We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed!”
Review of Bar El Cholandes - CLOSED

Bar El Cholandes
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Buffet
Description: Small café bar with excellent Asian, dutch and other food. Good drinks and outstanding coffee. Open 6 days a week, Sundays closed. For your Breakfast, lunch, diner, snacks and bar nights. Located two blocks from the main square.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Closed!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This place no longer exists, apparently it was closed sometime in 2013/2012... :-(

Guess you'll have to fly to Amsterdam to get your hands on some nice bitterballen en een patatje oorlog...

Helpful?
Thank Bas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not able to try”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We were for a couple days in cusco and wanted to try the dutch food. As i am a dutch i try to find places that serves dutch food to try out and cure my home sickness.

We went twice to the place but both times it was closed. On their web is no notice of closure and when we called the phone numbers we didnt get a response it was picked up but then disconnected.

Un able to rate the restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arjen_lima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Dutch cuisine to cure the homesick”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I popped in here for lunch and had a patatje oorlog with kaassoufflees. It tasted great, as the chips, the soufflees as well as the sate sauce were all home made and that was really noticable. I chatted to one of the owners for a while who is also a really nice guy. It is not just snacks or only Dutch cuisine; there is a whole heap of international cuisine on offer, especially curries which are always a good feed. Definitely recommend this place for a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ninka_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pisco!”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We spent two nights planted in this bar drinking a range of strange drinks including the "Machu Picchu" Recommended by our Chimu tour guide!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dutch guys, go here!”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Patatje oorlog, bitterballen and even hutspot. You can't get more Dutch in Peru, honestly. And besides that, they show your weekly game of Eredivisie too! Not to forget about the good cocktails here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iejob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar El Cholandes also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing