We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy beds, free breakfast, good service”
Review of Hostal Magico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Magico
Ranked #176 of 432 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy beds, free breakfast, good service”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here on recommendation by a few of my friends. I talked them down to 15 solis for the 6 person dormitory, which I thought was fair for cusco. There is a large kitchen with stove and refrigerators.

The wifi works great and there are computers available for use. The beds were comfortable and had feather comforters and blankets, which you need because it gets COLD.

There are only 4 showers/toilets for the whole hostal but that is rarely an issue. The worst thing was that they sometimes either have problems with the water or completly shut it off. This means no showers, AND no flushing the toilets (yuck!) and no washing dishes, so they just pile up. This happened at least once a day during my 3 day stay.

The hostal is about a 5 solis cab ride from downtown and is in walking distance if you feel like it. The front desk is VERY helpful with directions and information. They support a volunteer oppurtunity, so if you have at least a week that is a great organization.

The breakfast is free and is a cup of coffee or two and two rolls with butter and jam. There are TINY lockers available, and a locked storage in the office for larger valuables (laptops)

Room Tip: The rooms are well stocked with furniture and shelves, it just depends on how many people you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaitlinAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    17
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
8
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My partner and I stayed in Hostal Magico by the recommendation of Aldea Yanapay (the school we were volunteering at) because it was close to the school and the profits go to the school.

I´m am disgusted to find out that through booking directly with the hostal we were charged double the price that was on hostelworld even though we were already giving our time to volunteer in the school.

The hostal was not worth was we paid and I´m annoyed that I didn´t check the price before...I thought we were getting the best price and I trusted the owners.

It was a pretty hostal don´t get me wrong, but it was very cold in the night even with the fire provided, the hot water didn´t work most of the time and the breakfast was very basic.

Overall, after being ripped off, I wouldn´t stay here again. It makes me wonder where the extra money goes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahhhG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

As the old saying goes; you get what you pay for. This place optimises this. For the cheapest place in Cusco, you get a cutely decorated and comfy room (each room is uniquely designed) and seperate shared bathrooms. It can get pretty cold at night but you can get a gas can for the clay pot heater in your room. There is a small common area, quaint kitchen and a lovely courtyard area to eat brekkie (basic) and spend some time. Everything is clean. No worrys there.

The cleaning staff are amazing! If you speak a bit to them in Spanish and clean your dishes after you (as you should) they will love you as they work very hard from early til late. The reception staff...well...they vary, from very helpful to not at all. We had a little problem upon our return from our trek, we had booked a room, but that booking had mysteriously disappeared...oh well...they found us another room in a dorm for a night and were able to move in the morning, and that was the end of that.

If you are looking to save a few pennies, then stay here. Cusco is soooo expensive, this place will be a welcome relief to your pocket!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl_and_adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

I was in this hostel that contribute to Aldea yamapay to help children. Hostel is cosy and staff is friendly. Rooms are normal and it has all necessary.
They have a common areas as common room, kitchen and dinning room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tito_Edu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

It´s very cozy, the staff is great and it is very cheap. It is not far from the center and the San Pedro market. Sometimes there´s no water and the electricity doesn´t work, but it returns after some time. We recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MathildeN282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Quite far away from the main square. Inexpensive. Commun room and kitchen are great. You have to wash dishes outside though (not great during rain season!) Bathrooms could be cleaner at times. There was mould on my room's ceiling.... It still is a nice place to stay, but you might keep looking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a mouldy ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed in Hostal Magico in Cusco for 3 nights,but just because we didn't have time to search for smth better. The place is way to expensive for its value, because the showers are very dirty and stinky, In fact,it was very difficult to have at least some kind of shower, because they managed to run out of water twice in these few days... The communal kitchen was scruffy so not inviting to cook at all. The staff was alright but most of the time when we asked them for any information,the answers weren't helpful and rather misleading. In the meantime, they do 'volunteering' for social projects which is a regular tourist rip off, because 'volunteers' still pay almost the same price as regular guests...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egle_Nimbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#114 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Magica
Villa Magica
#24 of 432 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#75 of 432 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 432 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 432 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Magico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Magico

Property: Hostal Magico
Address: 534 Calle Fierro, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 432 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Magica hostel is part of the Aldea Yanapay community, the same that works with children and families in development and education since 2004, with the aim of providing educational alternatives based on the love and spirituality to our childern, youth, adults and senior citizen. Aldea Yanapay is a cusquenian non profitable organization that works each day for a more conscious and spiritual world. Villa Magica is dedicated to providing hospitality to all human beings who want a cultural exchange. With beautiful green areas, gardens, art, warm rooms, comfortable bathrooms, restaurant, bar, conscious activities such as yoga, drum session or circle of massage, and playground for children. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing