We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Bosco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Bosco Hotel
Ranked #43 of 340 Cusco B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great views, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Somehow we lucked out when we discovered the Don Bosco Hotel located partway up the road that leads to the Saqsaywaman ruins. We had been looking for hostels recommended by the Lonely Planet guide, but luckily for us, they were filled up. The Don Bosco Hotel is like a palace, with high ceilings, huge rooms, and wide windows. I was able to reside in the 3rd floor corner room, which afforded 3-way views of the Plaza de las Armas, the mountains, and a great deal of the beautiful city of Cusco, all just a few minutes up from the Plaza de las Armas. They gave us a great price (my boys took a large room down the hall) during our non-tourist visit in March-April. The staff was warm, welcoming, and helpful. The breakfasts were amazing (I have got to learn how to make those juices!) Besides just looking out at the amazing panorama, one can enjoy peeking out at the schoolchildren next door as they play in their large asphalt field right next door. Staying at this very economical hotel was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musiclover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    77
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
56
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a nice little hotel with high ceilings and spacious rooms. The hotel is only 5 mins away from Plaza de Armas, but the walk is steep. It can be very hard especially on the first day. However this did prepare us for the trek up to Machu Picchu. We wanted to stay here again after our trek, but unavailability caused us to look for another place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spacefugitive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

- good location, near la Plaza des Armas (Esquina del Colegio Salesiano, a 200 metros de la Plaza de Armas de Cusco) but uphill
- great building, a former college, very high ceiling rooms
- unbeattable view over Cuzco
- very friendly staff, very knowledgable and helpful
- very very reasonnable price, request a discount from the listed price
- good breakfast
What else are you looking for ?

Room Tip: choose the 3rd floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

the best hotel I´ve ever stayed in. Beautiful building, very clean toilets and hot showers etc., night security, excellent socializing areas, good food, 5 mins walk from central plaza. Amazing staff and friendly.Fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giancarlo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The hotel has long corridors, artistic decor and readily available coca tea. What was most impressive was the hotel staff. They were very helpful and we got lots of good tips about local restuarants to eat in and places to shop. The view at night was great and it is affordable if you are okay with walking 5-10 mins from the Plaza. Or you can catch one of the numerous taxis milling about.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the plaza to have a great view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mousam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILADELPHIA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

PROS
- Great looking and unique hotel
- Breakfest was good
- Clean rooms

CONS
- Room was cold
- Personal items were stolen - For two days they were working in our room and during this time underwear (yes! lol), socks and t-shirts went missing as my girlfriend was drying her stuff.
- The hotel is on a hill, but directly above the Plaza de Arms. Please note the location was still conviniet and close to the main attractions.

NOTE
We were traveling for a month across South America and this was the only place where our stuff went missing. Unfortunately this was a great looking hotel with clean rooms and great breakfest, but since our stuff was stolen I have to give the hotel a one star.

Room Tip: Tip: read good and bad reviews because there is always truth in both. Also location is everything be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICIUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I found the location typical. Everything in Cusco is uphill. I say suck it up or pay the $1.30 to take a taxi. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean. I agree the floors are creaky (so get the room on the top floor) and the school is noisy (although only during the day). I also found the light in the bathroom limited. Cindy was amazing. Remember you can haggle a bargain with almost everything in Cusco.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapiscina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#3 of 340 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jamuy Guest House
Jamuy Guest House
#50 of 340 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Hostal Cusi Wasi
#36 of 340 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal El Triunfo
Hostal El Triunfo
#9 of 340 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
0.1 mi away
Hostal Corihuasi
Hostal Corihuasi
#23 of 409 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Bosco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Bosco Hotel

Property: Don Bosco Hotel
Address: Teodoro Huaylupo 104 | Esquina del Colegio Salesiano, a 200 metros de la Plaza de Armas de Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Bosco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Bosco Hotel is located in a restored colonial building at the edge of Cusco’s historical centre. It features rooms decorated with a traditional 18th-century floor, some offering panoramic city views.Guest rooms at the Don Bosco are equipped with flat-screen TVs with cable channels, radio and minibar. The private bathrooms include a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Don Bosco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing