transfer from/to airport. Only thing you need to be aware is to make sure your window doesn't face the street when your stay falls during the weekend. It will be noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaciejK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear MaciejK,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any of our hotels very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My boyfriend and I typically stick to hostels when traveling, but I thought it would be a nice idea to treat ourselves with the nicest hotel we could afford in Cusco the night after completing our 4 day/3 night trek on the Inca trail. Choosing Tierra Viva was one of the best decisions we made the entire trip. My only regret is that we only spent 12 hours in the hotel; I wish we'd booked more than one night! The value and comfort would've certainly been worth it.

We got the queen superior room, which had a second level interior open lounge area for reading, and a moon or sun light that you could open and close by remote. We were blown away. All we really needed was a comfortable bed and a hot shower, and Tierra Viva certainly delivered on those, as well. The bathroom was wonderful with a great tub and shower, nice pressure, and hot water. The bed was big and fluffy with plenty of blankets and pillows. Upon arriving in the room, the concierge also informed us that the delicious beer, wine, and drinks in the fridge were free of charge, as was the bottled water (an absolute must in Peru) waiting for us in the room. Wow!

Plus, the location was wonderful. There are many hotels and hostels in Cusco that make you climb a long alleyway of stairs to reach them from the Plaza de Armas, and after 4 days of exhausting trekking we were afraid this would be true of Tierra Viva as well, but it was just half way up a gentling climbing street super close to the main square.

Check out was at 9am, which was one downside as we were expecting to be able to sleep in for an 11am checkout, but their breakfast ran until 10 and was worth waking up for. Tamales, cakes, eggs, a wide array of juices, coffees, teas, and the best olives and bacon you'll ever have. Being able to enjoy that meal after checkout made the earlier wake up completely worth it.

I would recommend Tierra Viva without hesitation. Their service, location, and amenities are amazing, especially for the bargain price they charge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the queen superior on the second floor with the breakfast plan. It was quiet, lavish, and large, and the breakfast is worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear KattJanson,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with all tripadvisor´s travelers.

We are so glad that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Summary:

Overall FANTASTIC hotel for the price. Experienced some problems, but how the hotel staff handled it is why I highly recommend this place.

Problem:
In the middle of the night in our Superior Room, my fiance and I were woken up by some scratching noise inside the room. The noise continued so we ended up calling the front desk to see if they can do something about it. The lady told us that there are no rooms available that are similar to ours but we insisted on any available room so she provided us with a single room located across the hall. Within 2 minutes of the call, someone knocked on our door and inspected our room, helped transfer our immediate belongings to the single room, and apologized for the inconvenience. The single room was significantly smaller than our Superior Room but was equally clean. We could not fall back asleep in the Single Room because we could hear the music from the adjoining club/bar.

The next morning, the assistant manager called us and apologized profusely for the problems. He personally helped carry the rest of our belongings out of the superior room and extended our check-out time. When we checked out, the manager of the hotel personally apologized and gave us a full refund (in cash).

Pros:
-Very modern, well decorated, and clean hotel
-Stayed at a Superior Room (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for the price)
-Superior has two levels: upstairs is sitting area with table and sofa bed and downstairs is the bed, tv, bathroom
-Fully stocked minibar (complementary water, soda, beer - restocked only once per stay)
-Spacious and very clean bathroom (big round bathtub/shower)
-Plenty of outlets for your gadgets
-Safe is big (can accomodate laptop and an SLR camera)
-Breakfast buffet: A good variety of hot and cold items (eggs, sausage, bacon, tamales), breads, jam, cereal, juices, and hot beverages).
-Employees: tended to your every need, friendly, spoke English very well, handled issues very professionally with the intent of ultimately making the customer very happy very quickly.
-portable heater in the room, but our room was already at a comfortable temperature
-Two public computers and printer were available for your use.
-Wifi worked well

Cons:
-No windows in the Superior Room (just skylight controlled by remote)
-Single Room is loud (we stayed on a Friday night). There is a club or bar next door. The music was amazing, but when you are trying to sleep, you could care less.
-no elevators, but staff will help you with luggage
-early check-out time (but i feel like that is the norm for all of Cusco)
-weak wifi in breakfast area


Even if we didnt get a refund, I would still highly recommend this place just based on how apologetic they were and how quickly they tried to resolve the issues.

Room Tip: Do not get room 202 (single room in floor 2) during a weekend night. very loud music.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear WillD,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We strongly apologize for the inconvenients that you had during your stay at our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A pleasant hotel in the heart of Cusco.
The location is perfect.
The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable.
In the bathroom you have everything you need.
Breakfast is tasty and varied.
The stuff are very nice polite and helpful.
No elevator.
You can not ask for more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear NivaS,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for ranking Tierra Viva as “Splendid”.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews