We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #23 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Tierra Viva-rooms were nice, staff was helpful and tea was always available. Nothing seemed like a problem for the staff, they were ways willing to help. Very close to plaza de Armas, which was wonderful!!! Would stay again if we travel to Cusco again. Only one little issue, the hotel is next to a very, very loud disco tech ....the music plays very loud until 3am. Fortunately for us we were so tired most of the time it didn't bother us. Keep that in mind if you are a light sleeper.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenzylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director de Recepción at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Lenzylamb,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Nice Hotel”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    289
    56
    14
    10
See reviews for
148
573
82
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We, a group of 9, recently stayed at this hotel twice for 2 nights each (total 4 nights) - once before visiting Machu Pichu and then after return. This is one of the most over rated hotels in Cusco. The hotel has one of the worst ventilation and it feels like living in a well or a hole with a closed top. Early morning, they light up the fire place on the lowest floor and with no proper outlets for smoke, one feels suffocated in the rooms. Of the 4 nights we stayed there, on 2 days we had to shower with cold water as there was no hot water. Also, despite our repeated requests, we were not assigned rooms on the same floor while we had specified this when booking. The staff is great but, unfortunately, with the condition of the property, they are not able to help much. Look at other options to get value for your money

Room Tip: If you insist to stay in this well/ hole, insist on rooms on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetobevegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Lovetobevegetarian,

We strongly apologize for the inconvenient that you had during your stay at our hotel.

What you have stated in your comment it´s definitely not part of our standard service and we can guarantee you that the corrective measures have been taken to assure you that it will not be repeated.

Once again, we strongly apologize, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

For the money, you'd be hard-pressed to find a comparable hotel in Cusco. Tierra Viva Hotels do a lot to give their guests a five-star experience, with amazing service and great amenities and appointments. The Plaza is a cute little hacienda-style hotel with an enclosed courtyard acting as the lounge and dining room, and awesome little rooms. Ours was a bi-level suite with a salon on the mezzanine level, and a remote-controlled skylight in the exposed-beam ceiling (absolutely gorgeous!). Everything looks recently remodeled, with very quaint colonial style furniture. The bathroom was very modern, with a huge soaker tub. The breakfast buffet was very nice, with some unique choices (alongside the standard fare) such as tamales and local fresh fruits. The staff was amazingly helpful, too. The airlines lost our luggage, and they handled all the communications for us. We came back to our room one night and there were our bags waiting for us! Best of all, the Plaza is right around the corner from the Plaza de Armas, the central square of Cusco. All-in-all a perfect stay. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Steven M,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel arranges free pick up at the airport. Even though our flight was very early our room was ready at about 9am. The receptionist recommended a great place for vegetarians. Our room had a small balcony facing a narrow side street which was generally quiet. Other rooms seemed to have windows facing into the courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear A M,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Cove, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had a very pleasant experience during our three night stay. The available coca tea was very helpful with the altitude sickness. Breakfast included a wide variety of foods and was quite delicious. Staff was helpful with information. Location was very close to the main square. The only downfall was that the room did not have much ventilation and if we kept our first floor window opened a crack you heard all the other guests make noise in the hotel. Overall, a very pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor seemed to only have one window without a screen, which hurt the ventilation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Erika0108,

We are so glad of knowing that you had a pleasant stay at Tierra Viva.

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and and we hope to have the opportunity of attending you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our Inca Trail hike. Someone picked us up at the airport upon arrival and took us to the hotel where we immediately had some coca tea. The staff were super helpful in arranging a day tour and delivery of our luggage to another city (we were not returning to Cusco post-hike) with no communication problems. We were even able to borrow the scales to make sure our trail bags weren't too heavy and our 4am checkout was super smooth.

We had the room immediately below the the reception area so air circulation wasn't great but was fine given the weather at the time. We could hear the faint thump of the discoteca down the street at night and every time a car drove up the road (narrow one-way plaza so very few) but we were so tired it didn't really bother us.

Great location near the Plaza de Armas but tucked away in a tiny alley. This was a great value (use the TripAdvisor discount) and would recommend highly!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sfrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear sfrunner,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any of our hotels, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is the first hotel in Cusco i tried. I chose this one because of the high ratings it gets. Rooms are comfy, clean and big enough. Breakfast in the beautifull atrium with fireplace is ok and everyone will be able to find something to eat and drink. Im very happy i chose this one and will stay in this hotel again if i ever come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Ruben v,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#17 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing