We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PEACEFUL HOTEL IN CUZCO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Ranked #14 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for our last 2 nights in Cuzco, having been in another (much busier and noisier) part of the city previously. This hotel is an easy walk to Plaza del Armes and all the sights Cuzco has to offer, but is on a quiet street and is a real oasis, away from the mayhem that exists in some parts of Cuzco. There is a lovely courtyard, free wifi, really comfortable and well appointed rooms, a really good breakfast (included in our rate) and the service is great. It is also close to some of Cuzco's best rated cafés and restaurants, which are literally just down the road. We had a great time just chilling out in this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone staying in Cuzco for a few days.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Matt H,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers and for having stayed at our Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel.

We hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Lima, Cusco, Arequipa or Puno!

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
There are newer reviews for Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location in Cusco, approximately 300m from the main plaza (Plaza de Armes). The rooms are spacious and the bed huge! (the biggest I have seen!), and very comfy.
Daily breakfast is included.
Perhaps the best part about this hotel is the service. We were welcomed with a hot cup of cocoa tea (to help us acclimatise to the altitude). (The tea is free flowing in the main reception area.)
We were able to leave our luggage in the hotel when we headed off for our Machu Picchu trek and it was already in our new room when we returned and checked in again 4 days later. We arrived back late and the heater was on and the bed covers folded back with a chocolate on the pillow.
Nothing was too much trouble.
We had a great time and would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GosiaSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear GosiaSpeed,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi as “a gem in a great location”. We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon in Cusco, Arequipa, Puno or Lima.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Fantastic hotel - big comfy room and bathroom. Great location on a quiet street above the centre. Staff very helpful and allow luggage to be left whilst trekking in the mountains. We stayed before and after the Inca Trail and would definitely recommend it. Decent breakfast too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Cade G,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi" as “Brilliant”. We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked this Hotel for six nights for the Cusco portion of our Peru Travels.

We felt the hotel location was perfect for our needs. It was located on a quieter street not far from the Plaza de Armas (less than a 10 minute walk). It is also in close proximity (considering) to the Saksaywaman Ruins (30 minute walk). We were also able to walk to most of the major museums and churches within a 30 minute span. Nearby there are plenty of restaurants, banks, and shopping.

The hotel itself small and intimate consisting of two floors, but no elevators. There are two courtyards with tables you can sit and have coffee in the mornings. The breakfast area was small but well kept. There was a wood burning fire place as well that they had going most of the time. It was nice to sit around this and have some tea or coffee in the evenings.

We booked the Superior Double Room which consisted of a comfortable kind size bed, an area to hang and store clothes, a desk and chair, as well as a round table with chairs. The room had high vaulted ceilings with a skylight which was a nice touch. The bathroom was nice (looked new) but basic. No tub, but a large shower, basin sink and lots of counter space. The rooms here do not have built in heating but they had a portable radiator heater. This was the only downfall of the stay as these heaters make the air very, very dry. There is also a small kettle in the room and some instant coffee and tea. Daily you get two free bottles of water as well. In the room there was free WIFI, however the connection was spotty. It was either slow, or it would drop a lot. It was good enough for us but if you need to be on it a lot it may be an issue. They do have two computers set up that are connected that guests can use that are much faster.

No complaints at all in regards to service. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help. When we arrived they went over the details and offered us some coco tea. Coco and mint tea is available all day in the small lobby area. Our rooms where cleaned daily without issue and as well there was turn down service.

The breakfast was basic. They had coffee, tea and juices. They had some sliced fruit as well as a fruit basket that had some very interesting and new fruits (to us anyways) that we experimented with daily. They had a few hot items like scrambled eggs and sausages. There was also some breads, pastries and Swiss chard pie. From time to time a staff member would come out and take orders of eggs if needed. If the hotel is busy we did find a few mornings we would have to wait for a table as the area is pretty small. You could always take the food to your room or to the courtyard if needed.

Overall we had an excellent time here and I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Kassi22,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We really value the feedback from our guests because it helps us improve our service every day. We are committed to ensuring that every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels is as pleasant as possible.

Hope to welcome as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights total before and after doing the Inca Trail. Loved everything about it. Old world charm combined with modern room design and fittings. Spacious bathroom and shower. Decent breakfast. What I loved most was the location (5min walk to the central plaza, without the noise and hassle of being right in the middle of everything) as well as the staff, who were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Sam P,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva Saphi as a “Superb little hotel”. We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A group of friends stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and really loved it. Beautiful clean rooms, new bathroom with great shower, great location, excellent breakfast, friendly staff. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear LeahPo,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva as a “Lovely hotel in a great location”. We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (we also stayed at the one in Miraflores) and it is comfortable and clean and up to Tierra Viva standards. Just to mention that there are stairs and more stairs and when first arriving in Cusco it is hard to breathe and that makes it more difficult getting around this hotel. There are a couple other Tierra Viva’s in Cusco (check out the one at the Plaza) and you may want to check on those first before committing to this one if you have any difficulties with maneuverability (we do not and we are in shape but still couldn’t breathe). It is about a 6 minute walk to the Plaza downhill, but again uphill for the return. Pant, pant. Actually, I felt our entire trip to Cusco and Machu Picchu was entirely uphill. Whew!
I would stay at this hotel again if the one at the Plaza was not available as the rooms are nice and quiet and comfy and reception friendly. Good stay overall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailregmel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear sailregmel,

Thank you for your excellent comment! We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 170 in Cusco
1,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 170 in Cusco
1,490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Address: Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#21 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £55 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cusco is located in what used to be an elegant colonial residence. Throughout the hotel you’ll find a charming contrast between this imperial city’s rich history and modern convenience and comfort. Our spacious rooms are an invitation to rest, offering the ideal place to refuel and start a new day of exploration and discovery. As was characteristic in large colonial residences, our hotel has two interior patios where our guests can relax during a sunny afternoon or enjoy a soft breeze at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing