We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking hotel, but cold rooms and personal items went missing”
Review of Don Bosco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Don Bosco Hotel
Ranked #43 of 400 Cusco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 December 2011

PROS
- Great looking and unique hotel
- Breakfest was good
- Clean rooms

CONS
- Room was cold
- Personal items were stolen - For two days they were working in our room and during this time underwear (yes! lol), socks and t-shirts went missing as my girlfriend was drying her stuff.
- The hotel is on a hill, but directly above the Plaza de Arms. Please note the location was still conviniet and close to the main attractions.

NOTE
We were traveling for a month across South America and this was the only place where our stuff went missing. Unfortunately this was a great looking hotel with clean rooms and great breakfest, but since our stuff was stolen I have to give the hotel a one star.

Room Tip: Tip: read good and bad reviews because there is always truth in both. Also location is everything be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PATRICIUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

I found the location typical. Everything in Cusco is uphill. I say suck it up or pay the $1.30 to take a taxi. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean. I agree the floors are creaky (so get the room on the top floor) and the school is noisy (although only during the day). I also found the light in the bathroom limited. Cindy was amazing. Remember you can haggle a bargain with almost everything in Cusco.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lapiscina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Excellent staff and a wonderful hotel, excellent value for money. Hotel was close to the main square, only downside is that the hotel is uphill which can be tough during your first few days aclimatising. With this in mind, it would have been handy to have somewhere nearby for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weigy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Located a good walk from city center this would not have been my first choice if staying in Cusco to enjoy the city. A nice newly restored monastery with huge hallways and very large rooms. The ceilings were nearly 20 ft tall in my room. The room was a bit simple but comfortable having all the amenities that you would need for a restful stay. The television was poorly placed and left it difficult to watch while I was in bed. The breakfast was average. One downside is that the hotel is located next to a school and if you wish to sleep late on a school day, well, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I stayed at the Don Bosco for 5 nights in early May and as much as I'd like to give this hotel a good review because of the kind staff and clean rooms it just cant happen.

As some of the reviews mention the hotel is up a step hill from the main plaza and while I walked up everytime you can take a taxi from the plaza for probably 3 soles ($1.25 US) so being up the hill should be a isssue and it does have a great view, but nowhere in the room can you sit and enjoy is if that was one of the draws. The room has very high ceiling and a small space heater and was clean and made every day, after running the water for about 5 to 10 minutes there was plenty of hot water, the morning breakfast was the standard Euro breakfast which was at times enough to get you going and out the door and the front desk staff was alway friendly and if need be helpfull.


So now for the not recommend part. The first thing you need from a hotel when traveling is a place to get a good nights rest and with the night street noise, the trafic noise from a cross street and being attached to a school where kids are droped off for two hours weekday mornings and then honked too for a goodbye and a traffic police outside blowing a whistle to keep things moving every morning, not to mention the echo of the hallway and as excpected lack of wall insulation makes it almost imposible to get any sleep at all. I also found the bed to be below even the stadard rock hard hotel bed by being lumpy and the pillow actually hurt my head (not sure that's why they were invented) but sleeping in this hotel is almost impossible and because I broke my own rule of staying at hotels that have less than 25 reviews I paid the price. I'm also now very sceptical of the reviews that were dated Feb 03 though Mar 12 as all where in spanish and all just mention great staff great hotel and gave 5 points.

As this hotel did have some good point is it was located on even a half quite location and they get some halfway decient bedding it would be fine. But as it isn't unless you can sleep on a lumpy brick with the noise of school kids and dumptrucks driving by I would recommend this hotel. Sorry Don Bosco!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wadawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

First things first: though it may only be 200 meters from the Plaza de Armas, it's an uphill 200 meters, so it feels quite far (especially for those of us affected by the altitude change). The first half of Avenida Suecia has shops and cafes, but the second half is pretty deserted after dark. I didn't feel unsafe, just that there aren't many other tourists up there.

That said, this was a very clean, well-kept hotel. It is connected to a school (Colegio), and thus the rooms have extremely high ceilings and huge windows with beautiful light. We were there on Easter weekend, so all was quiet, but I'd be suspicious of the noise level on a school morning.

The included breakfast was standard and of good quality. The staff we encountered were friendly, but didn't stand out. Coming from family-run inns in the Sacred Valley, I think we were a bit spoiled by people really making you feel at home. This felt a bit more like a standard hotel.

Good value, nonetheless.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GringaAlta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Hotel is situated near the main square of Cusco and the square is easily accessible by one of the two stairs nearby. Hotel staff is friendly but don't give you the best options (taxi to Sacred Valley would be twice as expensive with the hotel as it would be with another hotel, nearest place to get some groceries like water would be quite far away though a slighly more expensive convenience store was located nearby).

Rooms are very high and included a spacious shower and closet. Views over the city are great! The building is connected/part of some school and the rooms are very noisy, even though we were on the third floor we could still hear the doorbell of the reception. Also the floors are noisy so you will hear everyone on the hallway... At 9PM some cleaner was bringing new towels (why? we had some already?) to our room.

Keep in mind the hotel is somewhat higher than the city center so you will have a climb to get back to your hotel or take a taxi... Breakfast is not that great in our opinion, products tasted funny and old in some cases. Coffee and Nachos were fine. There is a 10% charge on use of creditcards.

Hotel is quite cheap for this area/location but you may get a better deal (value for money) at other hotels

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WieMie-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#24 of 171 in Cusco
1,139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Dreams House
Hostal Dreams House
#22 of 400 in Cusco
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique
0.4 mi away
Hospedaje Turistico San Blas
0.4 mi away
La Posada del Viajero
La Posada del Viajero
#5 of 400 in Cusco
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Bosco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Bosco Hotel

Address: Teodoro Huaylupo 104 | Esquina del Colegio Salesiano, a 200 metros de la Plaza de Armas de Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 400 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £26 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Bosco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Bosco Hotel is located in a restored colonial building at the edge of Cusco’s historical centre. It features rooms decorated with a traditional 18th-century floor, some offering panoramic city views.Guest rooms at the Don Bosco are equipped with flat-screen TVs with cable channels, radio and minibar. The private bathrooms include a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Don Bosco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing