We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Cusco”
Review of Don Bosco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Bosco Hotel
Ranked #48 of 412 Cusco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel was perfect for my fiance and I during our stay in Cusco.

Staff - The staff here were excellent. All very helpful & friendly with excellent English

Rooms - Spacious & clean nice TVs. The building itself is very charming as well. Next to a boys school but the noise didn't bother us. I enjoyed seeing all the activities that the kids were participating in.

Location - Centrally located to the main plaza. Though it is up a hill (which can be a challenge to those struggling with altitute) we didn't find it that bad and it is literally a 5 minute walk. Additionally, being on the hill provided GREAT views of Cusco especially at night.

I would overall highly recommend. It isn't lavish but for the price it is great!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Don Bosco hotel was a really great find in Cusco, the location (although meaning a steep climb up the hill) is well worth it for the view. Rooms are massive and clean, breakfast is plentiful, but best of all, the staff are amazingly helpful, friendly and always have a smile. Highly recommended at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deetee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Initially planned a two night stay and ended up staying five. When our Inca trail excursion collapsed, Bosco was there when we had no where to go. Altitude sickness, Bosco was there with an oxygen tank and coca tea to revive us. What an incredible staff lead by Cindy at the concierge- whatever we needed, they were there hand and foot. I cant recommend this place enough.

I think, the thing that best sums up our Don Bosco experience the best it that, we never felt compelled to lock our door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clayton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here 5 nights before and after our Machu Picchu hike. The staff was amazing and the hotel is beautiful but it has a few problems. First of all it's part of a private boys school and almost every night there was some kind of function involving lots of noise. And morning activities start early there so sleep is not easy here. The worst part is the dog that lives next door. Every night for hours at a time this animal goes into barking fits as people walk by his territory. I love animals but this critter needs a muzzle (or something else I probably shouldn't mention on line). Our first few nights were on the 3rd floor which seems to amplify noise from the street and anyone using the stairs and anyone staying in the room above you. great hot water though. Later we stayed on the fourth and slept much better but the water was barely warm enough to take a shower without freezing. If you can stand a luke warm shower and want decent sleep I'd insist on the 4th floor. The staff, on the other hand, are some of the nicest, hardest working people I've dealt with in hotels. Very kind and eager to help. The location is at the top of a hill above Plaza de Armas so if you're a sea level person it can be a bit of a hike at altitude but it's the closest place you can stay to Sacsaywayman, and is very close to everything else in town.

Room Tip: Fourth floor for sleeping, but bad for hot water. Ask for something away from the street side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scudrunner19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We originally were going to stay at the Don Bosco for 3 nights and ended up staying here a total of 8 nights. After our return from Machu Picchu and our return from Manu. The building is quite charming and nicely decorated. The beds are comfortable and we always had hot water. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only downside was that the hotel is located at the top of a steep hill. While still adjusting to the altitude this can be difficult. Also if your room is on the third floor you have 4 flights of stairs. If you have difficulty with stairs this may be a problem. The staff however always helped us with our luggage and stored our bags while we were away. The breakfast was just ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2012travelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Due to a religious procession (don't come in Holy Week) the twon centre was closed off. No taxis (we, and several others tried about 30 between us) would take us on the lengthy detour. The hotel told us it was one block's walk - it was actually 1.2Km UPHILL. Killing - with bags at altitude. We were very grumpy and ended up leaving our bags with a really helpful Hostel guy down the road, walking up to the hotel and getting the bags later.

The receptionist was miserable and unhelpful. The hotel is a converted school with staircases 40m apart (don't book the 2nd floor unjless you are very fit). The corridors are dark, with half the lights not working. The floorboards everywhere creak. Breakfast was just about acceptable.

Basically you are paying a fair amount for the amazing view from your bedroom window. Difficult to score the Location rating below, depends on whether you want the view, or wheezing when you climb the hill when returning from town.

They at least took Mastercard - a dying facility in Peru.

The tour shop about 70yds down the hill on the LHS was excellent, good value and the guy (Walter) couldn't do enough to help. Superb!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor Marital Suite (it's a ROOM not a suite) has great views but gives you tired legs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardigan_and_Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed at Don Bosco Hotel for three nights on our trip to Cuzco and Machu Picchu. Originally a part of the adjacent school, the rooms appear to be former classrooms converted into sleeping rooms.

The building is really very charming - wooden creaky floors, very high ceilings, & lots of daylight to name a few positive attributes. A High hillside location gives most rooms a nice view of the valley below. But basic amenities at Don Bosco are non-existent - for example, no water glasses are supplied! I really find that fact unfathomable in a modern hotel. The room we occupied had three beds, two singles and a double. The double was AWFUL to the point that we slept in the singles after the first night rather than be subjected again to the horrors of the double mattress.

I find it most unusual that a hotel would not make bedding quality a very-high priority. After all, one stays in a hotel to sleep, and if this basic function is impaired, that fact casts a shadow over the entire property. And so it was at Don Bosco.

Another issue was the lighting. After dark, you can forget about reading in the rooms. The overhead lights are too far away, and the bedside lamp is dim. So bring your Kindle book and do your map reading before dark. The bathroom light is so inadeqaute that you can barely see your face to brush your teeth. Women will not be able to apply their makeup effectively at Don Bosco Hotel day or night.

Breakfast was quite limited with only fruit juices but no fruit. One hot offering was good one day, sub-standard the other two. Some white bread, and wheat bread, but lttle else. Perhaps occupancy did not warrant more food than what was offered.

One redeeming feature was the front desk staff. The two ladies who we dealt with were very friendly and accommodating. Their personality honestly brightened the cloud that the lousy bed cast on our opinion of the property.

We would shop around for an alternative property on our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobblevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Agustos Cusco
Hotel Agustos Cusco
#71 of 173 in Cusco
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Hostal Cusi Wasi
#33 of 412 in Cusco
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 412 in Cusco
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 554 in Cusco
767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#161 of 173 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Bosco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Bosco Hotel

Address: Teodoro Huaylupo 104 | Esquina del Colegio Salesiano, a 200 metros de la Plaza de Armas de Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £25 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Bosco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Bosco Hotel is located in a restored colonial building at the edge of Cusco’s historical centre. It features rooms decorated with a traditional 18th-century floor, some offering panoramic city views.Guest rooms at the Don Bosco are equipped with flat-screen TVs with cable channels, radio and minibar. The private bathrooms include a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Don Bosco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing