We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the Tierra Viva for 2 nights at the start and end of our Inca Trail trek and everything about the hotel was just perfect. Free airport pick-up was included with a driver waiting for us as soon as we landed and we were greeted upon arrival at the hotel like old friends. The service at the hotel is exceptional - nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they will go out of their way to help in any way they can.

The rooms are spacious with lovely decor and a fantastic powerful shower - bliss after 4 days on the Inca Trail without a wash!

Breakfast was excellent - buffet style with so much choice. The hotel is in a perfect location about 5 minutes walk from the main square, which meant everything was within a short walk....but you could get some peace and quiet if you wanted to.

When we returned from the Inca Trail at about 8pm, our rucksacks that we had left at the hotel during the trek, were waiting in our room for us and we didn't need to check-in again, which as we'd been up since 3am trekking meant our return to the hotel was made as simple as possible for us.

An excellent choice in Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Barbie1976,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Lovely Hotel Hotel”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    240
    28
    2
    3
See reviews for
179
568
72
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The reviews for this hotel on TA are good but I thought it was OK. We were disappointed after the places we had already stayed in elaewhere in Peru, which were full of charm and personality. Tierra Saphi is trying hard to captu the 'local' flavour but it feels characterless and a bit like a chain hotel. The room (superior) was very small and the only window opened to the courtyard so no privacy if the curtain was open. The bathroom was modern and efficient. The breakfast, adequate.. Not made to order, but a small buffet with pre made stuff. The location - it is just 3 blocks from the main square and that more than a 10 minute walk - but the streetlife deteriorites totally after 2 blocks and there's nothing in the immediAte neighbourhood except condemmed buildings and a large construction site. The staff was excellent, helpful and prompt. If I had to choose a place again in Cusco, i'd prefer a place in a different neighbourhood. Having said that, this location is all set for upgradation and gentrification, looking at all the For Sale signs around!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalimata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear kalimata,

Thank you for your comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We are so sorry that you did not like our decoration. As a matter fact, is the first comment we have received in 3 years of someone that did not like the decoration of our hotel. However, we understand that our travelers could have different tastes.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

This hotel was just fantastic. 5 mins walk from the main square. The service is exceptional and rooms are very spacious and clean, shower fantastic and even a choc every morning! We had free airport pick up as standard. Loved the layout of the hotel and the art decor in each of the rooms. We stayed 2 nights first, then a night in Machu Picchu and back at the hotel for our last night. They kept our luggage and it was in our room ready and waiting for when we arrived back late from Machu Picchu...really nice touch. Breakfast is a standard continental choice. If you ask me, this is a 4 star hotel minimum! Stay here...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear ash176,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Fantastic Hotel”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi is just a short walk from main plaza. My
husband and I walked it several times a day, just about a five minute
walk. We stayed here 2 nights before going to Machu Picchu. We then
stayed at their other location in Cusco (closer to the Plaza) when we
returned, our bags were moved to the other hotel and waiting in our
room when we returned two days later! Very helpful staff, our luggage
was lost and they called the airport/plane company for us several
times until it was delivered. The breakfast was great, lots of
breads, fruits, meats, cheeses, eggs, sausage, juices, tamales. Lots
of choices and the bread was all amazing! We had a standard room with
a king bed, the bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet, and the
shower and bathroom were very nice. The free pick-up from the airport
was nice too!

Room Tip: All the rooms are on an inside courtyard. Ours was in the second open courtyard and was nice, qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leah828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear leah828,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Great Hotel”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Great hotel in cusco. Staff is excellent - best we've come across in Peru. Room we had was really nice. Free one way airport transfer was a nice bonus. Walking distance to main plaza where there are tons of restaurants, etc. Breakfast was okay - not much variety/options.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMksWorkWorthIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear TravelMksWorkWorthIt,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here for one night after our 4-day Inca Trail hike. It was about 3 blocks from Plaza De Armas. About a 10 minute walk. It is not a bad walk but I did wish it was maybe 1-2 blocks closer to the main square.

After the Inca Trail, the room here was pure heaven. Alot more spacious than the room we had at the Cusco Plaza hotel, and the bed was humongous, like a california king bed. The bathrooms were also newer looking and the shower was big--and the water jets from the showerhead was so relaxing. Plenty of space and comfort. I guess this is the extras you get for walking the extra 1-2 blocks. I have zero complaints about the room--it was fantastic.

The buffet style breakfast was the same selection as the Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza and is also 5-10AM--hot foods like scrambled eggs, tamales, sausages, and cold items like fruit, cold cuts, yogurt, cereal. A good mix for complimentary breakfast. One difference I did note was that while the Cusco Plaza location truly kept serving breakfast until 10AM (even at 9:45 items were being refilled), when we arrived at breakfast at the Saphi hotel location between 9:15-9:30, there were no more plates or glasses, hot foods were pretty much gone and things weren't being refilled anymore. We had to ask the staff to bring out plates and cups for us. This wasn't a huge deal to us, but just something to note for future visitors--get there a bit earlier.

After certain hours you need to use the doorbell to get into the hotel. This was a bit awkward for us. We had stayed out for dancing at Ukuku's and when we tried to get back in, there was a bit of a communication issue with the lady answering the bell. She kept asking for our room number...which I must have repeated about 6 times but I guess she did not understand--not sure if it was how I was saying the numbers or if the intercom had too much static. And then she started speaking to us in Spanish which we regretfully could not understand. After several minutes of standing outside trying to tell her what room we were guests in, we were let in. On one hand I'm glad there is security...on the other hand...how to avoid this awkward communication?

Since we had a late departure, the hotel was helpful in holding on to our larger bags until we needed to head to the airport. They even pointed us to their lobby restrooms in case we need to use it, and arranged our taxi to the airport for us (which helps ensure we didn't get ripped off). The 24 hour coca tea by the lobby desk is always a plus. I would recommend this hotel overall. Other than a 1-2 minor awkward points, this hotel was extremely comfortable, a decent location, and the staff is helpful when you request assistance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Sweet P,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

We will review de issue you have referred in your comment regarding the intercom and solved as soon as possible.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, GA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

TIerra Viva Saphi is a nice hotel. Rooms are good size with mordern decor. Good for family of four. Hotel is very close to Plaza Aramas but still in a quite an peaceful area of the city. Definitely worth for the money and would return here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear FunTourist,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#17 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Address: Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#21 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cusco is located in what used to be an elegant colonial residence. Throughout the hotel you’ll find a charming contrast between this imperial city’s rich history and modern convenience and comfort. Our spacious rooms are an invitation to rest, offering the ideal place to refuel and start a new day of exploration and discovery. As was characteristic in large colonial residences, our hotel has two interior patios where our guests can relax during a sunny afternoon or enjoy a soft breeze at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing