We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for the Price but Spend More if you Can...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #24 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 got a great rate of $240 per night for two rooms at this hotel from booking.com. If this is all you can afford to spend then I doubt you can do much better in central Cusco.

First the positives:

- great location 100 yards from the central square.
- clean
- nice bathroom
- excellent staff who do all they can to make your stay enjoyable
- free airport transfer
- good breakfast included
- welcomed with coca tea
- free bottled water
- free beer on first night
- safe in room

Sounds perfect right? Well sadly my family is checking out 2 days early and moving to the JW Marriott for twice the price. The negatives...

- there is a night club next door whose dance music reverberates through the entire hotel from 7pm - 5am. It is just loud enough to be annoying.
- as best as I can tell, only two rooms (401 and 501) have an exterior window. It is oppressively claustrophobic.
- the rooms have poor sound-proofing. You can hear every car drive by, every footstep on the stairs, conversations and even the light switch going on and off in the room next door. We tried ear plugs and that helped, but often you need to get up early for an excursion and need to hear your alarm.
- no A/C, which is doubly bad when you don't have a window.

If you can afford it, I recommend that you pay more.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank mdl100468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear mdl100468,

Thank you for your comment and for having stayed with us.

We hope to have you again very soon at any of our Tierra Viva Hotels.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Magnificent hotel in full center of Cusco. Spacious room, very comfortable bedding, and especially a staff of a big kindness and a perfect efficiency. To recommend.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Christian P,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima, Arequipa, Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great hotel, very well located. Staff is full of little attentions that make the stay very pleasant.
We stayed 2 nights there. Hotel sent a taxi to pick us at airport and explained well things to do in Cuzco. Thanks a lot!

Room Tip: Nice bath tube in rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geant_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear geant_br,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “great hotel”.
We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima , Arequipa , Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at Tierra Viva Plaza for 6 nights in Jan and cannot say a bad word about it! From booking to arriving, communication via email was quick and flawless. The location is perfect - two minute walk from the main square full of bars and restaurants. The staff throughout the hotel were so polite and friendly, and cannot do enough to help you. Towards end of our stay I became ill, reception staff were very attentive and helpful in calling out a doctor, the hotel has good connections with the local clinic, hotel also providing complimentary cocoa tea for altitude sickness. Our room was beautifully decorated, cosy and very clean. Overall, we were very pleased with our choice of hotel, and should we return to Cusco, would most definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K7R19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear K7R19,

Thank you very much for your comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to other travelers.

We are so glad of knowing that you had a wonderful time with us, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I love Tierra Viva Vusco Plaza very much, this is really a good chose for accommodation in Cusco: best location, lovely and cozy hotel with warm decoration, friendly staff always wants to help guest, good breakfast...I will stay here every time while visiting Cusco in Peru.

Room Tip: Rooms with small balcony is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONG Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear HONG Y,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Great Hotel”

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed that much your stay at our hotel, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights only. The first night on the 5th floor in the only suite they offer.
The last two days we stayed at the 4th floor (which is actually the main floor form the entrance to the reception), it was a superior room.
Both rooms are the only ones that offer a good view from Cusco and are very well equipped and comfortable with good sized beds and jacuzzi.
Breakfast is served early every day in the 1st floor were we had a simple but very good breakfast on the fire place.
Everyone in this hotel was so kind with us, you felt like home. Simple details like asking you if you "slept good" and "how do you feel"...does any Hotel nowadays still care about us every day like that?
It´s try it can get a little bit loud as it is located near the main square. If your sleep is too light they have 2 other locations more far away. If you finish tired well prepared for sleep after a long walk at the ruins you might have no issue like I did.
Oh, and forgot to mention...the price is absolutely acceptable, don't hesitate asking for an upper class room, it´s worth your comfort.

Room Tip: Choose the suite or superior room at the 4th and 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpllanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear jpllanos,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for sharing you excellent experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It does not have a grand lobby or a pool and for that you get $400. off the bill per night, as Tierra Viva was less than $100. per night to the one with the pool etc, that was $500. per night. I don't know about you but I did not come to Cusco to jump in a pool. I came to see the culture, nature, history of the place.

Now before you start thinking this place must be a real dump. No no no, nothing could be further from that. I had a beautiful room with a big comfortable bed all to myself, good TV, nice heater to warm me at night, a modern tasteful bathroom, historical musical instruments decorated the walls, lovely wooden french doors that opened to the interior court yard, beautiful dark wood floors that looked original to the building. I had available to me a nice a breakfast in the dinning area next to the court yard and a nice private area with computers at my disposal. I was picked up at the airport as requested, I was greeted with warm coca tea. From the Lobby, I walked out onto a small, sunny, terrace, with a great view of the city below. I was given a map and I was helped with taxi and directions to anywhere I wished to go. Lucky for me this hotel is a few steps on a side street from the Main Plaza as I did not realize how the altitude sickness would hit me. I had such lack of energy, I was grateful that I did not have to go far to get to all the places I wanted to go around the plaza. My advice is to plan on having 2 days, at least, to get acclimatized to the altitude of Cusco, then you can better enjoy some adventures further out without feeling like you are going to drop dead. Anyway there is a lot to do around the Plaza, interesting museums, shops and people watching in the park. Plan ahead as to what you would like to buy for friends and family and bring cash in Sols, as many places do not take credit cards. This is the place to buy Aplaca Sweaters and Scarfs. Most of the locals depend on the tourist trade for a living, so please purchase directly from them if you can. There is still a lot of poverty, your purchases mean a lot to them.

Room Tip: If you wish more quite, get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fcoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear fcoya,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for having stayed at our hotel.

We are so glad of knowing that Tierra Viva was for you “The perfect Cusco Hotel"

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £56 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing