We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tierra Viva Cusco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
“Tierra Viva Cusco”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi is the best kept secret in South America. We have spent nine weeks traveling most of South America and the staff at the Tierra Viva are the standouts in our travels. The rooms are clean, the location is excellent (just a short walk to the town center). The staff could not do enough for us in our two stays at the hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel is excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 444Greg444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    240
    28
    2
    3
See reviews for
179
568
72
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi for only one night and arrived late and left early so I do not think we got to see all the hotel had to offer. However we got the suite which had more space then we expected. The room was very clean and the shower was wonderful. It is a solid five minutes off the square which was perfect since it was the night before the winter solstice and there was a giant concert that seemed to be mostly for locals which was very loud and went all night. We left the festival and went back to our room which was far enough away that we were not disturbed as the party continued. The hotel staff organized our taxi back to the airport in the morning which arrived on time and was half the price of our ride from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seemless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Seemless,

We are so glad that you had a “wonderful night” at Tierra Viva and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penngrove, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We loved this inn. It is very convenient, clean, the staff are wonderful. Beautiful little courtyard to relax in. Thank you for the functional public internet and never-ending supply of coca tea. Would definitely stay here again. Wonderful location. Breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear nbh,

Thank you for consider our hotel a “wonderful place to stay” and for writing an excellent comment.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel was awesome. The staff so very friendly and helpful. My room was very cozy, nice artful decorations and a wonderful modern bathroom. I loved the breakfast, fresh rolls, great Andean cheese and jam.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear greta c,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering us an “awesome hotel”.

We hope to have you again very soon at Tierra Viva.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

During our trip to Peru we stayed at 2 Tierra Viva hotels (Arequipa and Cusco) and we really enjoyed both of them. I chose Cusco Saphi based on previous reviews and glad I did so, this hotel is a real gem!

Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi has a very good location. It's just a short few minutes walk away from the main square Plaza de Armas, but still on a quiet place, so that the quality of your sleep is guaranteed. The rooms are spacious, cosy and clean. Hot water with good pressure was always available and the all the room amenities are of good quality. They even provide two daily bottles of mineral water free of charge, something that you really appreciate in high altitudes. The inner patio and breakfast room are very cute as well and the building itself represents the traditional colonial architecture.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. One night my husband was suffering of altitude sickness and they even helped us to order a dinner to room from a nearby restaurant, so it doesn't relly matter even the itself doesn't have a restaurant.

We also booked the Sacred Valley tour from the hotel. The price was a little bit higher than in some travel agencies, but we were told that it's because of the restaurant where the luch will be served. Once we arrived to the restaurant, there were no doubt that we had made the right choice. We enjoyed one of the best meals of the entire two weeks trip in a lovely garden admiring the huge mountains of the Sacred Valley.

I highly recommend Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, if you want to enjoy of Peruvian hospitality and get a great value for your money!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor with windows on the inner patio.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Prat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Prat 8,

Thank you the time dedicated to write such a wonderful review of our hotel and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with the rest of travelers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed that much your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at the Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi for 5 nights. I have stayed in many hotels in my life but I have never stayed a nicer hotel. The service we received was absolutely the best. These were the nicest most helpful people I have have ever met. Whether it was directions, getting a taxi or just plain advice they were super and on top of it. The breakfast was complete and delicious. The hotel was a short distance from Cusco's main plaza. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. If you're going to Cusco and want to stay a great place the Cusco Saphi is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Martin307,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for having stayed 5 nights at Tierra Viva. It is really an honor for us that you consider our hotel as the best one you have stayed in your life.

Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

What a welcoming hotel! The staff were friendly, spoke Spanish when you addressed them in Spanish and English when you addressed them in English. They also seemed to appear from nowhere when you had bags to handle or sets of doors to negotiate. And best of all, there was a sweet-smelling open wood fire in the reception area to take the chill off the evening air.

We had had equally attractive rooms on our travels, but none were better fitted out: an enormous bed, lots of cupboard space, adequate lighting even after sunset (that was a first), a beautifully decorated and modern bathroom and a hot and powerful shower to die for. Our room was superficially on the ground floor, but there were still a few steps to climb: from reception we climbed a couple of steps to a pretty courtyard with a fountain, through the tunnel beyond and up a few more steps to a second courtyard with bedrooms on three sides and a staircase to the galleried second floor above.

The breakfast room was comfortable and attractive, but with the usual uninteresting breakfast. There does seem to be an assumption that scrambled egg and bread rolls should be enough for anyone, but to be quite honest the fruit juice and coca tea were the most important items.
We had to leave the bulk of our luggage here while we took just overnight bags for our journey to the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. On our return three days later – cold, tired and later in the day than we had planned for – we found that our room had been heated and our bags were waiting for us. Another plus point for the hotel staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Semper_Te_Fallant,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva’s experience with the rest of travelers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed that much your stay with us.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
1,435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#17 of 162 in Cusco
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Address: Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#21 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cusco is located in what used to be an elegant colonial residence. Throughout the hotel you’ll find a charming contrast between this imperial city’s rich history and modern convenience and comfort. Our spacious rooms are an invitation to rest, offering the ideal place to refuel and start a new day of exploration and discovery. As was characteristic in large colonial residences, our hotel has two interior patios where our guests can relax during a sunny afternoon or enjoy a soft breeze at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing