We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very nice quaint boutique hotel about 7-8 minutes walk (uphill) from the main square in Cusco, so very good location - quiet and safe up by the police station. The rooms are set around a lovely little courtyard with a working fountain in the centre, and tables & chairs if you want to sit out. Staff very helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and spoke very good English. As with the other Tierra Viva hotels we've stayed in, the bed was huge, comfortable, and with great quality pillows. Breakfast was adequate, good selection of hot & cold dishes, and the chef comes out and offers bacon & eggs freshly cooked should you want that. All in all, can't fault the whole experience at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Brian2505,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi with other travelers and for having stayed at our hotels.

We hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Lima, Cusco, Arequipa or Puno!

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    244
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
182
578
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toast, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent three nights here recently and it was an excellent choice. Quiet location, accommodating staff and very clean. We had friends stay at various hotels in the immediate area and they all paid more than we did. Some were definitely fancier and pricier but this could not be beat. The neighborhood was very safe and close to everything; the breakfast was ample and constantly refreshed and coca tea was always available. Very cosy! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toasty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Toasty1,

Thank you for your excellent comment!!

Our mission at Tierra Viva is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. That means, that we will do whatever is in our hands to help our travelers to enjoy the city they are visiting.

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon!

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Really enjoyed my stay. The staff was awesome. The location was wonderful. The room was great, except a little on the musty side but considering it was rainy season, I totally get it. My room was completely updated and had all the amenities I needed. The breakfast there was totally awesome, almost worth the stay in itself! I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kg1701d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Kg1701d,

Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoy your stay with us at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi.

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon!

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to stay for the price with an excellent location just outside of the main square. The staff was very accommodating and provided very good recommendation for a local eatery.

Don't use the taxies in the main square they try and overcharge you, better to get a taxi through the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 426kurtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Kurt R,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi with other travelers.

We hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Lima, Cusco, Arequipa or Puno!

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was a cozy boutique hotel located within walking distance from the main plaza. We were treated with a cup of coca tea to help with our altitude sickness. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a good selection and included in the price of the hotel. I loved the outdoor courtyard. Although it's small it was very serene. The room was comfortable and had a heater for those chilly nights. The bathroom was clean and surprisingly modern. Our stay was enjoyable and would highly recommend this gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipsy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Pipsy05,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi with other travelers.

Hope to welcome as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My husband highly enjoyed our stay at the Tierra Viva hotel on Calle Saphi. The staff was very friendly and extremely accommodating. The breakfast staff would cook you up your own eggs or other dish if they were running low at the breakfast buffet. Internet was 100% reliable (which is a huge plus in Peru). And our favorite part of all of the hotel was our California king bed!! Amazingly comfortable!!! Definitely staying here next time we travel to Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Amanda G,

Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoy your stay with us at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi.

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon!

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

After having stayed at two other Tierra Viva hotels in Arequipa and Puno (both excellent hotels) we were very much looking forward to the 3rd one in Cusco. Unfortunately this hotel could not (by far) match the quality of the other 2. The staff at the reception (a girl with orange hair) was totally incompetent (put in a wake up call at 6am for our room even though we never asked for it (it was for another room who probably never got woked up), mixed up the bills, and was quite unfriendly. Some people should simply not work in tourism. Fortunately the other persons from the staff we met were friendly. Our room was not isolated at all. The ceiling to the room above us was only a very thin wooden floor and we could hear every steps and sneezes of our neighbours which made sleeping difficult (probably also for them). Location was just ok. Not as close to the center as advertized though. All in all we would not recommend this hotel. There are plenty of hotels and hostels in Cusco and you can surely find a better location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Breakaway T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Breakaway T,

I have read your comments carefully and I would like to thank you for taking time to let us know your impression.

We are sorry that our hotel has not fully met your expectations. I assure you that we are taking the necessary corrective measures to ensure that such situations do not happen again. We are working very hard to improve our service and comments like yours are very useful.

We truly hope that you continue to be our guest at Tierra Viva Hotels if you ever have the chance to visit us again in Cusco, Puno, Arequipa or Lima.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 167 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 167 in Cusco
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Address: Calle Saphi 766, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#21 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Cusco is located in what used to be an elegant colonial residence. Throughout the hotel you’ll find a charming contrast between this imperial city’s rich history and modern convenience and comfort. Our spacious rooms are an invitation to rest, offering the ideal place to refuel and start a new day of exploration and discovery. As was characteristic in large colonial residences, our hotel has two interior patios where our guests can relax during a sunny afternoon or enjoy a soft breeze at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing