We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #24 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location with comfort”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had the suite, room 501, which had wonderful views of the Cusco rooftops. The room was nice, though a bit awkwardly shaped, as a long narrow room. The staff were able to meet our needs, though they were not great at making recommendations for restaurants (they seemed young). All in all a nice, clean and comfortable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sierratravels,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima, Arequipa, Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    293
    58
    16
    11
See reviews for
152
586
82
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

First off let me just say that we actually had a different hotel booked for the last half of our stay while in Cusco and decided to cancel and stay at Tierra Viva for the full 10 days we were there. We LOVED this hotel

If you are concerned about the outside noise, just request to stay on 1st floor as I am told they tend to be quieter. We stayed on the 2nd and 3rd floors during our stay and to be honest, the noise didn't bother us at all. You are less than a block away from the main square! There is going to be noise anywhere you stay around there.

The hotel staff is what makes this hotel. We can not say enough WONDERFUL things about the staff at Tierra Viva. You will feel like you are in a 5 star hotel as they literally cater to your EVERY need. Don't hesitate to ask them anything. They went above and beyond with every request we made.

So here's our breakdown of the hotel

PROS
* Close to the main square and by default close to all essential services (restaurants, shopping, money exchange, etc).
* Clean rooms
* 5 STAR service staff!
* The coca tea is always available and helps with altitude sickness.
* Free AM breakfast which includes: cereal, fruit, toast, ham and cheese slices, olives, teas and coffees, tamale, eggs, sausages, etc.
* Close to external laundry services. 4-6 soles (about $2 USD) per kilo and they do a wonderful job (returned perfectly folded, no funny smells, and delivered to your hotel!).
* They work with Responsible Travel Peru - http://www.responsibletravelperu.com.

Note on Responsible Travel Peru - these guys were AMAZING! We just happened to run unto Guido (the founder) on our first day in the lobby and I am sooo glad we did. We were planning on just hanging out the first 5 days before we did the Inca Trail but with his help, we worked out the perfect 5 day itinerary that worked out perfectly for us. This was custom tailored to what we wanted to do and see - and EAT - while in Cusco,

CONS
* The noise in the evenings. I didn't want to add this as a con as it did not bother us at all but I know many TripAdvisor reviewers can be very very picky (as they should be) so I want to ensure I give a thorough and complete review.

We plan on returning to Cusco at sometime and when we do - we will ABSOLUTELY be staying at the Tierra Viva hotel.

Note to travelers (in our case, US citizens): Make all of your exchanges before coming to Cusco if possible. If you do plan on bringing dollars, make sure they are in pristine condition or some local vendors may not take them (ie nicks, weathered bills, tears) and if you bring $100 bills make sure the serial number doesn't start with a 'CB' as this series has been counterfeited. The bank in the square next to McDonald's is more forgiving and took most of our bills with no issues. Just a heads up!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike66350216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Mike66350216,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima, Arequipa, Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I felt I received 5-star service at 3-star prices at Tieraa Viva Cusco Plaza during my stay in January 2014. I will hopefully find time to upload photos at a later date, but the superior double rooms were huge, with fantastic bathrooms and really comfortable beds. I spent one decadent day in bed relaxing from my trip (you do a LOT of trekking in Peru, so you will need to plan for breaks), just catching up on the cable television shows and movies I NEVER have time to watch in my regular life.
The location is fabulous -- you are in the center of Cusco, but removed enough from the fray to enjoy quiet.
The hotel staff is really lovely and more than happy to help you arrange your tours of the region, including Machu Picchu, so don't stress too much about pre-planning.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get a superior double if you can, and request a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Anna T,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Great Hotel”.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima , Arequipa , Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I found this hotel to be exceptional, in service and location. Located near the main plaza, it is about 5-10 minutes walk to all the museums and popular attractions. The hotel is very well kept and the staff was very helpful. The 24-hour availability of mate de coca is nice, especially to help with altitude sickness. The breakfast bar has a nice assortment of food and drinks. The room I stayed was very clean. The bathroom was very modern. My only complaint is that on certain nights, the music from nearby clubs was so loud it did wake me from sleep. For the price, it is definitely a great place to stay. Just bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilio007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Neilio007,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Great Hotel”.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima , Arequipa , Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed at the Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza last week whilst I was in Peru for vacation. I booked a double superior room and was given room 401, one of the exterior hotel rooms in the property.

Overall the hotel was a good deal for what I received, but I am unsure whether I would recommend it to other travelers based on my experience, especially as I outline the pros and cons of the property.

Pros:
Location-The Cusco Plaza is literally right off of the Plaza de Armas in central Cusco, though it is on a very small side street that our cabbie from the airport refused to go up
Service-The staff is very friendly and coca tea to help with altitude sickness was always available to guests
Free Breakfast-Breakfast was available every day and it also included hot items (scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, chard pie, and tamales), fresh fruit, fresh rolls, and cold cuts, in addition to cereal (e.g., corn flakes) and yogurt. There were fresh juices and coffee available as well.
Rooms-As I stated, I booked a double superior room and was assigned 401, just off of the hotel lobby. The room was large and nicely appointed. It had a jacuzzi bathtub and a nice LCD tv. Since it was an above ground room, there's also a nice view of the top of the Cusco skyline and to the mountains beyond.

Cons
Noise-A huge negative is the nightclub that seems it's like a door or two down the street from the Cusco Plaza. The noise is extremely disruptive. I would highly recommend against staying here Friday or Saturday night. The music was blaring literally until 7:00 a.m. the next morning. If this kind of thing irks you, DO NOT stay here.

All in all, if you can get over the noise issue, I'd recommend staying here.

NOTE: Since Cusco has some old plumbing, there is a sign in the bathroom asking you to throw your used sanitary tissue into the wastebasket rather than flushing. Just an FYI.

Room Tip: Spend the $20 more a night and book a double superior room. Request 401 or 501.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alden-from-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Alden C,

Thank you for your comment and for having stayed with us.

We hope to have you again very soon at any of our Tierra Viva Hotels.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This property is located less than a block or so from the main square in Cusco. From the moment you arrive you are treated very well by the staff. They were very attentive, informative, and responsive. Wilbur was a real treat to work with as he always had a smile and was on top of things.
We stayed here two separate nights and the staff and property continued to impress.
When we went to Aguas Caliente they stored our bags for us and when we returned a couple of days later, upon check-in, the bags were already in the room and we had an even nicer room (same rate!).
The toiletries were beyond the basics, some fancy soap with stuff in it, quality shampoo too.
The breakfast selection was fresh and delicious and the staff on-hand were very pleasant.
They had the cocoa tea always available in the lobby.

Top choice hotel!

Room Tip: Request a room that's not facing the street. It's cool to have balcony but with that you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingHuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear KingHuskey,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima, Arequipa, Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Tierra Viva hotels seem to have found the magic solution to service, quality and value for money.
Again the staff were most helpful and generally spoke much better english than my Castellano.
The location could not have been better, just 1block up from the Plaza de Armas. We stayed here twice during our visit for a total of 5 nights. The staff worked hard to get us to the airport sucessfully during a local transit strike which became a little ugly.

The only challenges would be a lack of windows ( partially a constraint of the geography) and the background sound from a close by night club. Consider an interior room.

Room Tip: Consider an interior room to lessen the local night club music beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Robert C,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima, Arequipa, Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 167 in Cusco
1,457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#31 of 167 in Cusco
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing